We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Goods and Bads”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of H.TOP Royal Sun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H.TOP Royal Sun
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Goods and Bads”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Food- Very Lovely selection at all meal times.
Drinks- Very good helpings, quality and selection.
Room- Very bad, had to be relocated the once because we were put in a room with a smashed headboard, new room slightly better.
Hotel in general - Stuck in the 40s, as in it was strangely outdated like it hadn't had any refurbishments for years, really dark and dismal indoors.
Location- Good right on the beach, harassed by looky lookies, resort itself I did not like.
Staff - Absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaE1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Victoria

We thank you for sharing your impressions with the rest of the travelers; we are glad that you enjoyed our food and our bar service, and we do appreciate your nice comments regarding our staff. We hope to improve our facilities before your next visit.

Best regards

H TOP ROYAL SUN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    337
    217
    135
    91
See reviews for
407
328
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great staff especially Louis at reception we needed somewhere to stay at short notice 3 ladies with no where to go he sorted rooms for us for a week and 4 days in barcelona in the h top bns city hotel he is excellent at his job and nothing is a problem we wish him well in his marriage.and thanks to the rest of the staff especially in the dining room Jimy!! From the 3 Irish ladies

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Eileen,

We thank you very much indeed for your nice comments regarding our staff. Luis was very happy to receive your compliments, same as Jimmy (Ahmed). We hope to see you back here in Santa Susanna or in Barcelona; we do recommend you to book in advance (www.htophotels.com).

Best regards

H TOP ROYAL SUN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from an all inclusive 2 week stay here.
What's that saying about first impressions? We were delayed in arriving on what was a late check in anyway, so didn't arrive at the hotel until nearly 01.30 in the morning. After getting sorted with the very nice guy in reception we finally got to our room. Greeting us were two meals, fruit and two bottles of water. How good is that? We were stunned and ever so grateful.
Our room on the 6th floor (613) had a great view of the sea, and myself, partner and 2.5yr old daughter drifted off to sleep to the sound of the sea against the shore.
The room was great, clean and perfectly adequate for our needs.
Breakfast the next morning was good and that standard remained for all meals throughout our stay. Plenty of variety and we always enjoyed what we had. A special mention to Ahmed in the restaurant, what a nice guy.
The hotel itself is big, bright and very clean, the staff friendly and helpful, even the cleaners made time to say hello and make a fuss of our daughter.
It's location next to the beach is second to none, you step out of the hotel and you're on the sand. We loved the beach so much we went every day after using the pool as a first stop.
I've seen lots of complains about the sand and the sea from people. In what way is that a fault of the hotel? Are they required to change the landscape? We've had many holidays on the Costa Brava due to having family there, and you'll find pretty much the same everywhere. We loved the beach and the sea. Our little one spent a great deal of time in the sea and loved it.
In summing up, we have had a holiday to remember and the hotel was a big part of that. Well done Royal Sun and thank you.
We will return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Jason A,

We thank you so much for your fantastic review; we work hard to offer a good service and a good experience to our clients, and when we receive such a great feedback we feel really proud. We hope to see you again very soon, please make sure to contact the hotel before your arrival so we can make sure than your stay would be as nice as the first one. I will pass your comments to Ahmed, he never gets tired of receiving compliments!!

Best regards

H TOP ROYAL SUN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

When we first arrived at the Royal Sun we were shocked by the room. We are by no means fussy and we look on a room as only somewhere to lay your head but this took the mickey! We had paid almost £2000 for 10 nights all inclusive (not incl flights) for what we thought would be a beautiful 4 star hotel. We opened the door to find 3 beds in a row with a 4th bed across the bottom of them blocking the patio door to the balcony, the wallpaper was peeling off the wall. We then (after moving the bed) found a small balcony that only fitted a table with 2 chairs, therefore our family were unable to sit out together! We were going to complain about the size of our room but soon found that all of the rooms are the same size, with up to 4 beds squashed in them (see my photo)

NOISE

EVERY NIGHT for 10 nights was like groundhog day, our room was at the rear of the hotel on the opposite side to the beach. First we endured extreme noise from the two hotels music across the road, to be fair this only went on until midnight but there were occasions where our small children were tired and needed to sleep earlier. Next there would be cars going over what appeared to be a loose drain under the underpass, this gave off a gun shot type sound every time. Then at 4.30am EVERY NIGHT the nightclub opposite kicked out and there were Spanish men yelling at the top of their lungs for up to an hour. After that at around 5.30am the train would start, the trainline runs about 20 feet from the hotel and a train called 'the bullet' thunders through every hour, one night in my half sleep I thought it was a hurricane! This is then followed up by delivery trucks, road sweepers, someone with an industrial leaf blower and of course the busy road that runs just past the train line.

After 4 nights of having around 3 hours sleep we asked to be moved, to be told this was not possible other than to offer us a room on the same side but first floor. The receptionist words were, 'but this will be worse' so obviously the hotel is well aware of the problem but fails to warn people.

The windows in our room were old and not sealed properly, I don't think this helped at all, it sounded like they'd been left open!

ALL INCLUSIVE (OR NOT)
The food at the hotel was very nice, there was a good selection and we always found something to eat. The all inclusive card system worked fine for us although we were very annoyed that not everything was not as it seemed. There is a hotel owned snack bar but this is not included in your AI, you get a 10% discount. There were also a number of drinks advertised but these also were not AI. If you wanted alcohol to drink in the restaurant you had to pay for it! The 'unlimited' ice creams were only available from the restaurant during snack and meal times and you could only go in there if dry and clothed so the children barely got chance to take full advantage of this.

ENTERTAINMENT
We like a bit of cheese but the entertainment was awful! One night a load of Spanish grannys turned up, there was a female singer shrieking out off key songs while the Spanish people line danced, it seemed like this night in particular was put on for the Spanish day visitors and not the hotel guests. There is no daytime entertainment and the kids club is not advertised anywhere nor is there any effort to involve the kids in it. The reptile show was good and so was the circus show but other than that it was poor.

BEACH
The beach was a gritty type of sand which although the kids couldn't make a sandcastle was quite nice as it just brushed off. The sea however was a bit scary. You can walk in a couple of feet but any further was up to my 9 year olds neck and then literally one more step and he was out of his depth. The sea was quite rough and I would hate to go there with a non swimmer or toddler. On most days the water was also not your usual crystal clear either, on one day there was tonnes of shredded toilet paper floating in it! I would recommend getting a massage from the Chinese ladys on the beach though, they were bliss.

POOLS
The pools were nice, there is a shallow top pool and a deeper bottom pool with a shallow section. Both were fairly small but there was enough room for all the swimmers. There were always plenty of sunbeds but unfortunately not always enough sunny spots. There's a lot of shade if that's what you like.

Overall after waiting 3 years for a holiday we were so disappointed. The communal areas of the hotel are very nice but the rooms are such a state and are not made for a family of 4. I would never visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't book here if there is 4 of you. Only book a beach front room, as rooms round the back and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mum34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Mum34,

We are sorry if the room was nor as expected, but our romos are standard rooms where, if booked, we add an extra (or two) extra beds. If you are looking for more space we recommend to book two double rooms (although the children discounts would not be applied).
We thank you for your very positive comments about our food and our swimming pools.

Best regards

H TOP ROYAL SUN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Susanna hotels

Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Good points right on the beach ,impeccably clean , great staff ,cheap ,air con the really works too
Bad point room right next to 3 lifts that ping every time the doers open, I asked to be moved but the hotel was full .. If your thinking of an early night forget it.
Food what can i say it's a buffet, not the best not the worst I'm sure if you got kids they will love it! personally I'd not go full board! Rooms old and tired but again so clean bed solid, ow and a railway line to the right
I think if I had sea view and was away from the lifts maybe I'd come back as it's great for kids

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear John

After Reading your review, we are sure that we can make the necessary so your next review will be a five star !. Thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness and the staff; we are sure that on your next visit we can make sure that you get a nice room with a fantastic view; just contact our reception a few days before your arrival.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Situated on the beach but to get to the Hotel you go over a dual roadway and under a railway line the main entrance is on the lowerground and consist of a lift to reception. It is where we got robbed at 11am in morning as we arrived.Our quite room was situated over the entrance on the reception level opposite a bank of 3 lifts so the noise never stopped. We were able to change the next day after an arrangement with the reception. The Hotel was full of East Europeans who I do not believe had ever stayed in a Hotel,meal times were only made worse by the food served,we had to eat out although we were full board.The pool area was heaving with children and adults throwing each other in diving jumping and ball games which according to notices around pool were not allowed.The beach was gravel and at the waters edge a dip of about 5 feet did not allow you to get out of the water.There was no supoervision at the pool and in all honesty I did not have feel at 72 the will to do so. NEVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: a high room on corner overlooking beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelhoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Michaelhoddy,

We are sorry if your visit was not as good as expected. There are two entrances to the hotel; one is adapted for disabled people. As you know, there was no evidence at all of any robbery when you arrived; we check our security cameras and we did not see anything peculiar. As you say, you did not like the room assigned but we were able to solve that problem on the next day.
The hotel has clients from different parts of the world, your comments regarding the “East Europeans” are unfair, generalizing about other countries is always a mistake. We are planning to keep having clients from all over Europe, and in summer we are expecting to have families with children; if you do not like to share your space with families from other countries I am afraid we cannot help you.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Me and my friend were there throught the summer season. It´s really nice there.

POSITIVE: a nice staff, day and evening animations, no people from Slovakia or Czech Republic (I don´t like to be surrounded by people who can understand me), many people from Holland (which were really nice), food (not the same every evening), it´s close to shops, restaurants and beach - just 1 minute walk, just 1 hour to Barcelona
NEGATIVE: too many children in pool (If you would like to swim there, it´s not possible)

Room Tip: my room was 220 - after midnight it´s silent outside and I could sleep without any problems my frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veronika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Veronika

We thank you for your fantastic review; we are glad to know that you enjoyed almost every aspect of your holiday. Regarding the number of children, maybe you should consider visiting us in June or September, when the children are at school but the weather is very good.

Hope to see you soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Susanna
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Royal Sun Suites
H.TOP Royal Sun Suites
#20 of 21 in Santa Susanna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercury
Hotel Mercury
#18 of 21 in Santa Susanna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.0 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Santa Susanna Resort
Santa Susanna Resort
#15 of 21 in Santa Susanna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
2.0 mi away
H.TOP Pineda Palace
H.TOP Pineda Palace
#5 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Royal Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Royal Sun

Property: H.TOP Royal Sun
Address: Passeig Maritim S/N, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Royal Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star H•TOP Royal Sun hotel sits on the seafront promenade in the peaceful tourist village of Santa Susanna in Costa del Maresme-Barcelona, overlooking a beautiful beach. Positioned really close to the train station, bars, restaurants and shops, it is perfect for singles, couples and families. The 217-room offer a wonderful sea view and many onsite facilities, such as a Beach Restaurant only for clients and discounts in the Sand Beach Club situated just in front. It is situated 70 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 30 Km from Girona Airport. Santa Susanna is a family tourist destination with an impressive long sand beach and a selection of shops, bars and restaurants. Santa Susanna sits between the popular beach villages of Calella & Lloret de Mar, with an easy access by train to Barcelona city center. Clients from H•TOP Royal Sun have an exclusive burger-bar by the beach and can visit Sand Beach Club which offers sun beds and parasols with special rates for clients with All-Inclusive service. FACILITIES Rooms • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pools ( one for adults and one for children; unsupervised pools ) • Sun terraces Children • Playground • Baby cots and chairs Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Currency exchange • Car hire* • Fax & copy service • Medical service • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room)* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage (coin lockers) • Showers for check-out • Lifts • Bikes & quadricycles* • Discounts Sand Beach Club *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your H.TOP Royal Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Htop Royal Sun Hotel Santa Susana
H.TOP Royal Sun Spain/Santa Susanna
Htop Royal Sun Santa Susana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing