We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plane spotters paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Tenerife Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
lancashire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Plane spotters paradise”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a lovely 2 bedroom unit with large terrace with BBQ. Can't fault the apartment at all. Pools lovely. It's a bit out of the way so a car would be a good idea. Very close to airport with planes going over head really low but we found this interesting and quite exciting. (Maybe I need to get out more) some lovely restaurants quite close by. Had a great time but would prefer to be closer to a larger town next time

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m7key
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We are really pleased that you had a comfortable stay at the Royal Tenerife Country Club, and we hope you’ll choose to come back here in the future – we’d love to see you again!

Cristina Gonzalez
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    203
    50
    13
    11
See reviews for
224
199
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in a 2 bed apartment on a family holiday. The unit was assigned as a 6 bed, but the main bathroom was tiny. The unit could have been more updated, but was clean and had air conditioning. Lovely view of El teida from a great enclosed outside patio.
Resort pools are nice, but tennis court ok for recreation just careful for tripping on the surface... Cafe Med in the car park is very good - would recommend breakfast/ first meal there, and stock up from the supermarket at the top of the hill after that (much cheaper than the tourist shops further down the hill)
Theres a bus stop conveniently nearby, and the reception (& other) staff are very very helpful.

Really enjoyed a quiet stay here - be prepared for it to be windy though & bear in mind you will be stating under a flight path close to the airport so bring ear plugs for sleeping if you're sound sensitive

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cams32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your review – we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Royal Tenerife Country Club! We have an ongoing programme of refurbishment and improvement, and we feel sure that if you come back here in the future, you’ll appreciate the changes we’re making. We hope we’ll see you again!

Cristina Gonzalez
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here in June 2014 The resort is located at the side of a golf course with views towards the sea which is about 20 mins walk away down a road that is not to steep 2 no restaurants on site and both serve good food- there are more restaurants in San Blas square and on the Amarillo golf resort which are both about 15 mins walk away The resort is near the South Tenerife airport and planes pass by ,but did not find the sound of them to loud to cause a problem .This resort is Ideal for anyone wishing a relaxed stay and / or a game or two of golf - Helpful staff ,all speak good English Would recommend a stay here if looking for a relaxing holiday

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theregulator41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We are really pleased that you had a pleasant and relaxing stay at the Royal Tenerife Country Club, and that you would recommend the resort to others. We hope you’ll choose to return here for another visit in the future – we would love to see you again!

Cristina Gonzalez
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had a two bedroomed apartment, which had been recently refurbished. very nicely laid out a good size and more than adequate facilities. A very large patio, looks like it had recently been retiled, but it looks very bare, it desperately needs planting of some description, other apartments have a half and half garden/patio, if they have paved this one instead of keeping the garden element then it was a mistake. Didn't use any of the facilities, but they appeared popular and reasonable value. The on site shop is useful for milk and water, but not much else. the resort is well spread out, but fairly gentle slopes, a long walk up to reception though, and even further to walk to the car park if you choose not to pay for onsite parking. A car is a must as the resort is pretty remote. what few facilities that are within walking distance are few, and still a good walk. we drove into Los Christianos every night.
Be warned, the resort is very close to the airport and directly under the flight path, good for plane spotters, and not particularly disturbing if the landing direction is overhead towards the airport, if the wind direction changes though and they start taking of towards the resort, it can get noisy. luckily there are very few late night or early morning flights, so sleep is not really disturbed, and you really do get used to it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuncanGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at the Royal Tenerife Country Club. We are really pleased that you had a generally enjoyable stay here, and we feel sure that future guests will appreciate your feedback on our resort. We hope you’ll consider us for future visits – we’d love to see you again!

Cristina Gonzalez
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

As a member of Diamond Resorts, we have come to expect a certain standard from our Time share group and we were not let down at all. The apartment we had was a re-furbished one and had every thing that you needed, the terrace was large with a built in BBQ if you needed to use it, we didn't but one nearby did and the down side of that was if it was breezy you ended up with the smell and the smoke on your terrace and in the apartment.
The bedrooms are of a good size, the shower room is on the small side but usable, the main bathroom is great with a walk in shower plus bath, We did have a bit of a problem with the kitchen, as I am not a tall person, I had problems reaching items out of the cupboards and there was only one small empty cupboard to put food items in which was above the fridge/freezer, which I could not reach, so I ended up using what would have been a wardrobe in the lounge for storing the food.
The area is quiet and in the middle of a golf course, which we did use, you do get the noise from aircraft as they come into land and take off, but this did not bother us. A 15 minute walk will take you into San Blas where there is a supermarket , shops and a good choice of restaurants. We found all the staff to be very helpful, friendly but at the same time professional, Our thanks go to Alanna one of the concierge who was exceptional, I spoke to her before we arrived and we received excellent service from her in so much when I first met her, I had to give her a big hug also David on Reception who checked us in, very efficient and he has a lovely smile and is very helpful. We hope to return sometime in the near future. Well done to all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We are really pleased that you chose to stay at the Royal Tenerife Country Club, and that the resort lived up to your expectations. We’re sorry to read that you had some difficulties with the kitchen, though, and we hope that this didn’t spoil your stay here. We really hope that you’ll get the chance to come back for another visit, and we look forward to being of service to you again!

Cristina Gonzalez
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Impression was okay when I first drive onto the car park. Reception staff was helpful at first and we were given apartment 72A which is long 150-200 metres walk from the car park/reception. This might not be a problem for some but when you have kids like me and you go in and out of the apartment quite often, it becomes a bit of a workout.

The decorations inside is I find quite dated, kitchen is very small and toilets smelt of poo which they later rectified. All was well until we came back to the apartment at night where it was swamped with flying and normal ants. In the middle of the living room there is a glass panel to let sun light through during the day, this became a viewing glass for all sorts of insects. A lot of it came through and we literally spent the remainder of the night killing insects and sweeping away dead bodies.

I spoke to reception the next morning, they acknowledged the problem (which means it's not the first time) and said since it's a resort next to the a golf course you can expect some insects. I said i don't mind seeing the odd ants here and there but when you have an army of them scaring my kids to death, it's a different story. And their solution to this is that they will send someone to spray some stuff around the place and recommend that we kill the lights at night. Yes, very ridiculous, they will spray some stuff that is most likely to be harmful to my kids and they want us to either sleep early at night or move around in the dark.

The second night was spent more or less the same way, kill and sweep. I spoke to them again and they just didn't think it was a problem.

So...unless you want experience this, avoid this place. However I have to be fair, other rooms may not have this problem so I don't know and the other hotel they own - Santa Barbara hotel 5 minutes away is so much better!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel like Santa Barbara Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ph47mf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback we appreciate it and will use to improve our service. Delivering great holiday experience is important to us and we regret that in this case that we fell short. We are sorry to read of the situation you encountered in your accommodation. The resort does take preventative measures to reduce the appearance of insects, and while this is something that is very difficult to completely eradicate, we would like to reassure you that the situation is monitored on a regular basis by the resort staff. Any insects found within the apartments are usually eradicated by the use of a spray; however we never refrain from using more extensive measures if needed. We are very sorry for any disruption caused to your holiday by this incident. We hope that you may decide to pay us another visit in the future and we will do our best to give you the great vacation you have every right to expect.

Cristina Gonzalez
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful apartments and pool area but nothing else ,extortionate prices for gym and internet and a mission to get to shops and bars bit disappointing after usually going to Santa Barbara golf and ocean club in the same area
The shop and bistro onsite are good although the shop is only small.
The English owners of the bistro are lovely and will bend over backwards to please you

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
We are sorry to read that our location proved a little remote for you, however we hope that you did enjoy your stay and found your accommodation comfortable. We wish you all the best on your future travels.

Cristina Gonzalez
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Abona hotels
0.8 mi away
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & ...
#1 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,607 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#6 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
0.9 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset View Club
Sunset View Club
#1 of 27 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Tenerife Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Tenerife Country Club

Property: Royal Tenerife Country Club
Address: Complejo San Andres | Calle San Andres, Golf del Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Speciality Lodging in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Tenerife Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against rising hills amid the greens of the challenging Golf del Sur course, Royal Tenerife Country Club is a resort designed with relaxation in mind.The furnished accommodations boast sumptuous marble bathrooms and beautifully outfitted kitchens. Outside there are attractive, subtropical gardens, but the focal point of Royal Tenerife Country Club is its large and beautifully landscaped swimming pool.Out and about you will find that a relaxed atmosphere pervades, while the fish restaurants in the nearby village of Los Abrigos are simply too good to ignore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Tenerife Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Tenerife Country Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Royal Tenerife Country Club San Miguel De Abona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing