We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“front desk matters”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“front desk matters”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

we stayed here for 6 days fr july 15- 21. it is a very nice hotel, seaside location and its amenities, no complaint about that. the room is well equipped with everything you needed for a self catering holiday.
but few issues i would like to raise for, hopefully, to improve the service.
1. i was charged few weeks before checking in without notice despite booking agreement that i will pay in the hotel upon arrival. problem wes sorted though after several emails of inquiry.
2. they need to review their staffing specifically the receptionists. since they are under diamond resorts international, they are expected to have a welcoming atmosphere and it should start from the front desk. i dont know how long some of them have been working in this hotel but some seem unhappy and just doing their job without showing any interest and sincere respect to customers. they need to loosen up a bit and not to show a borderline rudeness and intimidating approach to their guests.
do not make any request during booking because they will give you the opposite of your request!
i requested a room away from the sewage and in high floor if possible but upon checking in, we were allocated next to the sewage. i immediately phoned the reception and explained about my request, and fortunately the receptioninst who answered is the one who did the check in which took a while for she had to stare at the computer and read whatever is written most probably my request and the issue of early and wrong charges. she told me that she will speak to the incharge if she can give me another room. i was asked to view 2 more rooms and choose which one. the point is, come on, if you have more vacant rooms, then why give the room which is exactly opposite of my request?!. a bit challenging and really intimidating.

we encountered problem in printing our boarding pass, printer not working and we were advise to go to the hotel nearby to ask if they can help us whoch we did, but with same problem. then again told to go to a computer/ intnet cafe in somewhere in san blas, which unfortunately we did not find. we asked in one shop and we were advise to go to sunview hotel across the road which happened to be a branch of diamond resorts international too, same problem though with the printer and the pdf issue, but through the very kind assistance of receptionist Hamid El Himas, we were able to print our boarding pass in just 5 minutes.i just dont understand why the receptionists in santa barbara 3 of them behind the desk could do such simple task.

then come checking out time, we checked out 4am and while on the way to the airport, we realized we forgot 1 small bag, we had to return and borrowed the key from the reception, when i asked if i can get in to get the bg,this reptionist just threw the card key at the desk. what a man!

3. we decided to eat at the pool bar that afternoon we checked in, and was charged with 3 extra large beer and 1 small beer when in fact we only ordered 3 magners cider! we had to chase the waiter to correct the bill.
4. dont leave your door open during the night, mosquitos ready to invade your room soon darkness sets in. it happened during our first night coz we preferred to have fresh air but we ended up having bites in the morning. understandable though coz the place is just beside the water.

well, all in all, it was a great holiday. as i said, vry nice hotel, just the "staff"needs improvement. we're still plannng to book here but hopefully, it will be a better welcoming atmosphere and more helpful front desk staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ako_c_Ofel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We pride ourselves on delivering exceptional customer service and therefore it is with regret that we read that on this occasion it appears our team did not make the best impression on you; please be assured this by no means is the norm here at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club and we will address this with the team. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. We are also sorry for the issue at the restaurant/bar, unfortunately, these are not run by us and therefore we do not have much influence on their operations, nevertheless we will address this with the restaurant management team. We hope that you had an overall pleasant stay, however, and that we may have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,028
    671
    169
    67
    39
See reviews for
688
845
44
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Not long got back from from the Santa, had a great holiday, lovely big villa.
I was just reading a review about the sales reps we went on a tour of the refurbs and really the offer is not that bad, they forgot to mention that just for taking up the offer of a chat and lunch you receive a 100 euros voucher to use on excursions or restaurants, plus the chat only lasts 2 hours.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 18sunny18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
We are delighted that you had a great holiday here – thank you for your review! We hope you’ll consider us for future visits to Tenerife, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Javier Baqueiro
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just returned from a week at the resort, found it very nice, rooms are ok you have all your items for cooking, but be aware we received a phone call from Mel on the desk saying that we could view the new updated rooms and that lunch would be provided, ok 4 hours later, the guy taking us around never once asked how we were for time etc, I got fed up in the end and asked how much all this was going to be...it turned out £4250 for 4years, I said no straight away cause we can get cheaper deals than that and not only that we do travel all round the world. So just be careful..
The pool side toilets really smell.
Take note there is a lot of people who place their towels on the sun beds very early, should not be allowed but nothing was done in the week I was there.
We went to the local Chinese, nice food and a lot of it but no taste and quite expensive.
Had a nice time but found it wasn't that hot.
Will maybe try another hotel
A lot of noise coming from the terrace bar till around 11pm, if they show a child film watch out you don't need to attend it that's loud.
Beds are hard but ask for a topper

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dotty198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that your stay here was a generally enjoyable one, but we’re sorry to read of your disappointment with your experiences with our on-site sales team. We do invite guests to learn more about holiday ownership while they are staying with us, and we’re sorry if the purpose of this meeting wasn’t made clear to you at the start. We hope that you’ll choose to give the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club another try in the future – we’d love to see you again!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

First found Santa Barbara aprox 10yrs ago, and have been coming back since. Have stayed 7 times, and love this resort. Our favourite room is 801, or 802, with lovely sea view and we can watch the sunset each evening.
All the rooms are quite spacious and furnished to a high standard,most with big balconies, and are all spotlessly clean, and well stocked. The beds are lovely and comfortable, with fresh bedding and you always get a good nights sleep. For those that like to watch tv, you will not be disappointed as slimline tv is in each room with a good choice of English channels.
The pool area is very nice, with plenty of sun beds, although sometimes it can be a bit crowded. The main pool is lovely and big, but is quite cold until you get used to it. On certain days Gisella one of the entertainment team runs an Aquarobics class which is good fun. There is also a small pool for the children which is heated.

There are three restaurant/bars on site, all excellent value. The poolside bar provides good food and drinks during the day, also giving food demos on some days. "Little Italy" on an evening, is in the upstairs restaurant. This a beautiful eating place, lovely decor with a relaxed atmosphere, with keyboard player providing background music, and excellent food reasonably priced. The Ocean View on the outside patio, is quite posh, serving afternoon tea, and evening cocktails. Good value is during Happy Hour, and sometimes it can be quite busy then. Also on site is the big W bar/disco, which I believe opens around 9pm, providing some good evening entertainment.

There are also several other restaurants and eating places close by where you can enjoy a sea view. Also aprox 15 mins walk is San Blas. This is the local town area, again with some good restaurants, bars, and shops. And evening entertainment.

All the staff at Santa Barbara are very friendly and helpful, and go out of their way to provide a good service. Many of the apartments here are owned by Diamond Resorts for private club members, but also several can be booked, through other holiday companies.

We were last here in January 2014 and are hoping to return again in January 2015. We always enjoy our time here and meet up with several friends who also return each year. Looking forward to our return, and here's to many more happy holidays at Santa Barbara.

Curlyjoan C.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Curlyjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for this extensive review of your stay at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club! We’re really pleased that you enjoy staying here, and we feel sure that future visitors will really appreciate all the advice and suggestions you’ve given here. We hope you’ll go on to have many more lovely holidays here, and we can’t wait to see you again!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

What can I say,this place never fails to impress us!

This resort hotel is beautifully kept with pristine gardens, pools, public areas and amenities.

Each suite we were allocated (3 in total) was appointed to a very high standard, with fulll kitchen/dining facilities, balconies with sun loungers, the best divan beds I've ever slept on and large flat screen smart/HD TVs in all lounges and bedrooms. The standard of decor was lovely and contempory, especially in the refurbished suites (An ongoing program of refurbishment is well underway. So you have a good chance of getting one if you request it specifically).

Beautiful restaurants in house are the 'Little Italy' (a formal and intimate restaurant upstairs) and the more relaxed 'pool bar' outside and the swish 'cocktail terrace' overlooking the pool and ocean beyond. Both retaurants serve fresh, good food at very reasonable prices with a great take away and delivery service too! The cocktails are great too, every one of them!!

Elsewhere to eat and drink, just turn right along the shore line behind the pool and walk about 300 yards and you have a selection of gorgeous little restaurants, especially the Tepanyaki (Eastern Fusion Food) and an amazing little all-day creparia at the end of the delightfully small and pretty promenade.

The staff, from the concierge service to the cleaning service, as always, are really there for you 24/7, they really want you to relax and enjoy yourselves and absulutely nothing is too much for them. They really are that good a team.

A great place to chill out!

We will be back again for sure.

Diamond Resorts considers Santa Barbara to be one of its most popular international resorts with very good reason in my opinion.

Thanks and well done to everyone at Santa Barbara.

Steve Houghton and family of 6 ( July 2014)

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean facing room to take advantage of the breathtaking views. The Floors above the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for this lovely review! We are delighted that you enjoy staying at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club, and that our team have helped to make your holidays here extra special. We’re really pleased to read that you are planning to return here, and we hope to see you again soon!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Just checked out of the hotel a couple of minutes ago .
The hotel is very good and very well managed , I booked a studio room for me and my girlfriend and we were not disappointed the room is big enough for 2 adults and one kid if you have one .
Everything is clean , fresh towels , fresh sheets , the bed is very spacious and comfortable . We also had a big balcony with 2 sunbeds facing the sea and pool .
We also had a lcd tv with good channels to watch English , Spanish , French and more .
The kitchen area was very good to with a fridge , oven , sink and all the stuff that u need .
Overall the room was excellent .
We only had to call the maintenance man once because we accidentally turned the child lock on the oven and the man was fast came over within 5 minutes that's how good the service was .
Food in the hotel was very good and cheap enough I had English breakfast on 3 occasions and was not disappointed. The pool area is also very good with loads of sun beds available so u will always find one and there is also a Jacuzi at the pool area.
There is really only 2 bad things about the hotel and they're minor things for some people.
Wifi in the hotel is expensive something around 21 euro for 1 week . If u have a unlocked phone then u can buy a Vodafone card or any other card and have internet on the go on ur phones , tablets . For 15 euro you buy a Vodafone card with 1.2 gb Internet that's good enough and it should last 2 weeks . Phone coverage was very poor in our room same as internet coverage we had to go out to the balcony to be able to use it but maybe that's only in some rooms .
The other minor bad thing is the location if you have a rented car then it's ok but if u don't then it's a bit complicated as there is really not much to do at night outside of the hotel only seen 2 pubs one very close to the hotel and the other within 10 mins walk. The bus stop is also within 10-15 mins walk . But the bus times may not suit everyone . That's pretty much it about the hotel . Very good staff always willing to help , very good rooms and service and very good price .

If you want to rent a car and are facing the same trouble as I did , I'm 21 years old and to rent a car online it's not easy . I researched it online for about 3 weeks before going on holidays and with my age and without a credit card was impossible , I even emailed possible very available car rental company in tenerife and they all replied we can do it the age but you need a credit card so I just gave up . When I arrive at tenerife airport I just chanced it and walked over to Europcar and I got myself a car for 221 (including all insurance and tax with a full tank of petrol ) and if you don't have a credit card they ask for 150 euro deposit which I got it back no problem . So if you can't find anything online just wait and get it at the airport .

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Andre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your extensive positive review - it is very important for us to be able to ensure that our guests can enjoy their time with us and found the services, facilities and location agreeable. Additionally we are certain that your fellow travellers will appreciate all the tips you agreed to share. We are grateful for your time taken to offer your thoughts and hope to have another opportunity to see you in the future!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks in July 2014. Excellent facilities built up from rocky shore line. Stayed in a 1 x bedroom newly renovated apartment with a sea view, modern renovation really well done and very comfortable. Good location in walking distance of bars etc. Great staff who were always very helpful. Had maintenance to the room twice to sort out remotes for the two flat screen TVs, they were there within 10 mins and were very professional and polite. Only comment would be pool area can get busy.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We are pleased to learn that you had a nice time here and was satisfied with our location, we are glad that you have enjoyed the facilities available, although we are sorry to read you found the pool a little busy. We hope that you had otherwise enjoyable stay and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
6.6 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#6 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,160 reviews
27.4 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#16 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
348 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#13 of 57 in Costa Adeje
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,900 reviews
37.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,743 reviews
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#20 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Property: Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Address: Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish-inspired architecture and beautifully finished luxury accommodations, some overlooking the Atlantic, are just two of the features that make Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club one of the finest resorts in Southern Europe.Nestled on the sun-drenched southern coast of Tenerife, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club boasts a truly superb range of facilities including swimming pools, landscaped gardens, shops and even its own gymnasium.A golfer's paradise, the fairways that host the prestigious Tenerife Open are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Onthebeach, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Santa Barbara Golf And Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Hotel Ocean
Santa Barbara Resort Ocean
Santa Barbara Tenerife
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Tenerife/San Miguel De Abona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing