We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
CheapTickets
StayForLong
Expedia.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,349)
Filter reviews
1,349 results
Traveller rating
257
440
296
188
168
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
257
440
296
188
168
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
648 - 653 of 1,349 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This Hotel looked like a great place to spend our honeymoon. It was situated right on the beach. Price was right and we thought great! We went for the all inclusive thinking that the food would be nothing very special as like most buffets. Well the food for the most part was just awful if it was bakery goods it was very stale and the lunch meats did not taste of meat. It was very disappointing to say the least. We ended up just having coffee in the mornings and going to other places to get lunch and dinners. Another problem was we booked our room to be a double come to find out their double rooms are two single beds pushed together! So a honeymoon with two single beds that were very uncomfortable you could not lay in the middle of both as it felt like a board was going through your back. The only up sides were the staff was very friendly the lobby, bar and outside areas were nice and clean. It is such a shame that the bedrooms and the food let them down as it could be a great place if they put a bit of money and effort into fixing these issues. I heard from a few people that frequent this hotel that the food this year has been an issue this year for them also.

Warning to anybody looking into Santa Susanna for a relaxing day on the beach at any hotel - You get hounded by people trying to sell you stuff and give massages its too much it should be policed and there is no lifeguard on that stretch of beach.

Room tip: Unless they fix the bed and food issues I would give them a miss.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelli E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at HTOP Royal Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Kelli E

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other visitors; we are sorry if you were expecting a room with a king size bed; we do not have any in this moment. We thank you also for your nice comments regarding our staff and the cleanliness of our hotel.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Hi we visited here for the day using the Htop free bus service. We used the facilities and ate here too! What we saw of the hotel was clean staff friendly location excellent! The hotel was right next to beach so views from the sitting area at front of hotel were amazing! Food was fab! All inclusive service was good also!

Date of stay: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Mandy3425
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at HTOP Royal Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Mandy,

We thank you for sharing your impressions with the rest of the T.A. community; we hope to see you staying at the Royal Sun very soon, we are sure that your first impressions will be confirmed.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Beautifully located hotel, right on the beach, all local amenities are easily accessible.
2 swimming pools, very clean.
The staff are friendly and happy to help.
Wide variety of food was available for breakfast, dinner and tea, in addition to this snacks were available between these times.
I highly recommend this hotel and will return again in the future.
Room 110 is unbeatable, I couldn't have asked for anything more, we were truly spoilt with its views and location.
We also met some lovely people who return each year , confirming my own opinion.

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at HTOP Royal Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Mr Conway,


We thank you for your fantastic review; we are especially happy for your comments regarding our staff. We are very glad knowing that you are planning to come again, we hope to see you and your family very soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival, we will try to do our best in order to prepare you a nice stay. Anna or Fernando from the front desk will be more than happy to help you.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

hotel rooms in need of update entrance to dinning room has been done and now wheelchair user can have use of dinning room, was told closeing this winter to be made in to five star hotel by next spring and have disabled rooms ,food just like last year chicken pork ever day if all inculsive becarefull food at pool bar you need to pay for only local drinks are free, well have to come back to see next year,

Room tip: book room with seaview or end up at back of hotel next to railway line last train at 23.00 first train 06.10
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adrianwalters01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at HTOP Royal Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Adrian,

We thank you for choosing us again to enjoy your holidays; we appreciate that you have noticed the improvements made last winter. We hope to see you again next year.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Two days before we were due to arrive the hotel changed due to the Caletta palace not being opened, after speaking to the manager he stated that the Caletta Palace was not open and they knew of this far in advance of us being informed the week prior to our holiday with them. (this in itself not being acceptable to acknowledge booking when they knew the hotel would not be open)

When we arrived all of the rooms were only fit for one double or 2 single beds to be comfortable, in respect to my booking 4 single beds were fitted into one room not allowing for the room to be manoeuvred either easily or safely. we asked the rooms to be changed and were told that they were full and as such this would not be possible.

The stated snack facility which was advertised was not open on arrival on the 5th of April and was not opened until the 8th with limited snacks available prior to this from the Bar (this was explained as it would only be opened when the hotel was at full occupancy even though this was not advertised in any literature)

The external bar area was the same as above and was only opened on the 12th of April even though this was not advertised in any literature.

The booking at the hotel was for 4 adults and 2 children on an all inclusive basis, when we arrived at the hotel we were informed there were 2 levels of all inclusive which severely limited the availability of snacks and drinks for our duration .. with this to be said on the 10th we upgraded all of ourselves at a extra cost to be at the higher level, to actually try and make the most of the holiday after everything else that had happened already.

On several days the hotel water was brown / black which prevented us from washing / showering, this was explained as they were undergoing maintenance work and nothing could be done about it.

To make you aware this is exactly what was explained to the manager at the time and he agreed with our complaint but stated we would need to complete a complaint form for any thing to be done. I have just heard back from them over 8 weeks from the time I submitted the complaint to the hotel and the response in simple terms bad luck.. no mention of apology or recompense at all.. I am shocked how a large hotel chain are so dismissive after the fact when they were so apologetic in person just to stop me making a fuss in the reception of the hotel..

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PortsmouthSteve2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at HTOP Royal Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

We are very sorry if your stay was not as enjoyable as we would desire. We did not have any information concerning the Caleta Palace situation, as we informed you personally that issue should be answered by your travel agency. We received the complaint from your agency and we answered straight away.
The Royal Sun did open on the 4th of April, but the external bar area was not opened until the 10th, due to the weather conditions. We provided the snack service in the bar until the 8th of April, as we had only a few all inclusive clients. Our all inclusive offer is quite wide, but if you desire some extra brands you we offer the Gols All Inlusive option; we apologize if you were not informed when you did your booking.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews