We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We had a two bed self catering apartment which was so spacious, kitchen great size and had all equipment you would ever need. Bedrooms one double and one twin very comfortable slept really well, safe in room included. Bathroom was excellent with shower over bath which was fabulous, the apartment was very clean and in good decorative order. We had a large sea view balcony with dining table and chairs, a lovely outside space to chill. Staff were extremely good nothing was too much trouble felt like they had known us for years, good food in restaurant and poolside bar. A must see is the paella and sangria demonstration, which you can then purchase to eat gorgeous.
We will definitely be returning, a lovely area and a short walk into San blast with shops, and bars.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments.
We are very happy that you had a lovely stay with us and your apartment was to your liking. It is great you enjoyed sitting out of your balcony and enjoyed the views on offer.
We do hold our staff to an extremely high level of service excellence and so we are always happy to know when they have provided this service to our guests!
We hope you will visit us again soon.
Javier Baqueiro
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

873 - 879 of 2,094 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

The hotel is decent for a summer holiday, well-maintained & friendly staff. We stayed for a week and had a lovely ocean view apartment which had good self-catering facilities. We cooked in the apartment a couple of times and ate in the hotel once. There are lots of nice restaurants in very close walking distance too. The pool is great, but it can be hard to get a lounger. There is a gate at the bottom that opens straight out onto the ocean walk-way, which is great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are glad you had a great stay with us.
It is great that you enjoyed your apartment with us, we strive to provide our guests with the highest standards of accommodation during their stay.
We hope you will come back and visit us again soon!
Javier Baqueiro
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We have a Points system, so can go on holiday to a few places and just pay for a flight.
We wanted just a week in June, and we had not been here for around 4years so booked.
Well how the place has gone down in 4years, and with the owners of our Points system changing hands a few years ago has not helped. The Bathroom in our apartment was so dirty, the rest of the place ok!! but we used to have the room cleaned every day well that is not the case any more!!
We used to go here twice a year, not any more !! Very Poor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank SUSIE1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry you were disappointed with your stay with us.
We have passed on your feedback to our housekeeping manager who will be sure to address the points you have made.
We do hope this has not marred your future dealings with us and you will return again in the future.
Javier Baqueiro
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We eventually had two one bed apartments at Santa Barbara after being directed to two ground floor Villas we felt that we would prefer a higher level as these two were not suitable for our party. Mainly due to noise from machinery and the smell that seemed to come from drains nearby.
However we had booked our apartments in February and requested a high level apartment so we returned to reception who then offered us two apartments on a higher level.
These apartments were lovely and we were very happy, clean and fresh, so after initial disappointment everything was good.
We booked half board at the Little Italy restaurant for 6 days. Excellent value and the staff were brilliant. We swapped one nights evening meal for the BBQ night a three course meal by the pool. Was delicious and thoroughly enjoyed by all.
The breakfasts were equally as good, staff always kind and attentive.
We enjoyed the White Night and the Terrace bar.
We ate out one evening and took a fabulous trip to Lora Parque.
Also the late night Market at Los Abrigos.
Entertainment at the Irish Bar and a few hours of shopping at San Blas.
We will certainly book again. We love the weather and the breeze in Tenerife.
Air con in the apartment works well if the nights are warm and all in all a good holiday.
Thanks to all the staff xx

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club, and that our team were able to resolve your concerns and find accommodation for you that met with your satisfaction. We hope you’ll get the opportunity to return here for another visit, and we look forward to being of service to you again!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We are diamond members and decided to visit the Santa Barbara after reading good reviews of the hotel.

It is a nice place, but i think some of the reviews on here over-exaggerate it. It isn't a super luxurious hotel, but a good standard.

We had a studio apartment, and we were given a refurbished room with a great sea-view. We were happy with our room until we were shown that our bed pulled out of the wall. I've never stayed anywhere where I had to do that. The space felt very small compared to the size of a studio at our home resort.

The smell of sewage at this place is a huge problem. We could sometimes smell it from our balcony, and you could smell it throughout the hotel. We spoke to some locals one night and they said its been a problem here for years. Why is it still an issue?! The left aide of the hotel is worse. In all honesty if my room would have been here I would have needed to be moved asap.

The pool area is lovely and there is a dedicated member of staff who watches how long towels have been out. We saw towels being removed that have been left our for hours which impressed me. We witnessed too many people reserving chairs and then not using them, so its nice to see that the hotel is doing something about it. We went out normally at 10am and were able to find chairs.

There are lots of activities going on for adults and kids. We didn't try any, but there is a lot to do at the resort itself.

We enjoyed going into San Blas and Los Abrigos for dinner. It was a nice walk along the coast, only 20-25 mins slow walk. I'd recommend it, as we weren't a huge fan of some of the restaurants near the hotel.

Since we are already Diamond members we didn't want to go to the complimentary breakfast. I was a bit annoyed though because the people who kept phoning us about this kept calling me by a different name and then wanted to speak to my partner instead of me as they didn't know I was also a member. Um, don't you have this information in front of you? Felt like they didn't know who they were speaking to but were keen to push on regardless...

That being said, most of the staff here are lovely and helpful- particularly those working in the pool bar. We found reception staff to be slow and had an issue one day where they accidentally checked us out and we couldn't get into our room. I had to keep going back n forth between our room and reception- at least 3 trips to sort it before they realised their error. On many occasions we had to wait for a while to speak to reception, even though i could see lots of staff walking about behind the desk. I didn't understand why they couldn't serve me or at least greet me and say someone would be with me shortly.

All in all it is a nice resort. Not as glamorous as I expected, but I would stay here again, just maybe in a larger room next time.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ashleygaidhlig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club. We are pleased to read that your stay here was a generally enjoyable one, but we’re sorry that you had cause for disappointment about some aspects of the resort.

Please allow us to explain that the source of the odour you encountered is a sewage treatment plant that is situated on private land adjacent to the resort and not the resort’s own treatment plant. This situation has been under observation for some time and the relevant authorities have previously installed improved machinery to assist in reducing odours emitted from the plant.

Information about the accommodation should have been made available to you at the time of booking, and we are extremely sorry if you weren’t provided with this information.

While we do invite our members to attend an update meeting while they are staying here, this isn’t mandatory unless you are staying on a promotional break, and you are naturally welcome to decline if you aren’t interested in attending. We don’t feel that high-pressure marketing tactics are necessary or appropriate, and we would like to apologise for any unhelpful behaviour shown by our on-site sales team.

We are also sorry for the issue which arose with you being checked out of your accommodation early. This was a genuine error on the part of the front desk team and we regret the frustration and inconvenience that this caused to you.

We really hope that these issues didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable holiday, and we are pleased to read that you would like to return here. We hope to see you again soon!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We had a really enjoyable week's stay at Santa Barbara. Clean, spacious and friendly.
Staff cos not be more friendly. We had a 1 bed appartment (sleeps 4). Comfortable size and so clean. Refurbished rooms are extremely comfortable. Air con works week. Kitchen is fully furnished and all equipment provided and more. Balcony overlooked a terrace bar and had a superb sea view.
Pool was great and the food was of a good standard from both restaurants.
Plenty of entertainment for young families. 3 places for evening drinks. Good range of entertainment on the evening.
Very close proximity to sea, although nearest sandy beach is 25 minutes walk away east, towards Los Abrigos.
Sun beds by the pool are at a premium - be down by 8:00am to get a bed of choice. Life guards do not reinforce the hotel policy of use it or lose it for sun beds.
We were invited to a complementary breakfast (to discuss membership of their club) but representatives aren't pushy. A polite "not for me" would suffice - for some, the club would work very well.
Plenty to see and do in the local area. San Blas is the nearest Centre for shops and bars/ eateries. Cheap and lots of entertainment.
Take the coastal walk to Los Abrigos (30 minutes walk) and easy at Ocean Dream for one of the best meals in the area (imho).

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, we are grateful for your kind words. Hopefully, we will get the chance to offer you another warm welcome in the future.

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel would have received 5 stars however the WiFi is very patchy - please don't bother paying for it in your room. Everything meets expectations nicely. The rooms on the east side are near to the sewers which can be slightly whiffy at times.

Room Tip: Don't get one on the east side. Sewers are there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 991Debbie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

We are sorry if you had an issue with the Wi-Fi connection, please be assured that we are looking into securing a better option. Nevertheless we are pleased that you had an otherwise enjoyable stay. Please come back soon!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
19.8 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,094 reviews
37.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,872 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#15 of 60 in Costa Adeje
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#18 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
396 reviews
6.6 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#5 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,462 reviews
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Address: Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range: £58 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish-inspired architecture and beautifully finished luxury accommodations, some overlooking the Atlantic, are just two of the features that make Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club one of the finest resorts in Southern Europe.Nestled on the sun-drenched southern coast of Tenerife, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club boasts a truly superb range of facilities including swimming pools, landscaped gardens, shops and even its own gymnasium.A golfer's paradise, the fairways that host the prestigious Tenerife Open are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Santa Barbara Golf And Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Hotel Ocean
Santa Barbara Resort Ocean
Santa Barbara Tenerife
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Tenerife/San Miguel De Abona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing