We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPAIN AS WE REMEMBER IT”
Review of Hotel Montecarlo

Hotel Montecarlo
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Montecarlo
Ranked #4 of 5 Llafranc B&B and Inns
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“SPAIN AS WE REMEMBER IT”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have just returned from staying at this Hotel for 5 nights. We have gone to this area most years for the last 30 plus years and we stayed at the Hotel Montecarlo for a night about 30 years ago. Although the Hotel is not modern, it certainly has character and is typical of a small Spanish Hotel. So many hotels are so cosmopolitan these days, you could be anywhere in the world. The staff and small dog were exceptionally pleasant, we could not fault the breakfast. The room was maybe a little dated but had everything we required, a fridge, a good shower room, comfortable bed and fantastic balcony. We were on the third floor and had fantastic views of the sea over the roof tops. Everything was so peaceful in Llafranc at this time of year, and if you want to avoid the usual tourist traps, I would certainly recomment this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 786JAMESV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    10
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
4
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shoreham kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We have just returned from Llafranc where we stayed for 5 nights at the Hotel Montecarlo.We where not sure what to expect as we had read mixed reviews. Well what a fabulous hotel.We had a great room with a balcony so where able to dry our towels.We had a swim every morning before breakfast as the beach is so close.The breakfast was spectacular you even had a homemade omelette made for you ! Food was fresh with lots of variety amd all staff where so friendly.Beds where made every day and fresh towels.We will definatley be going back as the hotel was so welcoming and easy.You can park up the hill in a free carpark and do visit Pals and Peratallada.The hotel also has the cutest dog!
John and Helen from Kent

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We booked this hotel in the last minute as almost everthing else was fully booked. It was nice room but a bit old, no fancy but the staff were very nice and helpful. Unfortunately we did not get any balcony but on the other hand there is only 100 metres to the beach. The hotel itself should need some refurbish but still clean. No aircondition in the room which wouold have been nice to have in July! However we had a fan and the window open which helped a lot. we slept very good and was not disturbed by any people outside. Llafrance is a really nice small village with a few shops and restaurants. Two great restaurants with very good food and excellent price were - Chez Thomas and La Llagosta - try them both, you will not be dissapointed! We also went by a walk to the next village Calella de Palafrugell but do not have any recommendation their as we just walked through. One recommendation is to walk up to the highest point in Llafrance with a lovely view over the sea and as well as over the small villages nearby! Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank An1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I am going to be as contructive as I can about this hotel because the owners are really nice people. We booked at the very last minute and in desperation and I really could not have asked for a more polite reception when I made the intital enquiry. Taking into account that this hotel is located very centrally and that the other hotels and resort were extremely busy it was a bit of a give away, in terms of what to expect regarding the standard of this hotel, when we were told that there were rooms available! Needless to say I wasn't expecting too much and so I wasn't disappointed!
The thing to be aware of at first is that there are no lifts so if you are on the top floor, as we were, better to get fit because with luggage its a challenging trek. Health and saftey is not a priority and if there had been a fire the doors would in themselves assisted in creating a nice robust fire! The only fire escapes we could see were the balconies, so thats not much use.
The rooms themselves are exhausted. The furnishings were really old and even though this is classified as a 2 star hotel it really would struggle to make it to 1* . The bathrooms have no ventilation so smell damp. The toliet had the most bizzarre plastic seat I've ever come across and was stuck down with double sided tape. That didn't last long! The shower cubicles are great if you're 2 foot tall and 6 inches wide. Not sure I've ever seen such small units. My husband and sons couldnt get in without a squeeze (they are all 6ft 2") and there was no way any of us would have contemplated bending over to get the shampoo as we might have broken the whole thing. Thankfully we all have a sense of humour so just got on with it.
The rooms do have air conditioning so big plus, and there is BBC world news if you have need of knowing what's going on in the rest of the world. Although the socket was very dodgy and made a nice sizzling sound if touched!!!
I would say that they do keep the rooms as clean as possible, but as they are so old its really difficult to make a big impression when done
The cost of the rooms included bed and breakfast. We were told it was a great breakfast by the owner, but again I reserved judgement on that and I was right to do so. The coffee is good, the croissants were fresh and you could have eggs or omeletts if you wanted to. However, I suspect they recyle what isnt used from the day before as on our last day everything was stale. My advice is leave breakfast until the last minute as let the early birds eat the previous days leftovers.
I hate writing a bad review when the people who dealt with us were so nice but its clear that nothing has been invested in this hotel for a very long time so its very poor value for money and I cant really see how anyone can recommend it to others. Shame as it has the location and service with a smile. Not sure that would be enough to help it to survive in a difficult economic climate.

Room Tip: There really are no best best rooms as I suspect everywhere needs investment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llafranc hotels

Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We booked this hotel to follow a city break in Barcelona, the area is extremely popular during the summer months and this was one of the last rooms left in the Llafranc and Callela de Palafrugell and paid 100 Euro a night for a twin/double room with a balcony.

We drove from Barcelona to Llafranc, the village was fairly easy to navigate and the hotel was well sign posted (as are all the hotels in the area) and straightforward to find. The main issue we had was with parking as there in non available at the hotel. The options are to park on the streets around the hotel (free) or use the public car parks which are chargeable (with very eager traffic wardens!) We parked the car and walked with our bags to the hotel.

the location was great, close to bars and restaurant and about a 20 minute walked (via the coastal path) to Calella de Palafrugell. We must recommend the restaurant called 'El Sali' its in the square just up form the beach area with a blue sign, it doesn't look much from the outside but opens up to a beautiful courtyard.

The staff were friendly and helpful when checking us in, telling us about times of breakfast and also giving us the remote controls for the TV and digibox (we wondered if they had gone missing in the past).

Our room was on the first floor (109) and had a en suite bathroom and a balcony with two reclining chairs and a small table. What can a say we say about the room??? 'Retro' would be a good way to describe it, the room was old fashioned however immaculately clean and lots of attention to detail. The towels were made into interesting shapes with toiletries placed in between the shapes (not seen this for a long time!) The bathroom again was very clean with a toilet, bidet, bath with the shower over it. There was also a wardrobe that locked and a small desk and 2 bedside tables with drawers.

Overall we were really pleased with the room however I didn't sleep very well due to a few factors...mainly the heat and the noise. The room had no air conditioning just a tower fan, as a result we slept with the shutters and balcony doors open, the main problem was with this the noise especially on the Saturday and Sunday night. I was woken up by noise of cars, scooters, music and people coming back from their nights out from about 3am onwards. I was very cranky the next morning! However my partner slept fine and didn't feel the heat or hear the noise!!!

Breakfast was great and had a good selection including cereals, yoghurt, fruit, pastries, bread, cold meats and cheese. There was use of a toaster and also coffee machine (proper beans) and orange juice. It was help yourself so we had a good breakfast every morning!

Overall this was a great hotel in a lovely location and we enjoyed our stay the only thing I would change is the lack of air conditioning. Even if portable units were supplied with a charge I would pay so that I could have had better nights sleep! We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a lovely break in the Llafranc/Calella de Palafrugell area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smiley_Becks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llafranc
0.1 mi away
Hotel Llafranch
Hotel Llafranch
#5 of 6 in Llafranc
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terramar
Hotel Terramar
#2 of 6 in Llafranc
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Llevant
Hotel Llevant
#4 of 6 in Llafranc
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Muntanya
Hotel La Muntanya
#6 of 6 in Llafranc
56 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#4 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecarlo

Property: Hotel Montecarlo
Address: Cesarea, 14, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Llafranc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Llafranc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montecarlo Llafranc, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing