We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family-run boutique hotel - nice place”
Review of Hotel Blau Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Blau Mar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Llafranc
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Family-run boutique hotel - nice place”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My wife & I had a week here. It's a smallish place, with only a couple of dozen rooms on 2 floors. The staff are friendly - genuinely so, rather than in that 'it's my job to smile' way that you tend to get in big hotels.

It's in the town of Llafranc, a few minutes' walk up a steep hill from the beach. The hotel just does snack food but there are a few decent restaurants in Llafranc and more in Calella, about half an hour's walk away. The hotel seemed quiet the whole time we were there - it's a peaceful place. The pool's lovely.

Breakfast is good - buffet style though they'll cook you other things too. Occasionally they run out of breakfast items. However this is a place where the staff will go out of their way to make you happy.

The only significant annoyance was the wi-fi, which is available everywhere we tried, and free, but very slow indeed - sometimes to the point of being unusable. That just encouraged us to do other things, so it wasn't all bad.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broadens_the_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlauMar, Departamento de recepción at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We are pleased to know that the hotel has been satisfactory.

It's been a great pleasure for us to welcome you to our Hotel and we hope to see you soon.

Warm greetings from all Blaumar team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    59
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
63
254
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights. It is a little bit of paradise. the Staff are very nice, friendly and so helpful. We were on a B&B basis and the coat was value for money. The breakfast was excellent with a great deal of choice and fried and scrambled eggs were available. The hotel does a snack menu throughout the day which was fine for us at Lunchtime but for evening meals we went into Llanfranch and explored the many restaurants there. A bit of a walk back but well worth it. An exceptional stay and we will be returning.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlauMar, departamento de reservas at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We are pleased to hear that the hotel has been satisfactory.

It's been a great pleasure for us to welcome you to our Hotel and we hope to see you soon.

Warm greetings from all Blaumar team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just spent two weeks at the Blaumar (Room 15) in Llafranc and it was absolutely wonderful. A lovely family run hotel, not too big, Cristina, Alex and Marta provided excellent service, they made us feel so welcome and couldn't do enough to make our stay a happy one. Breakfast was very good, a lot of choice and if you wanted a fried egg, you just had to ask. Our room was very comfortable, with a great view looking out over the village below and the harbour. The bath/shower water lovely and hot. Clean towels, flannels (which was a nice touch) are provided, plus toiletries, and towels for the pool can be obtained from Reception. We ate at the hotel in the evening on many occasions because the restaurants in Llafranc only started service at 8pm, a bit late for us as we like to eat earlier, and there was a reasonable choice, and lovely salads. Yes you have to walk up a fairly steep hill to get to the hotel from the village, but what a fabulous view when you get there, absolutely worth the walk. Look at it as good exercise for your lungs! The pool was lovely, its quite shallow at one end but that wasn't a problem. The gardens around the hotel are beautifully kept. All in all, just a wonderful stay and a brilliant hotel. There are great walks along the Cami de Ronda, the scenery is stunning.

Room Tip: All the rooms on the first floor have a wonderful view over the village below and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlauMar, departamento de reservas at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We are pleased to hear that the hotel has been satisfactory.

It's been a great pleasure for us to welcome you to our Hotel and we hope to see you soon.

Warm greetings from all Blaumar team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Family owned and run hotel with beautiful "English country cottage" style furnishings. Rooms spotless, with sheets changed daily. Everyone extremely helpful, including a take-out breakfast when we had an early departure to drive to Barcelona airport. If you ask, they also have beach umbrellas to use during your stay - very useful. Great buffet-style breakfasts (with eggs cooked to order). The garden area and pool lovely, but only a small number of parasols set on decking at the back of the garden -it would be useful to have more nearer the pool, although there is some shade under trees. There are nice light meals served all day (salads, omelettes etc.) which we had a couple of times at lunch. For more robust evening meals, you have to walk into Llafranc, which is fine if you are active, as we are - 10 minutes down, 15-20 back . Otherwise it is a car ride, with difficult parking, or a taxi ride. Fabulous walks along the coast and to the wonderful gardens at Cap Roig.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woody4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlauMar, Departamento de recepción at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We thank you for choosing Hotel Blaumar Llafranc.

It has been a pleasure for us to meet you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Alexandra
Booking department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Spent a week here in June - had room on ground floor very handy for pool - nice patio. Great location, we had nice meals at Chez Thomas and Sirada (great for fish) Lovely walk to Calella and up to lighthouse. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful, even went into main town to pick up coach tickets for us Josep great bar tender. Pool great for cooling down but not for swimming - a few parasols around the poolwouldn't go amiss. Fantastic breakfast, about ten minutes to town bit of a stff climb back. Definite recommend for a peaceful and relaxing holiday

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlauMar, departamento de reservas at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
It was a real pleasure to have you in our hotel.

We are glad to hear that your stay was a pleasure.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our Hotel in the future.

Best regards


Alexandra
Booking department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights in this amazing hotel
The service was the best I had!!
Food is great.. view unbelievable. .
I pop the question there so...
I love it. Very close to the beach
For my next trip there I will rent a car to see more

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jacky c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlauMar, Departamento de recepción at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We are pleased to hear that the hotel has been satisfactory.

It's been a great pleasure to welcome you to our hotel and we hope to see you soon.

Warm greetings from all Blaumar team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have just spent 6 days at this very nice hotel, perched on a hillside above the beach and port of Llfranc this hotel enjoyed lovely views from all rooms but particularly the upper level, all rooms have either a balcony or terrace.
The standard of the furnishings and fittings is excellent and the only criticisms would be the lack of shade around the pool, no parasols just a few trees, this meant for me that the pool terrace area was really a no go area, there were a few sunbeds with shade at the side of the hotel but not near the pool, the pool was also not fenced so perhaps for people with small children that and the no shade could be a problem.
The breakfasts were very good with a good choice and eggs were cooked as you wished. There is a terrace menu available for lunches and snacks, we ate there twice but would not do so again as the each time the food was disappointing and over priced.
The staff at the hotel were all without exception, excellent and Alex in particular quite delightful, there was nothing that was too much trouble for this young lady.
Llfranc is a delightful place, the walk up the hill to the hotel a bit taxing but good for those who are fit and want to stay that way.
Would we return, yes we would but perhaps not for so many days as the lack of parasols was a real issue for me, there are plenty of walks to do in and around Llfranc.

Room Tip: Upper level, rooms 15-16 the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizabethGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlauMar, departamento de reservas at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We thank you for choosing Hotel Blaumar Llafranc.

It has been a pleasure for us to meet you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,


Booking department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llafranc
7.7 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terramar
Hotel Terramar
#2 of 6 in Llafranc
259 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
1,653 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
363 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blau Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blau Mar

Property: Hotel Blau Mar
Address: Carrer de Farena 36, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Llafranc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Llafranc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Blau Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel is in Llafranc, one of the best beach resorts on the Costa Brava. All rooms at the Blaumar have a private terrace or garden with sea views.The Blaumar is located in the heart of the beautiful Empordà region. Along the coastline there are a range of beaches and interesting fishing towns.The hotel has soundproofed bedrooms with bright décor and lots of natural light. There are wooden floors and attractive furniture.Wi-Fi is free in public areas. These include a living room where hot drinks are served around the fireplace.Breakfast includes local produce and fresh fruit and is available on the outdoor terrace. There are also gardens and a snack bar.Free public parking is possible on site. There are 10 golf courses within 20 km. The Dalí Museum in Figueres is an hour's drive away, while Girona can be reached in 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Blau Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blau Mar Llafranc, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing