We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a View!”

Restaurante Mirador La Centinela
Cuisines: Spanish, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What a View!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

The food is good and surprisingly good value given the location. A bit out of the way but well worth a visit on a clear day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Quiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    46
    15
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Magnificent Views”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Wow, drive thru Valle san Lorenzo to the Mirador la Centinela to see magnificent views of the island, truly breathtaking. The restaurant is open everyday except Tuesdays. The surroundings are amazing. They have a a full menu from lunchtimes to dinner, some fantastic fish dishes, steak, pork, chicken and lots of lovely starters, not overpriced. They have special offers, a lovely wine menu, a gift/souvenir shop. You dont have to eat there you can just enoy the views, have a coffee or ice cream. As it is quite high up and windy roads I would probably not eat there too late, maybe 5pm is a good time to enjoy good food and wine watch the sun go down and then get a designated driver to take you all home. Well worth the visit day or night. The restaurant is lovely with large glass windows to look out over the island below.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, South Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great views, day or night. Average food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

For views alone you'd have to have gone to the top of Tiede to better what is on offer, but then you'd not be assured of a cloudless vista... At least here, below the average cloud base, the views are stunning, and one can see from La Gomera right round to Grande Canaria!
Shame the food was not so stunning, and I could only rate it as average. I had the Almond Filet Steak which was pleasant enough. The prices were not exorbitant either... Another plus point, and they have split the restaurant so that half allows for a quick sandwich menu and the other for proper restaurant meals. All in, ok, not fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank Teeb500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxemburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Long waiting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

The food ok even if a bit small portions, just we had to wait so long. And there was not much people at the same time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mary e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Brilliant location, good food - sadly no atmosphere on our visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We had eaten here some time ago and thought it was just "ok", but heard it had changed hands and so thought we would give it a go again.
Absolutley brillant spot, as the name suggests (on a clear day) it is a great viewing point from which to see down to the coast between El Medano and Las Galletas, and watch the planes land at Reina Sofia airport.
The food is good, typical Canarian for this area, but a little more expensive than other comparable restaurants. We were introduced to Gofio as a complimentary dish between the starter and the main course. Gofio is a finely ground powder of wheat or maize to compliment a whole range of dishes, in our case it was sprinkled on a plate with tomatos and cheese.
There is one large dining room with floor to ceiling windows to take advantage of the view. Unfortuneatly there was only one other couple dining on the evening of our visit and so no atmosphere. We did get very good service however.
I know it is not always like this as we tried to dine there last December but couldnt get in because it was full being close to Christmas.I think we will give it another shot when we are next on the island.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toyotaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Mirador La Centinela also viewed

San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife
San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife
 
San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife
 
San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife
Granadilla de Abona, Tenerife
 

Been to Restaurante Mirador La Centinela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing