We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommendable!”
Review of Hotel Terramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Terramar
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Llafranc
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Highly recommendable!”
Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

The hotel actually deserves all 5 points but lack of room information drags it down with a point.

Perfect located, across the street and you're on the beach, a beautiful beach..way nicer than Calella de Palafrugell which is possible to visit by feet. The city of Llafranc itself is small but has everything you need..a small paradise in Spain if you are looking for relaxation! Although touristed it never gets overcrowded.

The hotel itself is very nice, simple in the most positive way! Staff is nice! Restaurant great with a daily menu worth taking on, as it includes wan entire bottle of wine as wells as water. Great service and great prices!

The hotel rooms are very clean and WiFi often works well (a few times out of order during our stay).

Only negative experience we had with the hotel was the room itself. We booked over the phone and was promised a nice room with seaview and terrace, the cost would be the full rate for this type of room = 150 EUR. We booked the room for 4 nights. The room was rather small and the bed had the size of a french doublebed, so quite small (my feet were sticking out) and what you nowadays would find in rooms for single use. During our stay we noticed that most of the other rooms with and without seaview were significantly larger. We knew the hotel was fully booked so we did not complain nor request another room. We then decided to stay an extra night and had to move to another room, they could offer us a room without seaview for 116 EUR which we accepted. This rooms was much larger and with normalsized beds, it even had a large balcony with partial seaview.

We notified at the reception that we found our room with seaview and the bed rather small, in fact they knew that this room was one of the smallest in the hotel, we complained that it was not fair to let people pay a full price for a significantly smaller room and bed or at least they could have the courtesy to inform their guests in advance so they could have the choice to choose from this small room with seaview for 150 EUR or a normalsized room and bed without seaview for 116 EUR a night. Their reply was this is the price for all rooms with seaview no matter the size of ours.

If you are going as a couple and prefer to book a room with seaview, avoid room number 204!! This is a single room only and is not worth the full price.

Despite this we had a great stay and are giving the hotel almost full rating nevertheless.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Glam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    115
    31
    5
    1
See reviews for
46
170
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This is my 3rd stay at the hotel and I'm back there again next week. Stayed for a week last week and looking forward to my return. The staff are really friendly and very accommodating. It may be a 3 star hotel but the service is as good as it gets. Rooms are good and cleaned very well on a daily basis. The breakfast caters for all tastes from the very health conscious to the not so!. Haven't eaten here in the evening but am told it's good (only because we ate out with friends staying in the area)
The hotel is in an ideal location as the beach is directly opposite. This location would probably not be suited to those seeking wild night life, but it can offer a great opportunity to do very little and just chill.

Room Tip: When booking you have a choice of sea view or not. Prices will vary accordingly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Terramar, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.

We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel, and that you could also enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Yours sincerely

Customer Service Department

HOTEL TERRAMAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Fantastic hotel for a relaxing beach break. Friendly staff, amazeballs breakfast and right on the beach.

We didn't have a sea view room but the communual balcony gave us the opportunity our own balcony would have anyway. I would definitely recommend this place if you wanted a more upmarket beach holiday.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view, go for a room on the first floor as higher rooms have trees obscuring the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoolieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This hotel was wonderful. Opposite the lovely beach with great outside eating area overlooking the sea as well as having a great indoor restaurant. All the staff were friendly, efficient and keen to help. We would certainly return here.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view which was fabulous so don't know what the other rooms were like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molero12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Terramar, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.

We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel, and that you could also enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Yours sincerely

Customer Service Department

HOTEL TERRAMAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed at the Terramar hotel in May. This was our third visit and we enjoyed it very much even though the weather was not great. Our spacious room was on the first floor overlooking the sea and was spotlessly clean as always. We think rooms on the first floor give a better view of the beach and sea than the ones higher up due to the trees in front. As previously mentioned we enjoy our bath!.
Breakfast costs 12 euros and is absolutely superb. The choice is extensive with something to please everyone including a glass of Cava if you fancy it. Normally we have lunch at the terrace across the road but this was unavailable due to the inclement weather. The day we left it was open again under bright and sunny skies.
Dinner is always a pleasure here and we were not disappointed. The 20 euro menu del dia with a glass of Cava and wine included is such good value. However the Tapas menu which is a new feature here is also recommended along with an extensive a la carte menu. This restaurant is also popular with non residents which speaks for itself.
One of the delights here are the walks along the coastal paths. Katy one of the receptionists recommended the walk to El Golfet which is a truly stunning experience and should not be missed. I would suggest a beer at the Hotel Sant Roc on the way back to enjoy the view. The walk the other way leads to Tamariu which is a pretty little village but the trek is much more demanding.
The beach at Llafranc is one of its main attractions and there are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby.Boat trips are available when there are more tourists around. However we prefer the quiet times and have booked a week at the end of the season. Our son is getting married in Llafranc at the same time so it will be very special for us. Finally our thanks to the caring and helpful staff who always make our stays such a pleasure.

Room Tip: Sea view on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnny089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

we stayed in this hotel for two weeks in June this year. what a treat! could not fault it. hotel stylish and tasteful. staff v friendly and helpful. spotlessly clean. virtually on the beach. How do they manage choice of 3 courses a bottle of good quality wine, bread and olives for €20? The resort is beautiful. no high rise , low key, sophisticated and peaceful, but some lovely restaurants and a couple of bars. Don't tell everyone though! We had a tear in our eye when we left and look forward to our retirn visit.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Terramar, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.

We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel, and that you could also enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Yours sincerely,

Customer Service Department

HOTEL TERRAMAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel 22.5.12 - 29.5.12 and because I couldn't book reasonably priced taxi transfers from Gerona Airport to Llafranc I booked with Thomson Holidays. On arrival we were allocated a bedroom with a wonderful view of a steel fire escape. Luckily because it was early in the holiday season, we were able to upgrade to a very nice room on the first floor overlooking the sea at an additional cost to ourselves of 35 euros per night. Staff, rooms, food all excellent. We were informed by hotel management that they have 5 'Thomson' rooms available the one with the fire escape being the best and despite them offering Thomsons rooms with a balcony Thomson have not taken up this option. I would recommend this hotel - BUT DO NOT BOOK WITH THOMSON HOLIDAYS - you have been warned, Book direct with the hotel themselves, you would not be disappointed.
Diane H, Manchester

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Terramar, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.

We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel, and that you could also enjoy it's facilities. In reference to the comment about the room, booked through Thomson Holidays, we inform you that room was standard room and we offered you the possibility to spend your stay in superior room overlooking the sea.

Yours sincerely

Customer Service Department

HOTEL TERRAMAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llafranc
0.1 mi away
Hotel Llafranch
Hotel Llafranch
#5 of 6 in Llafranc
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Llevant
Hotel Llevant
#4 of 6 in Llafranc
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
247 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
565 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#2 of 14 in Begur
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terramar

Property: Hotel Terramar
Address: Passeig Cypsela 1, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Llafranc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Llafranc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terramar 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Terramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terramar Hotel Llafranc
Hotel Terramar Llafranc, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing