We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab holiday!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Visited just over 2 weeks ago, after arriving late at night we had a bell boy who carried our case down to our villa and reception was very helpful, we were delighted that we had been given the small villa just around from the pool with an excellent balcony full of sun beds. The pool was so nice and had a great atmosphere! The staff members were very friendly especially Pablo. Also calling reception for help with the docking station they were quick to send us down a technician who helped resolve our problem. Cleaners also did a good job of cleaning our villa. Overall we had a great holiday and the hotel exceeded our expectations :)

Room Tip: After selecting a studio room we were given a villa with a kind size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We are so pleased to know that we have managed to exceed your expectations and that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,026
    671
    169
    67
    39
See reviews for
688
843
44
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed at the hotel with my family last month (July 2014). The facilities, apartments and staff are great.

Please be very careful however with the heated towel rails in the bathroom. I scolded myself on them three times whilst lifting my daughter into the bath one of which has now left a large scar. I was just glad it was me and not her.

I have e-mailed the hotel to advise that they add a warning sign and perhaps limit the boiling temperature of them for future guests.

Have a great trip!

Also, you might want to double check what facilities are included within your booking as some require additional payment (spa, gym, towel hire etc).

Room Tip: Avoid the sewage and the bins - the rubbish collectors are very noisy in the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked a studio room months in advance (which has a fold out bed only) since all studios have a balcony. Being able to sit on a balcony is a deal breaker for us, on holiday.

Our flight was delayed, so we arrived at the hotel a little late. We were told that there were no studio rooms available so we were upgraded, for free, to a villa. Sounded great. It really wasn't.

The villa had no balcony, no where to sit outside at all, in fact. We were told to keep the windows shut as the mosquitos were a real problem. The aircon was a ceiling fan. The decor 20 years out of date. No water etc in the fridge as promised when booking. No toiletries. Not even soap. Only cans of bug spray, ready to use on the side in the kitchenette. It was horrible. To add to this, the villa was opposite the public costal walkway, so there was a lot of people walking by and looking in - no privacy at all.

We complained and were moved, immediately, to a 4 person room on the left hand side of the hotel on a high floor.

This room was absoluely lovely. Obviously recently rennovated. Clean. Spacious balcony. Enough of a sea view. Exactly what we wanted in the first place (but bigger, of course!). Only problem is that it DOES smell on this side of the hotel. Luckily, not at all on the balcony - but as soon as you open the apartment door you can smell the water treatment plant. It's worth mentioning, because, at times, it did feel like the smell was a problem for me. I mean, it's not exactly romantic when you wake up in the morning to the feint smell of sewerage. Really.

It's not a deal breaker though - as long as you're high up and get the room for a good price. The rest of the hotel is lovely. Great terrace bar. All really well kept.

In summary, don't be fobbed off with a inferior room if you booked something else. My partner and I are both in our 20s and I feel this hotel tried to take advantage of that by trying to give us a terrible room and telling us it was a 'special free upgrade'... We were born 20 something years ago thanks... Not yesterday. I would honestly say do not book this hotel for a romantic break unless you can guarantee you won't be on the 'smelly side' of the hotel. It was nice, overall, but I won't be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripMember04272015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We are sorry to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your initial room allocation, we assure that we always try to fulfil all requests of our guests', however regretfully we can never guarantee allocation of any particular room, as apartments are allotted subject to availability. We are glad that we were later able to improve the quality of your stay, nevertheless we apologise for any inconvenience or dissatisfaction you may have experienced. We wish you all the best on your future travels!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Beautiful, beautiful place, super clean, great staff and super location, providing you are not looking for a lively time in the surrounding area. there is a nice area in San Blas which is about a 25 min walk or 5 in at taxi. big rooms , some refurbed, they may try to sell you a type of time share / vacation holiday, but no pressure at all, and for some people may even be desirable if it would work as explained, I decided it was not for me, but not as stupid as some I have sat through.
If you haven't booked through a promo deal and you don't want to take part, just don't be enticed by the inducements offered when they ring prior to departure, this place is great, just go and enjoy..

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We are delighted with your comments, thank you for sharing your review and please do come back as we would live to see you again!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

booked this hotel through secret escapes and what a bargain hotel looks gorgeous inside and out. I was impressed by its cleanness, friendliness of the staff they were very helpful with arranging tours, getting taxis or just general information . They supply great services from there restaurant, sauna and gym, nightly entertainment. I loved the live music playing on the balcony bar really great atmosphere.
The only one thing That I would like to point out was the back entrance the one by the pool, the key card only opened that door when it felt like apart from that I believe this to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in

Room Tip: The guys and very helpful if you ask in advance for a room with a sea view they will usally help you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank panmuskual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We are delighted with your comments, thank you for sharing your review and please do come back as we would live to see you again!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed for a week at the Santa Barbara. The Studio apartment was very clean and well equipped. We had a nice balcony with a partial sea view, table, chairs and drying rack.

Downsides were the soundproofing (we could hear the neighbours on all sides talking and walking around) the hole at the bottom of the shower screen, which meant that water leaked through onto the floor and the smell of treatment plant nearby (this was only noticeable some days and from the entrance hallway, not in the apartment or on the balcony at the back of the apartment) The mosquitos are also a bit of a pain (literally) so you can't stay on the balcony for too long after dark or you'll be eaten alive.

Did not appreciate the phone call at 9am on Sunday morning from someone at reception looking for us to go talk to them about timeshare opportunities. If I wanted to stay in a timeshare, I would be in one!

Inside the hotel complex, there is a nice little supermarket selling a range of produce an 'Italian' restaurant and a pool bar. The pool bar was nice if a little on the small side and some of the cocktails are pre-made and poured from those 'slushie' type machines.

We dined one night in the Italian restaurant but never returned - the food wasn't great at all. The starter of asparagus and ham was tinned asparagus, a square slice of ham and a square slice of cheese, heated up with an egg on top. I had to send it back as it turned to mush when I touched it! The pasta dish with clams was ok but not great - it didn't taste or look freshly made. The waiting staff, for what it's worth, were very nice and attentive and the wine was nice but the menu needs a complete overhaul.

The pool is of a good size and although other guests did try and commandeer loungers by leaving towels on them, the pool attendants kept note and removed towels after an hour or so.

There's no sandy beach in the area and there are a lot of abandoned construction sites around, so the outside of the complex is not very pretty. If you do get a view of the sea from your balcony, it makes up for it.

If you're looking for amazing nightlife and restaurants, you'll probably need to venture further from the hotel. There are many Italian and Chinese restaurants nearby, as well as an Irish bar, all offering the same bland 'appeal to the Brits' food. There is one Tapas Bar to the right of the hotel entrance but it was closed 'until holiday season' (I was there in June) so I couldn't sample the food there.

If all you want from a holiday is sunshine, drinks and a nice pool to lounge around, this would be an ideal place for you to visit. The hotel is great and well worth the price per night. If you like to venture outside of your hotel, do some sightseeing and eat local food, it's probably not the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KimiKuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club. We are pleased to read that you had an overall pleasant stay and that you enjoyed your visit to Tenerife. We are sorry if you felt inconvenienced by contact from our representatives, however. We would like to kindly note that we are primarily a members club and so facilitation of presentation may take place, however, unless stated by your booking T&C there is no obligation to attend. As for the restaurant, we regret if your meal was not as good as you may have expected and we will forward your comments to the restaurant management team. We are pleased, however that you appear to have had an otherwise relaxing stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

we stayed here for 6 days fr july 15- 21. it is a very nice hotel, seaside location and its amenities, no complaint about that. the room is well equipped with everything you needed for a self catering holiday.
but few issues i would like to raise for, hopefully, to improve the service.
1. i was charged few weeks before checking in without notice despite booking agreement that i will pay in the hotel upon arrival. problem wes sorted though after several emails of inquiry.
2. they need to review their staffing specifically the receptionists. since they are under diamond resorts international, they are expected to have a welcoming atmosphere and it should start from the front desk. i dont know how long some of them have been working in this hotel but some seem unhappy and just doing their job without showing any interest and sincere respect to customers. they need to loosen up a bit and not to show a borderline rudeness and intimidating approach to their guests.
do not make any request during booking because they will give you the opposite of your request!
i requested a room away from the sewage and in high floor if possible but upon checking in, we were allocated next to the sewage. i immediately phoned the reception and explained about my request, and fortunately the receptioninst who answered is the one who did the check in which took a while for she had to stare at the computer and read whatever is written most probably my request and the issue of early and wrong charges. she told me that she will speak to the incharge if she can give me another room. i was asked to view 2 more rooms and choose which one. the point is, come on, if you have more vacant rooms, then why give the room which is exactly opposite of my request?!. a bit challenging and really intimidating.

we encountered problem in printing our boarding pass, printer not working and we were advise to go to the hotel nearby to ask if they can help us whoch we did, but with same problem. then again told to go to a computer/ intnet cafe in somewhere in san blas, which unfortunately we did not find. we asked in one shop and we were advise to go to sunview hotel across the road which happened to be a branch of diamond resorts international too, same problem though with the printer and the pdf issue, but through the very kind assistance of receptionist Hamid El Himas, we were able to print our boarding pass in just 5 minutes.i just dont understand why the receptionists in santa barbara 3 of them behind the desk could do such simple task.

then come checking out time, we checked out 4am and while on the way to the airport, we realized we forgot 1 small bag, we had to return and borrowed the key from the reception, when i asked if i can get in to get the bg,this reptionist just threw the card key at the desk. what a man!

3. we decided to eat at the pool bar that afternoon we checked in, and was charged with 3 extra large beer and 1 small beer when in fact we only ordered 3 magners cider! we had to chase the waiter to correct the bill.
4. dont leave your door open during the night, mosquitos ready to invade your room soon darkness sets in. it happened during our first night coz we preferred to have fresh air but we ended up having bites in the morning. understandable though coz the place is just beside the water.

well, all in all, it was a great holiday. as i said, vry nice hotel, just the "staff"needs improvement. we're still plannng to book here but hopefully, it will be a better welcoming atmosphere and more helpful front desk staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ako_c_Ofel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We pride ourselves on delivering exceptional customer service and therefore it is with regret that we read that on this occasion it appears our team did not make the best impression on you; please be assured this by no means is the norm here at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club and we will address this with the team. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. We are also sorry for the issue at the restaurant/bar, unfortunately, these are not run by us and therefore we do not have much influence on their operations, nevertheless we will address this with the restaurant management team. We hope that you had an overall pleasant stay, however, and that we may have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
6.6 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,156 reviews
27.4 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#16 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
347 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#13 of 57 in Costa Adeje
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.2 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#4 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,729 reviews
7.8 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,894 reviews
37.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Property: Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Address: Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish-inspired architecture and beautifully finished luxury accommodations, some overlooking the Atlantic, are just two of the features that make Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club one of the finest resorts in Southern Europe.Nestled on the sun-drenched southern coast of Tenerife, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club boasts a truly superb range of facilities including swimming pools, landscaped gardens, shops and even its own gymnasium.A golfer's paradise, the fairways that host the prestigious Tenerife Open are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, TravelUp, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Santa Barbara Golf And Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Hotel Ocean
Santa Barbara Resort Ocean
Santa Barbara Tenerife
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Tenerife/San Miguel De Abona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing