We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and friendly service”
Review of Hotel Terramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Terramar
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Llafranc
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed three nights after running up short on our first priorities in the Begur area. Not all rooms in Terramar are nice, but we ended up in a room in 4.th floor with beautiful view and large doors out to our balcony. High standard all around. A bit expensive - however very high season and the room was large. Tasty breakfast and friendly and helpful receptionists - really did what they could to guide us to the more off-track beaches in the area. The pasta restaurant out front needs a lesson in al-dente but really has the hang on the pizzas.

Room Tip: You do not want a small room facing to the back street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sveinung H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great location. Great service. We have two children age 7 and 8 and it was ideal. The staff are friendly and efficient. The evening meal is good value and the breakfast is great. Fantastic location on the beach and Llafranc is a great place for a holiday. The cleaner lined our children's various dolls up in their bed just like we would at home. A nice touch and it sums up the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkshirefolk98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Terramar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.

We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel, and that you could also enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Wishing to you greet again, you receive a very warm greeting.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

It's obvious from our stay that this hotel has a loyal following of repeat (British, it seems) guests, and to some extent the effusive reviews reflect this. The stars of the place are the reception staff, particularly Adrian and Marina who could not be more polite, helpful and obliging, and go out of their way to help with any matter. The location is great, right on the seafront and our balcony looked out over the bay and town (even if the pine trees obscure the beach view). It was nice to sit out there. The room was plenty big enough for a family of four - plain, clean and simple which is how I like it (not fussy, cluttered and chintzy). The breakfasts are charged separately and are fabulous - excellent choice and quality and with waiting staff who seemed to care. In stark contrast is the Restaurant Terramar (in the same room) in the evening. I don't understand the rave reviews for this place - service was indifferent; even if you come more than once the same waiter couldn't be bothered to acknowledge this. The set menu sounds great but is indifferent in quality and dull in presentation. Boring. The farce of the returned chocolate fondant: it arrived stone cold, was sent back only to re-appear cold and crushed! It was outrageous - and occurred in sight of someone of influence in the hotel who took no interest at all. The a la carte is a little more expansive, the beef wellington being actually good value and tasty. I come back to the service and am getting fed up with indifferent service in these sorts of places at peak holiday time. Lastly, the wi-fi is a bit iffy, but seemed to work best early and late. Price wise it worked out at GBP60 bed and breakfast per person; evening meals were about GBP20 to GBP25 for 2/3 courses. So all in all, I would say b&b is fine; forget the evening meals.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valueseeker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We've just got back from a stay at the Hotel Terramar and loved it - it was just what we wanted, a quiet, sleepy resort for lots of rest and relaxation. We did feel a bit adventurous on our second day and decided to walk to 'nearby' resort Tamariu. Three hours later and we made it after getting lost in the woods (twice), puffing and panting up massively steep hills and eventually walking along a busy A road! The walk the other way, to Calella, is much more pedestrian friendly and relaxing so do this one instead!
The hotel itself is clean, comfortable and smart, The staff are incredibly friendly and the location is spot on - we had a view of the sea from our room. We were also pleased to discover the little communal roof terrace - it's a bit sparse but does the job if you want a break from the sometimes busy beach.
The resort is very quiet however so you will be disappointed if you are looking for lots to do. We weren't, so we loved it. Next time, I think I would hire a car and explore the area - the roads were also very quiet so seemed manageable for first time drivers in Spain like we would have been.
On the last night we ate in the restaurant which was absolutely lovely, the food was great and good value too. We didn't have breakfast so can't say what that's like but we did have a coffee on the terrace by the sea which was very nice indeed!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizPaulLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Terramar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.

We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel, and that you could also enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Wishing to you greet again, you receive a very warm greeting.

Yours sincerely

Customer Service Department
HOTEL TERRAMAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Well worth a visit. Lovely location with super view over the seafront, beach and sea. Good overall menu with a wide choice so there should be something for everyone. If not, then the adjoining pizza and pasta bar are worth a look too. The staff are attentive and friendly without being overbearing. When the food arrives you will not be disappointed. Well executed traditional Catalonian cuisine.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Initially allocated a room at the back of the hotel, James and Marina assisted us in our request for a sea-facing room despite the hotel being quite full. It was lovely falling asleep and waking to the sounds of the waves on the beach.

The bedroom was immaculate, the bathroom spotless. It would have been preferable to have a double bed but this is often not the case on the continent. No matter, this is a minor comment.

We were more than happy to choose to eat at the Terrassa Terramar on our first evening, having meandered along the length of the beachfront. The food was delightful - we both had Beef Wellington, and a bottle of the red wine served at the Oscar's ceremony earlier this year. The service was equally enjoyable and the experience as a whole, from the moment unexpected glasses of cava were brought to the table, was a thoroughly pleasurable one.

The hotel excel at the finer points - it may be three-star in name, but the attention to detail and the service lift it above that level. The flat roof has been turned into a suntrap with plenty of loungers - we enjoyed the mid-evening sunshine - and the hotel is happy to look after baggage if you are leaving the town late on your day of departure.

There is no parking at the hotel but we were directed to a quiet road only a couple of hundred metres away where the car sat safely for the duration of our stay.

Offering great value for money and a wonderful location, we will happily stay there again when next we visit Llafranc.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must. 206 has a double terrace. As mentioned elsewhere, first floor (rooms 1xx) will o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunneybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Terramar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.

We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel, and that you could also enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Yours sincerely

Customer Service Department
HOTEL TERRAMAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I agree with all the superlatives that are mentioned about the Hotel Terramar. Staff, food(all meals), pricing, ambience with the sea, and even the ability to bring your own wine from a visit to a local winery to dinner. All combined make this the preferable choice in Llafranc. IF a room in another hotel at a similar price is appointed better(and that would be arguable) the Terramar's other superlatives would still make it the better choice.

Room Tip: 102 or 104 if solo for the sea and least cost, 107 and up if a couple. I prefer the lower rooms, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ted b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Terramar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.
We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel, and that you could also enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Yours sincerely

Customer Service Department
HOTEL TERRAMAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llafranc
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Llafranch
Hotel Llafranch
#5 of 6 in Llafranc
182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Llevant
Hotel Llevant
#4 of 6 in Llafranc
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#4 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
310 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
339 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terramar

Address: Passeig Cypsela 1, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Llafranc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Llafranc
Price Range: £53 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terramar 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Terramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terramar Hotel Llafranc
Hotel Terramar Llafranc, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing