We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here..5*** we booked a studio apartment but when we arrived was given a huge bed apartment,VERY clean and beautiful, staff were very friendly and always helpful,
Only down the road from the airport but very quiet location.
The ONLY downfall is there is NO beach at Golf de sur you have to travel to player del amercias,only a bus ride away but when booking this hotel it said on the beach which it isnt its actually a Black beach with rocks!
We will be staying here again and have recommended it to friends and family

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam8t5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,018
    667
    166
    66
    39
See reviews for
682
836
44
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Hotel was really clean, rooms were spacious, supermarket was a great bonus. 2 bed room has all the utensils, equipment you need including dishwasher, tv, fridge etc. childrens area was great and the main pool was a good size. Location meant that you had to get bus to beaches but there were plenty if pubs and restaurants within walking distance. Hotel staff were very friendly and all queries were dealt with very efficiently. This hotel would be a major hit if they creates an artificial beach on the front if it........

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gcgr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We have just had a fantastic xmas at this hotel. It was our second stay here this year and we loved it.

All the staff are so friendly and always willing to go that extra mile to help.

The animation rep Elanor is just brilliant a real credit to the hotel.

Cannot wait to return :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank leighanne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

My partner and I have just returned after having spend christmas at the santa Barbara, It was just so relaxing, the accomadation is excillient , the staff so friendly and very helpful nothing was too much trouble. The whole complex was kept spotless and all the staff worked so hard and with consideration at all times. The resturante food was of a very high standard and well priced. Our accomadation was a studio with a pull down bed, which was of good quality but was a bit squaeky!!!!... the neighbours must have thought we where on honeymoon... sadly not. The new flat screen tv, dvd player and I.Pod docking station is brillient, shame that it wasnt HD ready... The kitchen very well equipt. On site shop very basic, so went to the large supermarket at the top (you will need a taxi) and did a big shop. Very cheap and offered good quality and choice.As an independant Care Giver I am always looking for suitable accomadation to recommend to clients with mobilty restrictions and the SBG&OC it ideal., with lifts and ramps, and suitable accomadation. So no excuse not to take mum and dad.. I would recommend to any client asking for a recommendation. The only down side was we hadnt been informed about the building works and at times it was deaferning and did give me a bad headache, but it is now finished.
We would like to congratulate everyone at the SBG&OC for making our stay so enjoyable, look ing forward to booking a return visit it May

Room Tip: Try and book a top floor room as better views and is shelteded from the wind. Would recommended a on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ladybugme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
We’re really glad that you had an enjoyable stay at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club this Christmas! We strive to provide an excellent standard of service to all our guests, and we’re delighted that our team were able to provide you with all the information and assistance you required during your stay.

We take accessibility issues very seriously, and as such, we’ve made full information about the resort available on our website and will make every effort to fulfil accessibility requests made by our guests.

We try to minimise the disruption caused to our guests during periods of refurbishment and maintenance, and we’re sorry to read that you were disturbed by the building works which took place during your stay. Details of upcoming building work can be found on the resort’s fact sheet on our website, and we encourage guests to take a look at this prior to arrival.

We hope that this issue didn’t mar your stay – we’re really glad that you’re planning to return here, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Resort Manager
Javier Baqueiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I was here 10 nights in Dec 2012. Good place to stay, I booked a studio via Booking.com but got a 1 bedroom apartment instead with the same (good) price. Nice start. Room was clean & nice, basic things but can't expect much more for 25€ / night... Very spacious from my point of view, light colours and bid bathroom. Kitchen fully equipped, oven, microwawe, fridge, freezer, toaster and all the dishes you can think of. I had a balcony which was in the sun for almost the whole day, nice place to drink the morning coffee in the sun.

My only real complain was the pizza that i got from hotel's restaurant the first evening. I was quite tired when i finally arrived so I thought I wouldn't bother to go anywhere further to get something to eat. So I went to this "little Italy" restaurant in the hotel and ordered a pizza. Got one fast, paid it (+a good tip) and went in to my room to eat &enjoy. When I opened the box, there was hardly any filling visible in the pizza and it tasted awful. It was like reheated, not made 10minutes ago. I could only eat half of it and I was hungry. Had to throw rest of it away. Horrible. So you can guess how many times I went to that place to eat again during my stay? Zero.

But hotel in itself was very good compared to price, cleaning only every other day but it was ok for me. Staff seemed to be very friendly and when I had a small problem with my balcony door it was fixed in an hour.

If you're just after the sun this is a good place. But it has to be said that if you're after any kind of activity (except golf), Golf del Sur can't offer much. There's really no nightlife to speak of, no sandy beaches, no big shopping centres. You need to take a taxi or at least a bus to find things to do... But I got the sun which I needed after having no sun at all during the summer.

1 more thing maybe worth mentioning. I was there just before Christmas an many other hotels in the area seemed to be very empty compared to Santa Barbara. No people at the pools, no lights in the windows in the evening. I thought that told me quite a lot. It was clearly the most booked hotel in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikaInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Didn't expect the apartment to be as nice as it was, very clean and containing everything we needed. The hotel amenities were good. The staff were fantastic and extremely helpful and friendly. Minor building work was taking place on site which created a bit of noise during the day but was no major issue. The bar closing at 1am when the opening hours states 2am was the only disappoinment. It is a hotel I would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantona21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind comments with other travellers. We are happy to read that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay here with us at Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club. We are sorry if the building work has caused you any inconvenience, however we hope you can appreciate that there is never an ideal time to carry out maintenance work and we assure we are doing our best to keep the disturbance to the absolute minimum. We do hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards
Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Stayed at SBG&OC through diamond resorts in June 2012 and was pleasantly surprised. Really nice, clean hotel with a very modern feel to the rooms. Extremely spacious and well equipped (safe, tv, fully equipped kitchen etc). We didn't request any particular room but had a lovely sea view and a balcony which caught the sun perfectly. Hotel was busy but not too busy, there were always free sunbeds and the grounds benefit from several different areas that you can pick from to sit, some quieter and more secluded than others which is nice. The surrounding area is quiet but there are some nice restaurants to choose from and a variety of cuisines. Excursions are good, i'd recommend the stargazing trip, it was excellent and the tour guide was delightfully eccentric (calling Neil and Buzz on several occasions to check on the location of passing satellites). All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haylo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
6.6 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
0.7 mi away
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & ...
#1 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#21 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Property: Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Address: Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish-inspired architecture and beautifully finished luxury accommodations, some overlooking the Atlantic, are just two of the features that make Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club one of the finest resorts in Southern Europe.Nestled on the sun-drenched southern coast of Tenerife, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club boasts a truly superb range of facilities including swimming pools, landscaped gardens, shops and even its own gymnasium.A golfer's paradise, the fairways that host the prestigious Tenerife Open are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Santa Barbara Golf And Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Hotel Ocean
Santa Barbara Resort Ocean
Santa Barbara Tenerife
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Tenerife/San Miguel De Abona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing