We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had two nightmare nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Tenerife Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Impression was okay when I first drive onto the car park. Reception staff was helpful at first and we were given apartment 72A which is long 150-200 metres walk from the car park/reception. This might not be a problem for some but when you have kids like me and you go in and out of the apartment quite often, it becomes a bit of a workout.

The decorations inside is I find quite dated, kitchen is very small and toilets smelt of poo which they later rectified. All was well until we came back to the apartment at night where it was swamped with flying and normal ants. In the middle of the living room there is a glass panel to let sun light through during the day, this became a viewing glass for all sorts of insects. A lot of it came through and we literally spent the remainder of the night killing insects and sweeping away dead bodies.

I spoke to reception the next morning, they acknowledged the problem (which means it's not the first time) and said since it's a resort next to the a golf course you can expect some insects. I said i don't mind seeing the odd ants here and there but when you have an army of them scaring my kids to death, it's a different story. And their solution to this is that they will send someone to spray some stuff around the place and recommend that we kill the lights at night. Yes, very ridiculous, they will spray some stuff that is most likely to be harmful to my kids and they want us to either sleep early at night or move around in the dark.

The second night was spent more or less the same way, kill and sweep. I spoke to them again and they just didn't think it was a problem.

So...unless you want experience this, avoid this place. However I have to be fair, other rooms may not have this problem so I don't know and the other hotel they own - Santa Barbara hotel 5 minutes away is so much better!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel like Santa Barbara Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ph47mf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback we appreciate it and will use to improve our service. Delivering great holiday experience is important to us and we regret that in this case that we fell short. We are sorry to read of the situation you encountered in your accommodation. The resort does take preventative measures to reduce the appearance of insects, and while this is something that is very difficult to completely eradicate, we would like to reassure you that the situation is monitored on a regular basis by the resort staff. Any insects found within the apartments are usually eradicated by the use of a spray; however we never refrain from using more extensive measures if needed. We are very sorry for any disruption caused to your holiday by this incident. We hope that you may decide to pay us another visit in the future and we will do our best to give you the great vacation you have every right to expect.

Cristina Gonzalez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful apartments and pool area but nothing else ,extortionate prices for gym and internet and a mission to get to shops and bars bit disappointing after usually going to Santa Barbara golf and ocean club in the same area
The shop and bistro onsite are good although the shop is only small.
The English owners of the bistro are lovely and will bend over backwards to please you

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sandra7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

We are sorry to read that our location proved a little remote for you, however we hope that you did enjoy your stay and found your accommodation comfortable. We wish you all the best on your future travels.

Cristina Gonzalez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My fifth visit to a resort that has everything. From the warm welcome to the check out 14 days later we had a delightful time.
The front desk staff just could not be more helpful and kind. The housekeeping team were a happy smiling crowd and did an excellent job of keeping our accommodation spick and span
The grounds and swimming pools were maintained to a very high standard.
The Cafe Med restaraunt serves meals of a good quality and fair price. We found that the food at the Pool Bar to be good value for money
We are already planning to return in 2015

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MirfieldOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

We do hold our staff to an extremely high service excellence so we are always glad when our guests provide us with such lovely feedback. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for visiting us year upon year, we are glad we can continue to provide you with the service you expect from us.
We will be sure to pass on your feedback to our food and beverage operator and we will look forward to you return in 2015!
Cristina Gonzalez
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Although near to the airport the planes are not obtrusive and provide some entertainment.
The place itself is spotless and well managed with a friendly staff .
The pools are well maintained and well supervised.
The heated pool is just a little deep to be a real fun pool, but I suppose this is a legacy.
The children's area has been revamped and includes an excellent paddling pool, with shaded chairs and tables for parents.
The views around on to the surrounding golf courses, and out towards the sea are brilliant

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simplesimon_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad to read you had a lovely stay with us.
We are thrilled to read you made excellent use of the facilities available to you onsite. We hope you return again soon.
Cristina Gonzalez
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The refurbished apartments are very good indeed; however those that have not yet been refurbished are somewhat tired Bathrooms in particular are in desperate need of renewal. Having said that, the apartment we were allocated was spacious; kitchen was very well stocked (even picnic items); and beds relatively comfortable (if noisy when you move). If you have hired a car, booking and paying for the car park is essential as there is no street parking. As a non-member of Diamond Resorts, unless you're willing to pay 70 euros per week to use the gym, don't bother taking your kit. Also there's no free wi-fi in reception - that's 27 euros per week per device. If, like us you're used to shower gel etc. being replenished you'll be disappointed - just one set of miniatures at the start of the holiday. Cleaning is twice per week. A rather expensive shop on site but OK for bread - Mercadona has a large supermarket a short drive away by the motorway. Checkout is 10am so if you have a late flight it's worth booking an extra night.

Room Tip: Try asking for a refurbished room (we did and didn't get one)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are glad that you were pleased with your accommodation.
We do regret to read of your disappointment with the onsite facility charges and we will pass your comments forward for consideration.
We do hope you will visit us again soon.
Cristina Gonzalez
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I love this place and so does my family, I have been 5 times and other members of my family more.
We have been going back for 15 or so years and am pretty sure we will go again (august in fact), cannot wait, great for family, relaxing and completely stress free holiday!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We are thankful for your kind words - we are glad that you find us as your reliable holiday destination. Please come back soon!

Cristina Gonzalez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Rented an apartment through Secret Escapes. Very reasonable. Two bedroom one ensuite, wheel equipped kitchen, patio and walled garden. Short walk to three beautiful pools. Bar serving reasonable food and drinks. Close to the airport but enjoyed seeing the planes coming in to land.
Short drive to Los Christianos need a car to get about. Really enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor as you will get a garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anniegriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

It is lovely to read your review, we are grateful to you for the time taken to share your experience. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Cristina Gonzalez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
26.5 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#17 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
398 reviews
37.3 mi away
Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo
Occidental Santa Cruz Contempora...
#5 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,089 reviews
19.1 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
2,098 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
#9 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
967 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset View Club
Sunset View Club
#2 of 30 in San Miguel de Abona
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Tenerife Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Tenerife Country Club

Address: Complejo San Andres | Calle San Andres, Golf del Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Speciality Lodging in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range: £61 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Tenerife Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against rising hills amid the greens of the challenging Golf del Sur course, Royal Tenerife Country Club is a resort designed with relaxation in mind.The furnished accommodations boast sumptuous marble bathrooms and beautifully outfitted kitchens. Outside there are attractive, subtropical gardens, but the focal point of Royal Tenerife Country Club is its large and beautifully landscaped swimming pool.Out and about you will find that a relaxed atmosphere pervades, while the fish restaurants in the nearby village of Los Abrigos are simply too good to ignore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Tenerife Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Tenerife Country Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Royal Tenerife Country Club San Miguel De Abona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing