We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay at the Terramar!”
Review of Hotel Terramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Terramar
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Llafranc
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have just returned from another stay at the lovely hotel Terramar. The rooms are spotless and beautifully cool when you return from the beach or an outing. Another review comments on poor wi fi - but I was able to use the hotel's wi fi whilst on the beach! The breakfast is second to none and worth the €12 if you eat plenty as then lunch isn't needed. If you breakfast late you can add cava to the freshly squeezed orange juice. The set evening meal is very good value as it includes 3 courses wine bread and bottled water - good at €22. We will return In another year or so as we love the place!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Hotel Terramar is in an excellent location with friendly, helpful staff and so is bound to be full almost no matter what the hotel management decides to do / or not to bother doing.

The down sides. 1. Wifi is rubbish at distances away from reception. I was advised that if I wanted a good connection I should sit in the reception! 2. Room 307 has air conditioning that makes lots of noise but after one hour (according to its own thermostat) has heated the room not cooled it. 3. In August the restaurant set menu is advertised to guests staying in the hotel but is only available if one sits indoors in the restaurant (in August!!!!). The outside a la carte menu is, of course, much more expensive and, presumably, much more profitable for the hotel. OK, so the management doesn't have to try and the hotel will still be full but it would be nice if you felt that the management cared about the guests. The staff, however, were great.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PR_oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Terramar is located in an ideal spot in Llafranc, just over the road from the beach. If arriving by car you need to drive right up to the reception and unload before finding a parking space a few minutes walk away because there are not any car parks nearby.
We were given a first floor room at the side of the hotel which had a balcony and was quite pleasant. However we had a fairly sleepless Saturday night because of late night and early morning noise from outside. We raised this with the receptionist and to be fair she was very quick to find us a quiet room on the third floor.
On the first night we tried the hotel restaurant's set dinner menu. Oh dear, bad choice. I had an Escalope Milanese dish which had far too much cheese on and the vegetables, fried in batter were greasy and cold. The waiters did not ask us if the meal was alright and they did not seem bothered when I left most of my main course. However my wife had a fish dish which was actually quite good so I can understand the mixed reviews. This put us off trying the restaurant breakfast.
What I did like about the hotel was the friendliness of the hotel staff especially Marianne, who were genuinely keen to ensure we had a good stay. All the rooms have a fridge so you can keep your beer or wine (and water) chilled :) There are sun loungers on the third floor roof and you can borrow deck chairs and parasols to take to the beach.
The negatives are: lack of nearby parking, no pool and the restaurant meals are disappointing.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and I would cautiously recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 114 is noisy at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimonNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Terramar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Sirs,

We contact with you from the customer service department to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it is very helpful for us.

We are glad that you felt comfortable in our hotel, and you could enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We would like to add our voices to those puzzled by the two recent poor reviews of this hotel. We have just returned from a week at this hotel and found it to be one of the best we have stayed at. Our room was clean and well serviced, the corridors brightly lit, and the staff immediately responsive to any problem or question. The breakfast was delightful with a large selection of food (even scrambled egg and bacon for the British). The dinner menu was extensive and the set menu exceedingly good value for money. The hotel is in a great location at the back of a lovely beach. We know the area well but had never actually stayed in Llafranc before, we will definitely be back.

Yes, you do have to pay for parking, but that is pretty normal in Spanish hotels. Especially those in resorts where space is limited.

If the management are reading this we must apologize for forgetting to hand in the guest review form that we were given. We did complete it but left it in the room on departure, hopefully the maid found it and handed it in. If not, please know that, for us, your hotel scored 10 on every subject.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles_Clore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Terramar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Sirs,

We contact with you from the customer service department to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it is very helpful for us.

We are glad that you felt comfortable in our hotel, and you could enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The room was nice and the service was friendly. The best part about this hotel, however, is the location: the beach was just a few steps away from the front door! Even the design of the hotel was nicer than some of the other properties in the area: a restaurant in the front and an outdoor terrace bar/restaurant between the hotel and beach. I did a lot of research on which towns and hotels we should choose in Costa Brava, and we are so glad we chose Llafranc and the Terramar; we went to the other towns and beaches, and they were OK but Llafranc definitely seemed more upscale and cleaner and more picturesque. And you can't beat the views!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank cja2k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Terramar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Sirs,

We contact with you from the customer service department to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it is very helpful for us.

We are glad that you felt comfortable in our hotel, and you could enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I'm confused at the good reviews of this hotel because my stay was not a pleasant one!
I'll begin with check in....very slow. They initially couldn't find our name, which made me think something had gone wrong with our booking and they didn't have a room. Then we were told we didn't have breakfast included (which we had actually already paid for) Why don't you check the booking before just checking us in!?

When we booked we requested a quiet room (I'm a light sleeper so like rooms away from elevators or stairs) they allocated us a room beside a stairwell and garage which was used by staff all hours...slamming doors and taking rubbish out. I couldn't sleep.....we asked to move and they gave us the room next door. This one was okay but still noisy...it was below the roof terrace so lots of noise would generate down into the room in the evenings. There seems to be little or no soundproofing in rooms.
My boyfriend and I were travelling with my brother and we had asked for rooms close together. They allocated us rooms on different floors and no where near each other!

Rooms are very basic, which is fine but they are not so comfortable. Beds are too short. I am only 170cm tall and my feet hung over the edge!
All rooms have doors that when you turn the handle the lock stays out so you just have to slam it to shut...which means doors constantly slamming.

The only positive things about this hotel for me are the location and also the lovely breakfast.
Rooms need an update and also some sound proofing!!!

I really enjoyed Llafranc but staying at this hotel was a huge disappointment at the end of my Spanish holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pinkpeonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had a room facing to the sea. Can hear the wave all the time but it's quite quiet when shut the window. It's very clean and staff are helpful. Happy stay. The restaurant is very good too. Free Wifi in the room. I think we will stay here again when we are back to Llafranc. A reminder to travellers: the shampoo and conditioner are not very good quality (useful though) so you may need to bring your own ones.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeciliaRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Terramar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Sirs,

We contact with you from the customer service department to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it is very helpful for us.

We are glad that you felt comfortable in our hotel, and you could enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llafranc
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
392 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Llevant
Hotel Llevant
#4 of 6 in Llafranc
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Llafranch
Hotel Llafranch
#5 of 6 in Llafranc
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
340 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Hostalillo
Hotel Hostalillo
#1 of 4 in Tamariu
472 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#4 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terramar

Address: Passeig Cypsela 1, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Llafranc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Llafranc
Price Range: £76 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terramar 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Terramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terramar Hotel Llafranc
Hotel Terramar Llafranc, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing