We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good holiday if a little disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Port Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good holiday if a little disappointed”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We had a fantastic time in this hotel for 10 days last December, so much so, we decided to return and take my mum & dad as an 80th birthday treat for my dad. We love the layout of the hotel and the rooms are fantastic with everything you could possibly need, the staff are also very professional and friendly. The area the hotel is in is perfect for us as we found the sellars in PLA a bit too much for us. The big disappointment for us was the fact that I emailed before we went requesting a room in the main building, on a high floor, with a sea view, this is what we had last year and it was so perfect it was also great for my mum whose walking isn't great as it's such a spread out resort. We received a lovely email back from the manager to say he would try his best to accomodate us. On arrival at the hotel we were given room 201 which isn't in the main building, is on the ground floor and had a lovely view of a wall! I nearly cried when I opened the curtains, so plucked up the courage to go back to reception and ask for a change of room. I saw people do this very vocally and it seemed to work well, but that's not my style. So after asking on the Friday if we could move, I was asked to return to the reception desk on the Saturday/Sunday/Monday/Tuesday to see if a change of room was available, eventually on the Tuesday we were offered a change of room which I then turned down as my elderly parents decided it would be too much to pack and unpack again when they were quite settled. This as well as the extensive building work just added to the disappointment. Rant over! lol! Even though I don't think we'll return any time in the near future, I think we will go back someday and would definitely recommend to others as the apartments are fantastic, although I would recommend to wait until the building work is finished.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alih68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club!

We make every effort to fulfil accommodation requests made by our guests, although please be aware that this will depend on occupancy levels at the resort. We’re really sorry that it wasn’t possible to provide you with an apartment which met with your specific request on this occasion, and we hope that this issue didn't spoil an otherwise enjoyable stay at Santa Barbara.

As you’re aware, the resort is currently undergoing refurbishment, and we very much hope you’ll return in the future to see the changes!

Resort Manager
Javier Baqueiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,053
    685
    174
    69
    40
See reviews for
712
857
47
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We are from Canada, Québec, and our stay at this appart-hotel was really amazing. The size and the view from our apartment was more than what we ever asked for and could rivalize with a 5 star hotel. A real good deal and a good starting point for your excursions (if you need some ideas, simply ask at the reception, they'll be eager to help you to organize your stay).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the sea-side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirliniam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We have stayed at Santa Barbara on a number of occasions and we have always had a good time. Most of the apartments are good: they are well equipped and reasonably comfortable. The recent addition of air conditioning has been an excellent improvement. There is work going on a the moment but it did not impact too much on our experience. Staff are helpful and friendly. One moan is the stability of wi-fi, which can be irritating, and the delay in getting it into apartments, something which seems to have been long promised.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club. Every day we do our best to provide our guests with a memorable, pleasant time spent in a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. We apologise if our Wi-Fi connection was not of a satisfying quality and we will of course investigate this matter, nevertheless we apologise for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We are under an impression that you had an overall enjoyable stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards
Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Travelled to this resort with several friends. Apartments are really large and comfortable with the biggest bed we've ever seen in an apartment. Lots of room, very comfortable lounge area and well equipped kitchen. The resort was undergoing some refurbishments but there was no inconvenience or noise. Sunbeds available without having to get up at the crack of dawn to find one.
Didn't try the pool as it was too cold but it is very large and will be fully used in the summer - settled for the indoor jacuzzi instead.
There is not a lot to do in the immediate area, which suited us all perfectly - took taxis to Los Cristianos and Las Americas on an evening, but glad to get back to the peace and quiet.
This holiday was perfect for a week of chilling out with friends and being able to sit in the sun and totally relax. Only downside was the in house restaurant which was pricey and not particularly worth the money. Best meal of the week was over the road at Rendezvous, which we had to visit twice as the food was so good.

Room Tip: Lovely views from the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Thank you for your review – we’re really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club! We make every effort to minimise the disruption caused to our guests during periods of refurbishment, and we’re glad that this didn’t impact on your holiday.

We hope that you’ll come back here for another stay, and we look forward to being of service to you again!

Resort Manager
Javier Baqueiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Just stayed 6 nights at hotel through Diamond Resorts. Santa Barbara for me too far out of town. Would prefer to be in Las Americas. Busy hotel with refurbishments going on at the moment. Kids swimming pool and downstairs lobby all being renovated. My room 759 was recently refurbished and is nice and a ok view of the sea. Restaurants around i found a bit naff, same old food on the menu. This hotel has a fly problem, they were a nuisance all the time when eating or by the pool. Otherwise it is a ok place for old people to relax.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyimplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
We’re sorry that you experienced some disappointment during your recent stay at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club. Full details of the resort’s location, including maps, can be found on its Fact Sheet on our website, and we encourage guests to take a look at this prior to their stay as it contains a lot of useful information about the resort.

As you’re aware, the resort is currently undergoing refurbishment – we’re doing everything we can to minimise the disruption caused to our guests, and we hope that the building work didn’t disturb you during your holiday.

We’re sorry to read that you had some issues with flies during your stay. Unfortunately this isn’t something that the resort is able to prevent, although the situation is monitored by the resort staff. We’re sorry for any discomfort that this issue caused to you.

We regret that you didn’t have a more enjoyable stay on this occasion, and we’d love for you to give us another try! We hope to see you again!

Resort Manager
Javier Baqueiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

This hotel is part of Diamond Resorts and its a time share hotel too. It used to be under Sunterra time share management. Its a one gorgeous hotel looking towards the Atlantic Ocean. Me and my partner and our infant been to this hotel for a week and just came back yesterday.We had room 654 and it was one bedroom apartment , big enough for us and equipment was good quality.We had flatscreen tv, dvd player, radio-ipod docking system in the livingroom. Kitchen had fridge-freezer,kettle,toaster,coffee machine , microwave , dishwasher and it was electric oven and electric high tech hob which i have struggled a little to use :) Bedroom had 2 single beds put together and had a single topper foam to join them together, beds are medium firm. Had tv and radio/clock-ipod docking system again. All rooms had air conditioning free of charge. The only charge we had to pay was 4euro' s for a week for pool towels and we've had 2. They have entertainment everyday except fridays as its their day off. Children have mini disco every night at 8;30 pm. Self catering worked perfect for us as we werent chained to the hotel then , there arent many things around but enough places to eat out. Los abrigos is perfect for a fish platter and few restaurants and you can get the bus there takes 10 min, on the way back we had a taxi back from losabrigos and paid exactly 10 euros to the hotel. Los christianos can be a long journey if you get the long journey bus 470 and it was more expensive but you can get there by taking the other bus which is 478 , so DO NOT TAKE THE 470 as it took 40-50 min to get there.
On our 3rd day we have been promised 50 euros meal vouchers for two if we have attended the time share meeting which was ment to be 2 hrs but it lasted 4,5 hrs and it was in Las Americas. Started at 10 am and inished at half 2 , by the time we came back it was 3 pm and our day was wasted. We wanted to stay in Las Americas but been told that it was best to get back but never got given our vouchers then and there when we were ment to . Returned to the hotel and asked for vouchers and ended up chasing it for 2 days but received them eventually and i must admit it was well worth it as we had a fantastic meal at restaurant and food was amazing, we used the vouchers on our last day. Bill came to 37 euros but they keep the 50euros vouchers all together. So if you arent interested in time share and dont wanna waste a day , then dont go, dont do it but if you want to see las americas then go , as they give you free breakfast and a tour in one of their other resorts in las americas and then u can ask to stay after the meeting, on return demand for your vouchers as this meeting wud take half a day. We have paid £200 for our 1 week stay 1 bedroom apartment and it was a great experience, Hotel Aguamarina and Aguamarina apartments are right next door to Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean resort and i was ment to be booking Aguamarina initially but i have changed my mind when i have read the reviews about them on tripadvisor , so booked Santa Barbara instead. Pls pls take your mosquito creams etc as there are so many of them everywhere plus flies, everywhere...They are apparently to do with the banana farms and rotten tomatoes :)) i stopped listening to the people after a while as it didnt change the result of having flies everywhere.Coming back to Santa Barbara, pool was freezing cold and we have only been in the pool once, sauna and jacuzzi was good but needs temperature checking all the time..I had a full body masaj of a lady called Sue who comes from outside and uses the first aid room but would come to the room if requested, she was brilliant and my full body masaj was £35 for an hr, it was well worth it as i was soooo relaxed that i fell asleep and woke myself up 3 times with my own snoring :)) hahah :)) That was the best bit for me. Also if you book self catering , DO NOT buy your food from the supermarket next to the Irish Pub as we found out 2 days later that it was very very expensive compare to the hotel's own supermarket which was in the ground floor. Santa Barbara for us was a very very good experience, Staff are amazing, nothing is too much and lovely people. Restaurant, lay out of everything was very nice, but like i said keep away from time share meeting unless you want an information on it and spend 4 hrs and chase your vouchers of 50 euros afterwards :) but overall that was worth doing too as we have found out how Diamond timeshare worked too:) We booked our transfers with Sun transfers and paid 44 euros return from Tenerife south airport to Santa Barbara for 2 adults and a child. They were on time , no problems at all plus they had a child car seat in the car too. Good company to book with and no problems what so ever. They wait for you outside arrivals when you arriva with your name on a peace of paper and on return they come outside the hotel waiting for you, bang on the arranged time, sharp.So overall we had a great time , other then been bothered by time share people, flies , mosquitos and pegions:) Also pls pls do look at your receipts at the end of every meal that you have in restaurants in tenerife as you might get charged for something that you've never had as we fell for it twice and paid for shots that we never had :)

Room Tip: Room 654 will give you the views of the garden , top of the terrace bar and the ocean view as well a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fallenangel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

Returned to this hotel for a second time and could not fault it. The room was incredibly spacious and had been refurbished to a very high standard. Views from the balcony are excellent. The pool area is very comfortable and the bar by the Pool is incredibly value for money. The on-site shop also offers a wide selection of great value food and drinks.

The proximity to bars and restaurants in the local area is excellent and is a short drive from the airport. A definite alternative to playa de las Americas and los Cristiano's. I look forward to returning soon.

Hotel also offers free Wi-Fi in the reception area this is great but it would be excellent if this could be Hotel Wide.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thank you for your review – we’re really glad to read that you enjoy staying at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club, and that you’re planning to return here again!

We look forward to being of service to you on your next visit!

Resort Manager
Javier Baqueiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
6.6 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#6 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,275 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#12 of 58 in Costa Adeje
709 reviews
27.4 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#18 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,685 reviews
37.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,786 reviews
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 58 in Costa Adeje
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Property: Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Address: Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish-inspired architecture and beautifully finished luxury accommodations, some overlooking the Atlantic, are just two of the features that make Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club one of the finest resorts in Southern Europe.Nestled on the sun-drenched southern coast of Tenerife, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club boasts a truly superb range of facilities including swimming pools, landscaped gardens, shops and even its own gymnasium.A golfer's paradise, the fairways that host the prestigious Tenerife Open are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Santa Barbara Golf And Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Hotel Ocean
Santa Barbara Resort Ocean
Santa Barbara Tenerife
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Tenerife/San Miguel De Abona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing