We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“went downhill big time”
Review of H.TOP Royal Sun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H.TOP Royal Sun
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“went downhill big time”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

had been going to this hotel since 2006.at start this hotel was fantastic,but has been going downhill incredably fast for a 4* hotel. in the beginning when first went to this hotel could not fault this hotel it was incredible and value for money.drinks were branded, beer still okay never changed apart from the crazy card system they have introduced over the last three years which is to save money on waiter service which you yous to get at this hotel now all you do is stand in cues all day long and if theres no cue the barman are not there its as if there told to go and hide.outside bar which used to be open until 11 o'clock now closes something like 5 o'clock in the daytime so you have to go into main hall to stand in cue then go back outside to find someone else sitting in your seats rant over about drink.now restuarant food now diabolacle fish severed now served is still frozen with ice on it meat selection very poor repetative everyday as for desserts none existant anymore all you get is cake or watermelon which in any form of 4* star is very poor, then you get told they have over spent too much money in the first couple of months in the season and have to make cutbacks but dont know how this is possible when from first going in 2006 the price for hotel has actualy had a 100 percent increase in price for this hotel which in my book is unacceptable. now onto entertainment its absolutely pathetic still same old shows since started going now most nights nothing at all as for for rooms very old now some have wallpaper ripped of and never been fixed tvs dont work used to get fridge in your room now have to pay for.its now time to wake up HTOP HOTELS get back to your old standards the only good thing yous have left in this hotel are staff going from manager,desk ,restuarant, bar and cleaners were great.So loved this hotel Now get this hotel back to number 1 yes no 1 where it belongs as of positioning fantastic.didnt go this year because standards are now so poor.

Room Tip: try to get a room with beach or shop wiew if not you dont get sun on your balcony for very long
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gordon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Mr Gordon,

We do apologize if you have not enjoyed your visit as you did in past years. We would like to inform you that we have changed part of our all inclusive system; from this season on we have changed the all inclusive brands for our clients staying in 4 star hotels. The liquor brands have been changed to well known ones, like Bacardi, Ballentines, etc. Also, right now we are installing new lifts as we have perceived that they were causing some problems to our clients.
We thank you for your nice comments concerning our staff.
We do hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    356
    226
    140
    97
See reviews for
431
342
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southern england
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I’m just back from a week at this hotel. I was moved to this hotel after it was decided to close the Planamar early -again.

This hotel is situated right on the beach, with the railway line running between the hotel and the resort. Access is via an underpass. Walking time to train station is 15 minutes to SS and 30 minutes to malgrat. There is a local bus service that runs between the stations, and also a ticu-ticu train that goes round the resorts.

There are a few pubs in the surrounding area, the Ship almost next door owned by the same family that owns the Eureka and Black Bull in Malgrat and others on the other side of the railway.

Reception staff were efficient. There are internet pcs in the foyer and a tv lounge.

The room was very clean. The TV had lousy reception in my room but the toilet and a/c worked fine. Hairdryer in the rooms.
The rooms and hotel in general were all kept very clean, with maids working all hours. One of the best features of this hotel is the patio which is right on the beach, but if you were visiting from another HTOP hotel you could not use this bar and had to use the main bar inside!

The food was the usual variety for an AI hotel and ok.

The bar was fine with the usual daily cocktail. Shame the barman always seemed so miserable

.Would I go back, no- as it is in the wrong location for what I want from my holiday.

Would I recommend it to others, yes. It is a good hotel, in a great location, for a beach holiday

Room Tip: get a room with a sea view on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jimd-f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear jimd,

Thank you very much for staying, once again, in one of the H Top Hotels. We are deeply grateful for your positive comments regarding our services; we will pass your comments to our staff. We apologize for the early closure of the H Top Planamar, although we are happy to understand that the solution proposed did solve any kind of discontent.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

we have used this hotel 3 times the first time was great the second was not so and the third was a let down.
in order 1st time food hotel and drink was plenty full-.
the 2nd you could only have 2 drinks at a time with 2 drinks cards you must hand over when asking for a drink when you take your glass back you get your get you drinks card back so you can not be stupid with your drinks .also it help the staff as they don't have to collect glasses. don't take your glass back then you cannot re order as no card .
the third time same process with drinks ,difference is only 2!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! drinks per hour yes 2 well if you are like me then i could easy do 2 drinks in 20 minutes as they are small only about 150 ml as ice takes all the room up and cheep booze takes allot to even get happy or merry also food gone down .try another hotel plenty to choose from i know i have been to almost every hotel around there .good luck

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gawenedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear client,

We thank you for your visit, and we apologize if you did not enjoy your last visit due to our rules regarding the all inclusive procedures. As you know, the H Top Royal Sun is mostly a family resort, and we have to establish some rules in order to prevent any inapropiate behaviour. There is not any "2 drinks per hour" rule, but there is a rule that limits the number of drinks that you can order at once.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Susanna hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I have never had a bad holiday at this hotel. The staff are amazing from reception to maids and bar/restaurant staff. The whole place is immaculate. Do not blame the hotel for restrictions on coaches etc. - blame your travel agent or your bad knowledge of the area!!
RANT OVER !!!

You get what you pay for.
The food is ok but can be a same same.
The drinks are not as strong as at home but this stops any lager louts (Thank goodness).
Some reviews have criticized the staff friendliest Try being nice to them!!!
We arrived at 2320 at night and the staff were great. They wavered our cards until we had something to eat.
The position on the beach is unbeatable. The fact that you need to drag your case across the sand is a clue.
The rooms are quite adequate and clean. I have heard people ask why the sheets are not changed every day. (DO YOU CHANGE THEM EVERY DAY?)
My mother is now 75 and has many disabilities. The staff are amazing with her and try to give me a break as much as they can.
I am still in contact with a few staff and am gutted that most have been paid off for winter. If I had the money I would reopen for regulars. At least we know how to enjoy a relaxing time


LOVE TO ALL THE STAFF FOR LOOKING AFTER US

SEE YOU IN THE SPRING XXXX

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alistair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Alistair,

We can only thank you again for your nice comments and especially for your support and loyalty. We hope to see you and Miss Helen very soon, and we take this opportunity to wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

My husband, step-son and I thought we would book a lovely hotel for the half term. We originally booked the H Top Planamar but got rang up several days before our holiday to say that we were getting moved to the Royal Sun. We thought we would go with an open mind after reading the reviews!

When we originally booked our holiday, we paid £30 for a4x person room rather than a3x person room. When we went to check in, the receptionist (male in his 50's with glasses) was so rude. He told us that we only had a 3 x person room booked and we should take it up with the travel company we booked with. It clearly stated in the booking (all documentation with us) that a 4 x person room was booked. It probably seems quite weird why I am going on about this but the room was so small that all the hotel do in order to make a 3 x person room is dump another bed in the room and that's it, which is fine if you don't mind having to climb over each other to get out of the bed as they are all pushed up against walls!

There is no water you can take to your room (went to ask for some at the bar - told no and that there is a vending machine outside). The vending machine had no water left so we had no water overnight (as we only arrived at 21:30).

The food is basic but edible.

The two swimming pools only have sun until 12:30 and then it's shaded for the rest of the day! It's not heated and is so cold that no- one in the whole hotel was going in it. It would be a good idea to utilise the space by the beach to put a pool in as it would get the sun all day.

The most positive thing was the room cleaners that did a great job.

Finally, I really wish that the hotel would take the comments made by travellers on here as constructive criticism, as intended. It feels to me like most comments are taken personally.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wizz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear client,

We are very sorry if you felt dissapointed, but we think that your disappointment was caused by some wrong information provided by your agency or by some misunderstanding: we do not offer prices depending on the room’s size, but depending on the number of clients (there are not standard rooms, junior suites, and suites as in other resorts). The hotel Planamar do not offer neither different kind of rooms based on size, only in number of clients. So your room was exactly what you booked, and we did not charge any supplement for that concept. We apologize for having to change your booking from the Planamar to the Royal Sun; on the positive side the Royal Sun in offers more facilities than the Planamar.
The pools have been used until the 20th of October; after that date the weather got colder for a few days, but at the end of October some of our clients were using the pools again as the weather was very warm. The clients have been even using the beach loungers and umbrellas until the last week of October (which is quite unusual).
We appreciate every constructive review, as it is yours, and we consider that they are a very positive tool in order to improve our services. In your case, we will contact your agency to make sure that they are offering the right prices and discounts to our clients, so we would avoid any other misunderstanding like in this case.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Booked this trip through On the beach and was a really good break. Santa Susannah itself is very pretty, good amenities even for mid-late October. Was still hot weather for this time of year also.
The hotel was clean, the food wasn't too bad for a few days with slight variances but I couldn't have stuck it for too long, although it could've been as it was end of season. Always plenty out though.
Pools were clean, beach couldn't be any closer and plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. Train service to Barcelona was good and straightforward.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alipreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear client,

We thank you for the review and we are happy knowing that you had a nice experience in the Royal Sun hotel, and that you did like Santa Susanna. We consider October to be a perfect time to visit Santa Susanna; the weather is usually very nice and you can even enjoy the beach. We hope to see you again in the very next future; please contact our booking department so we can make sure that you can get a nice room and your experience is as nice as the first one.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here for 8 nights from 25.10.13- 2.11.13. The hotel is spotless, nothing out of place, very clean in all public areas. The maid on our Floor 4 was excellent, very friendly and kept the rooms very nice.

There were 24 in our group aged from 10 up to 76 and we found that the food was plenty and varied and that there was something for everyone. The views are to die for over the pool and beach, watching the sun rise in the morning was wonderful.

The staff on reception couldnt be more friendly and approachable. The staff in the restaurant, all smiled, especially the bar man. Shame this couldnt be said for the main bar, where a little man had a really bad attitude towards the English. However if you were spanish no problems then.

The hotel is directly on the beach and we made full use of this.

Would I go again? Yes I would, lovely setting, lovely hotel, just shame about the bar man in the main area, but every other member of staff was brill.

Room Tip: High floor facing pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitchikoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear clent,

We thank you for your review and especially for your visit; we are very happy knowing that a large group like yours did enjoy their stay with us. We appreciate your comments concerning all the positive points, and we will try to make sure that on your next visit you do not find any trouble at all.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Susanna
0.2 mi away
HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior
HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior
#20 of 21 in Santa Susanna
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
H.TOP Summer Sun
H.TOP Summer Sun
#21 of 21 in Santa Susanna
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#10 of 21 in Santa Susanna
816 reviews
7.0 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#67 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Royal Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Royal Sun

Property: H.TOP Royal Sun
Address: Passeig Maritim S/N, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Royal Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star H•TOP Royal Sun hotel sits on the seafront promenade in the peaceful tourist village of Santa Susanna in Costa del Maresme-Barcelona, overlooking a beautiful beach. Positioned really close to the train station, bars, restaurants and shops, it is perfect for singles, couples and families. The 217-room offer a wonderful sea view and many onsite facilities, such as a Beach Restaurant only for clients and discounts in the Sand Beach Club situated just in front. It is situated 70 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 30 Km from Girona Airport. Santa Susanna is a family tourist destination with an impressive long sand beach and a selection of shops, bars and restaurants. Santa Susanna sits between the popular beach villages of Calella & Lloret de Mar, with an easy access by train to Barcelona city center. Clients from H•TOP Royal Sun have an exclusive burger-bar by the beach and can visit Sand Beach Club which offers sun beds and parasols with special rates for clients with All-Inclusive service. FACILITIES Rooms • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pools ( one for adults and one for children; unsupervised pools ) • Sun terraces Children • Playground • Baby cots and chairs Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Currency exchange • Car hire* • Fax & copy service • Medical service • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room)* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage (coin lockers) • Showers for check-out • Lifts • Bikes & quadricycles* • Discounts Sand Beach Club *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your H.TOP Royal Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Htop Royal Sun Hotel Santa Susana
H.TOP Royal Sun Spain/Santa Susanna
Htop Royal Sun Santa Susana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing