We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food in relaxed rustic environment.”
Review of La Vieja Bodega - CLOSED

La Vieja Bodega
Price range: US$12 - US$23
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Las Chafiras, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in relaxed rustic environment.”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We visited this restaurant a few weeks ago for a Saturday evening meal. We had not heard much about it but wanted to give it a try. We started with a selection of sausages and a plate of pimiento padrones to share as a starter and there was more than enough for the 3 or us. For main my mother ordered the mixed Kebabs which were beautifully presented hanging from a metal stand and served with wonderful sautee potatoes. I took their medallions of bacalao which I have to say was one of the best meals I have ever had the pleasure of tucking in to. My daughter took the option of a simple chicken fillet with a side of mushroom sauce and was very happy with it too.
There was only one person waiting on, but the restaurant was not so busy, so we never felt that we were kept waiting for anything and nothing was any problem for him.
A really enjoyable night out which we will definitely be repeating soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lavatrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    5
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This restaurant only reopened at the start of April. We had 2 meals here, both were excellent value and well presented. We had steak 1 night that was excellent. The next we had a mixed grill to share - don't eat all day if you want to finish this - it had a whole chicken, steak, pork chop and pork steak and all for €20, the garlic prawns were fabulous as well.

The waiter was brilliant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Potts13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Attractive restaurant and bar in the heart of San Miguel”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The food is excellent and lots of it. The restaurant and bar are very rustic with an authentic Spanish feel, the staff are friendly and the portions of meat were large!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PostiePat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Devon, UK
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Odd place, with surprisingly little character,”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Many things on the menu were "Not available today", but more pricey options seemed to be suggested. I asked for a small steak, but got a T Bone, which was not very tasty, and Boil in the bag veg! My wife had Maccheroni Bolognese, which had a thin sauce, lacking in flavour.. To sum up, it was pricey and poor value, so we didn't go back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ever_on_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great rum and hospitality”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Nothng is to much bother when it it comes to preparing food. We got dishes specially cooked that we're not on the menu.

As for the rum....well, everytime we went to visit we had good sleep that night ;-)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank David_Carswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Vieja Bodega also viewed

San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife
San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife
 
Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona
Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona
 
Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona
Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing