We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all in the balcony”
Review of Hotel Terramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Terramar
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Llafranc
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's all in the balcony”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed in Hotel Terramar for three nights. Llafranc is our all-time favourite beach holiday destination and this was our 9th annual visit. Usually we rent an apartment, but that was not feasible for a 3-night stay.

So we opted for the next best option: a hotel room on the beachfront with a balcony. The other well-known hotels in the front row have a limited number of seafacing rooms. We went to Hotel Terramar and were not disapppointed. The hotel is fairly basic, but everything works as it should. The rooms and bathrooms are immaculately clean. Our bathroom was big enough. The room is small, but then you have the balcony...

The staff was very friendly. We asked for a beach umbrella, and although they do not have umbrellas for guest use, some guests buy umbrellas and then leave them behind. So we could make use of one for the 3 days. The reception desk also made a reservation for us at a nearby restaurant.

We opted to have breakfast at the Croissanterie on the little square (the quality is unbeatable), but the hotel breakfast also looked good.

Great value for money and an unbeatable holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidTravelAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    115
    31
    5
    1
See reviews for
46
170
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Spotless place, literally 2 steps from the beach, great food & choice, sound of the sea at night something priceless, definitely a place to come back, all the staff are very very efficient , specially the short hair lady with glasses that cleaned our room and took care of us in a wonderful loving way and Adrian in reception for all his help and wonderful smile!
Llafranc is a beautiful spot , we highly recomend

Room Tip: at night at the weekend the hotel terrace could be a bit noisy with people but after a night you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpaniardIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We loved being here in LLafranc! We were shocked by the noise on the first night - Saturday! However we became accustomed to it..... the room we had on the seaside stunk of stale smoke & cigarettes - so avoid no. 205. The room was tiny, a shoebox, far to narrow, like being in a cabin!! Despite this we had friends staying in Llafranc which was wonderful & so out on the boat & swimming made up for this wee problem. We also sampled many of the restaurants which were fantastic! A day at Dali's Figueres museum is well worthwhile!

Room Tip: sea view was limited by the pines on the second floor. Room 205 very small & cabin/cave like &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleighbells48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We adore LlaFranc and return every year. We are welcomed like "family" by the all the staff at the Terramar. Location is wonderful, opposite the beach and right in the centre of LlaFranc. Rooms are spotless and a balcony sea view is worth the extra.
The food is superb...try the tapas lunch .....bliss !
We are normally there in late May/June, LlaFranc is fairly quiet during the week then, weekends are always busy.
Love it and cant wait for next year,
Thanks to all at the Terramar xxx

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morv&peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London N1, ,
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Our room was on the first floor overlooking the beach - it was wonderful and the noise from late nighters didn't bother us at all. The staff were great and it was all spotlessly clean - our room looked like a new room every day. The 20 euro three course evening (including bread,wine and water) was perfect and very good value - nothing is cheap in Llafranc! The 10 euro breakfasts were yummy - eat as much as you like - and we did! We used their parking facility which is a little way away - about 5! Everything is very relaxed - no need to dress up which for us is a blessing.I have just read Glam B's review ... and we were in room 204! It wasn't big but it was fine for the amount of time we spent in it - I didn't see any others so I had no cause to grumble (I probably would have had I known!!)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinLondonN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Three blissful nights.
I knew that our room would not have a sea view, but as it was on the third floor at the end of the building, the room felt private, spacious and as the balcony adjoined the sun terrace (flat roof with attractive beds for sun worshippers) we only needed to hop over the balustrade to see a wonderful view! The room was attractively furnished in simple plain whites with modern art. The facilities all worked perfectly (we watched of the Olympic opening ceremony from the tv which actually worked!) The bed was comfortable and the linens of good quality. Everything was scrupulously clean. Like others... I find it hard to find anything to criticise the Hotel for. ALL the staff were fantastic, striking the perfect balance between being unobtrusive, friendly, accommodating and knowing how to help before you have even asked!

I noticed that some guests had beach towels provided by the hotel which i would have liked to ask about, particularly for those of us limited to the Ryanair luggage allowance! Parasols are also issued if you ask.

The breakfasts were plentiful and with a wide variety, hours could have been spent over them. Even offering Cava from an ice bucket! We rate in other restaurants in the evenings for variety but needn't have. The hotel chef is clearly a good one! The meal we had was superb. Fresh fish, vegetable cocked to perfection. Generous and excellent value. Free drinks with the daily menu.
The location is perfect, right across the road from the beach. Llafranc's roads are not busy so we chose to sit next to the pavement (with a direct view of the sea), for breakfast was relaxing and enjoyable before our quick change into beach wear.
We loved our stay, and like many others we want to return. and we will!! I just with i hadn't told you all this... you're in on the secret so don't tell any one!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DizzyandTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNA P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Terramar, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Sirs,

The customer service department wants to thank you for your opinion and assessment about the hotel, with helpful information for us.

We are glad that you felt comfortable in our hotel, and that you could also enjoy its facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar, and thank you for valuing the work of our professionals.

Your critique regarding our hotel is lovely. Asdescription of your experience is really nice.

We keep your secret in Llafranc for your next visit!

Yours sincerely
Customer Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

The hotel actually deserves all 5 points but lack of room information drags it down with a point.

Perfect located, across the street and you're on the beach, a beautiful beach..way nicer than Calella de Palafrugell which is possible to visit by feet. The city of Llafranc itself is small but has everything you need..a small paradise in Spain if you are looking for relaxation! Although touristed it never gets overcrowded.

The hotel itself is very nice, simple in the most positive way! Staff is nice! Restaurant great with a daily menu worth taking on, as it includes wan entire bottle of wine as wells as water. Great service and great prices!

The hotel rooms are very clean and WiFi often works well (a few times out of order during our stay).

Only negative experience we had with the hotel was the room itself. We booked over the phone and was promised a nice room with seaview and terrace, the cost would be the full rate for this type of room = 150 EUR. We booked the room for 4 nights. The room was rather small and the bed had the size of a french doublebed, so quite small (my feet were sticking out) and what you nowadays would find in rooms for single use. During our stay we noticed that most of the other rooms with and without seaview were significantly larger. We knew the hotel was fully booked so we did not complain nor request another room. We then decided to stay an extra night and had to move to another room, they could offer us a room without seaview for 116 EUR which we accepted. This rooms was much larger and with normalsized beds, it even had a large balcony with partial seaview.

We notified at the reception that we found our room with seaview and the bed rather small, in fact they knew that this room was one of the smallest in the hotel, we complained that it was not fair to let people pay a full price for a significantly smaller room and bed or at least they could have the courtesy to inform their guests in advance so they could have the choice to choose from this small room with seaview for 150 EUR or a normalsized room and bed without seaview for 116 EUR a night. Their reply was this is the price for all rooms with seaview no matter the size of ours.

If you are going as a couple and prefer to book a room with seaview, avoid room number 204!! This is a single room only and is not worth the full price.

Despite this we had a great stay and are giving the hotel almost full rating nevertheless.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Glam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llafranc
0.1 mi away
Hotel Llafranch
Hotel Llafranch
#5 of 6 in Llafranc
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Llevant
Hotel Llevant
#4 of 6 in Llafranc
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
247 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
565 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#2 of 14 in Begur
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terramar

Property: Hotel Terramar
Address: Passeig Cypsela 1, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Llafranc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Llafranc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terramar 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Terramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terramar Hotel Llafranc
Hotel Terramar Llafranc, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing