We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing”
Review of Hotel Blau Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Blau Mar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Llafranc
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
443 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We had 5 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The room no 16 was spacious and comfortable with a patio overlooking the view. The pool area is lovely. The breakfast was excellent. Staff helpful. You will need a car if you want to get around as it is high up on the hill, you can walk into the town. There was not a lot in the town a chemist, supermarket and restaurants. As it was late in the season not all were open but you can always find something open. Neighbouring towns are not too far and worth visiting. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 16 I think it's worth paying for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
We really appreciate your kind words and are pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us.
Thank you very much again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    59
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
64
258
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

A friendly and relaxing hotel for a short stay. Very clean and nicely decorated and furnished which was done very recently. Location is a little outside the village centre with a nice downhill, 5 minute walk to the closest restaurants, a little more challenging to walk back afterwards.

Only small thing that could be improved is the WIFI - very slow and not effective to use at all

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantAntoni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in a near future in the hotel

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Had a wonderful 3 night stay in this fabulous small hotel on the costa brava. Everything is first class from the service to the wonderful accommodation. When you first arrive the exterior is possibly a little underwhelming but once inside you will soon change your opinion. Friendly, efficient service in wonderful surroundings makes for a tranquil and enjoyable experience. Book this hotel with full confidence that you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmn1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for having chosen the Hotel Blaumar to enjoy your holidays and for posting your review on Tripadvisor.
It’s a pleasure for us to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel. Our aim is your total satisfaction and your positive comments will help us in our continuing effort to improve our services.
Looking forward to welcome you back.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had 3 nights at this lovely hotel. The staff were friendly and the overall decor and rooms were first class. The pool and view exceptional. The only downside is the steep climb back up from town. We took the car down in the end No evening meal just snacks Breakfast on the terrace was lovely, This area of the Costa Brava is really very special. There are some lovely walks. Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind words are really appreciated and encourages us to keep on working hard to meet all of our guest expectations.

Thank you so much
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Excellent boutique hotel in the lovely town of Llafranc. Great individually styled rooms, spacious, and with a balcony overlooking the sea. The pool area was large with plenty of sun loungers. The breakfast on the terrace was excellent with a good choice of food. The all day snacks were very good quality. Good restaurant options in the town for the evening although the hill at the end is a challenge but the wine certainly helps. Overall a fantastic holiday and we will be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TandCfuntrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will be delighted to welcome you again

Thank you so much
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Located about 10min walk down (could be 15-20min back UP!!!) to the waterfront and restaurant area, this relatively new ( "French Provincial" décor) 17 room hotel is an absolute delight.
We stayed for 6 nights from Sept 3rd 2013 and really didn't want to leave. The rooms are a good size with comfortable beds and as we had a first floor room we also had a nice balcony overlooking the bay with the pool area in the foreground. A top place to relax particularly in the mornings and then again late afternoons. We began our stay in a ground floor room with nice courtyard opening onto the pool and even though we were able to be relocated to the upper floor, these ground floor rooms are still very pleasant. Just a better view from upper floor but access from ground floor rooms to dining / pool areas is obviously easier. Wow!! Tough choice!!
Rooms have a safe, bar fridge, tv., coffee and tea making facilities and ample bathroom facilities
The buffet breakfast provided was great considering the small size of the hotel. A selection of cereals, fruits, yogurt, breads, pastries, cold meats, eggs, bacon etc. as well as a variety of coffees and teas, was well presented and regularly replenished. The breakfast venue, on the terrace adjacent the pool lawn and overlooking the bay, was a most peaceful and relaxing way to start our day.
The pool and lawn areas are maintained to an excellent standard and a pleasure to use.
There is also a lift to first floor should this be required.
The final and most memorable "selling point" for us would have to have been the staff. They ALL were just so helpful, genuinely friendly and appropriately attentive. I feel that if any hospitality provider needed an exemplar to aspire to, this group of people would be a good place to start looking.
Of particular note would be Cristina, Marta, and Imma who really made our stay one of those "not to forget" experience. Thanks so much.
The peacefulness of this location is due in part to it being slightly remote from the beach and the "tourist strip", so this needs to be considered as the hotel's menu for on site dining at night is limited. So if you wish to experience the wider variety of dining options this seaside town has to offer you need to be able to walk / drive / taxi the short distance down to "the dining strip" .
To us a very small price to pay for the peace and tranquillity of this hotel's location.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a better view but ground floor courtyard rooms could perhaps be easier with s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
For us it is a real pleasure to receive feedback like yours.
We have no words to thank you yours opinions.
We are glad you enjoyed your holiday with us.
Yours sincerely,
BlauMar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed at the BlauMar for five nights in July. The hotel is quite new and only has 17 rooms, so it has a relaxing feel. The staff is eager to help and will happily give directions and recommendations.

The hotel and rooms are decorated are decorated in sort of French shabby chic. Our room was on the first floor with a lovely view. The room was very spacious and the balcony for relaxing in the afternoon.

The hotel was great as a base for exploring the surrounding area. We actually preferred Begur and Calella de Palafrugell for eating out versus Llafranc itself.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OTN1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind words are really appreciated and encourages us to keep on working hard to meet all of our guest expectations.

Thank you so much
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llafranc
3.1 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terramar
Hotel Terramar
#2 of 6 in Llafranc
269 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#2 of 14 in Begur
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
799 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Llevant
Hotel Llevant
#4 of 6 in Llafranc
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Llafranch
Hotel Llafranch
#5 of 6 in Llafranc
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blau Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blau Mar

Property: Hotel Blau Mar
Address: Carrer de Farena 36, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Llafranc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Llafranc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Blau Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel is in Llafranc, one of the best beach resorts on the Costa Brava. All rooms at the Blaumar have a private terrace or garden with sea views.The Blaumar is located in the heart of the beautiful Empordà region. Along the coastline there are a range of beaches and interesting fishing towns.The hotel has soundproofed bedrooms with bright décor and lots of natural light. There are wooden floors and attractive furniture.Wi-Fi is free in public areas. These include a living room where hot drinks are served around the fireplace.Breakfast includes local produce and fresh fruit and is available on the outdoor terrace. There are also gardens and a snack bar.Free public parking is possible on site. There are 10 golf courses within 20 km. The Dalí Museum in Figueres is an hour's drive away, while Girona can be reached in 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Blau Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blau Mar Llafranc, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing