We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money in friendly local restaurant.”
Review of RESTAURANTE LEON

RESTAURANTE LEON
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Llafranc
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good value for money in friendly local restaurant.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We visit Llafranc every year and stay in the Casamar (great hotel) but sometimes eat in Leons. It's always busy and full of 'atmosphere' with tables rubbing up against each other leaving just enough room for the very friendly, busy staff to squeeze through. The food is 'down to earth with plenty of fresh local fish the same as most of the restaurants in the town but Leon as it's not on the front line with sea views has better prices ... try the mixed 'seafood' for about £10 ... excellent !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rogertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    137
    34
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good food in an atmospheric indoor setting”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

In a street away from the crowded Llafranc beach promenade, you will get a warm welcome and good food at very reasonable price. Great turbot and steaks. Always worth booking, as it gets full early on. The small outdoor terrace is directly onto the street, which can busy, so we preferred to eat inside.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Woody4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quite a find”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

On our stay in Llafranca we were told that there was a very good restaurant called Leon
We decided to try Leon's out and were delighted with the meal and service
We sat outside on a very warm evening as this was the only table available, most of the tables were inside, just 2 outside on the road. The road is quite and this was not a problem.
The service was first class and the meal was very good (The onion soup was the best I had had for many years and was one of there specialities) my main course was turbot and was beautiful
The only downside is that the restaurant is in a back street but this reflects in the price
The sign of quality is that most times we passed it was full whereas other restaurants were very quite

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk,
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very good family run restaurant”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We are regulars to this part of the Costa Brava and our first port of call after the long drive from the UK is always Leon's where we can guarantee a warm welcome from the owner and all her wonderful staff. Food is always excellent with fish being the speciality although the entrecôte steaks with Roquefort sauce is pretty good. Very popular restaurant for tourists and locals alike so booking is always advisable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank timothyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fishtastic”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

If you like fish, this is a great place to eat, used by locals which is always a good sign. Great food and good value.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RESTAURANTE LEON also viewed

Llafranc, Palafrugell
Llafranc, Palafrugell
 
Palafrugell, Costa Brava
 

Been to RESTAURANTE LEON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing