We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most things good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Most things good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I would definitely agree that its a 4 star hotel!! When we arrived at the hotel, the staff were friendly ish but there were not rude at all!!! when we got to our room it was really really Clean!!! We thought the room was a bit small as in the past we have had apartments but that's nothing to worry about because we knew before we came. Lobby was really cosy and the bar workers were always there to offer us drinks. We mainly sat by the pool most days, REMEMBER THOUGH that you have to get down to get sunbeds EARLY like 8am because especially when we went it was very full and we all wanted shades because it was EXTREMEMLY HOT!! Santa Susanna was not as nice as we expected. the little fair nearby was really fun for kids and very close to the hotel! In the games room, the grabber thing where its really hard to win things, should put more teddies down regularly but I did win a peppa pig and a seal from madagascer although I wanted George pig. I would recommend this hotel but not the area.

Room Tip: Better views by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    512
    118
    41
    16
See reviews for
615
457
27
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed a little while ago in this hotel and have to admit I am shocked at the good reviews given. It was fine, and that is about all I could say. The rooms were fine (comfortable beds and nice deco) but the bathrooms were rather shabby and toiletries were incredibly basic. I've paid half and had better deals.

The restaurant is a disaster. The food is fine, but I agree with what another reviewer wrote about it being like a zoo - we visited over Easter and it was full of tour groups who pushed and shoved until they had eaten most of the food. Fine for a hostel or a budget hotel, but this is most certainly not advertised as one of those.

The pool is a pool - big, lots of sunbeds and the weather was absolutely lovely. That is about it. It was full of screaming kids and was anything but peaceful. It was quieter in our room. Not what you'd hope for when you are paying so much.

As well as that, my friends' room had a balcony door that wouldn't lock. It was easy to hop from balcony to balcony and there was little privacy when sitting outside on the balcony but we were very concerned about security. It would've been so easy for someone to hop from balcony to balcony and enter rooms if the doors were not locked. We did not sleep brilliantly for this reason.

I think the biggest stress for me was the sheer size of the place. Of course we knew this when we booked and so it was our fault for staying here anyway in that sense but it did not make a good, quiet holiday. I felt like I was being herded around constantly. Oh, and the lifts were a nightmare.

Overall, unless you are looking for a very noisy poolside party sort of holiday, there are many better deals around. It's also not THAT close to the city so if I were you, I'd look around for something better.

I have never written a poor review on here, but I felt compelled to for this hotel. Service was fine, but for the price of the rooms, it was a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EmiliaGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

From the second we stepped in to the hotel we knew it was going to be of a high quality and standard and we were not disappointed. We had a family holiday and stayed for 5 nights on half board. We had a family room which gave us the luxury of a separate bedroom for our 2 sons which they loved! We were the second floor up and had a great view of the swimming pool. There was lots of entertainment in and around the hotel. Of course we made a trip to Barcelona with a football mad Husband. The staff were so helpful and friendly and always greeted us with a smile. The food was great with a good selection each morning and evening. We all liked the freedom of choosing what you wanted, the staff were friendly and didn't at all make you feel rushed. The evening entertainment was faultless with my Sons both loving the kids disco. I could go on about how truly fabulous this hotel is! We are already planning our next holiday :-)

Room Tip: Our room was close to the swimming pool so when entertainment was on could be quite noisy but the ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castellon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was supposed to be a treat for my husband and me, but we were sorely disappointed. The room was no better than a budget hotel, the bathroom was rather grubby with extremely cheap toiletries. The angle of the shower was simply wrong and the water was extremely hard.
But above all we were shocked by the way everything was charged as an extra - from the use of the fridge, to the Internet to parking, sun loungers, the gym. The buffet restaurant was ok - pretty dull though.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lolitaelliemeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear Customer,

First of all I would like to thank you for your review and thank you for choosing our hotel.
We regret the circumstances that were presented here.
Our prices and services are exposed, visible and comparable. It represents a value and you can make a free decision.
We manage our hotel with great effort and enthusiasm and of course our goal is that our customers leave happy and having spent a pleasant stay.
Our mission is hospitality and we deeply regret not having met your expectations.
Thank you very much for trusting us.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

From arrival to departure (7 nights BB) we had no problems with the hotel, the ones we did have were no fault of the hotels just the other guests and lack of manners however we did not let this ruin our holiday.
Buffet breakfast was as you would expect from a holiday resort plenty choice and variety, my kids loved it.
Pool side was fine if you got down at 8 to get your beds (no charge unless you hire towels) The animation team would start at 10 - 1 then back again at 4ish nothing was OTT and in your face the timetables were set up so if you wanted to join in you knew where and when to go. Play park just outside hotel for kids small supermarket under hotel along with a few other shops
Rooms were clean and comfortable, the shower had a mind of its own but worked.
5 minute max walk to train station which would take you to towns close by or direct to Barcelona.
Night time - a few restaurants round about but all very similar and nothing overly nice but no problems in any of them, stalls are set up on the street each night from about 7ish selling the usual, worth a visit. Small fair next to hotel which opens at 6.
All in all a good family holiday - could do with a bit more in the area but that obviously is not the hotels fault

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyholiday19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

The receptionists were especially helpful and the animation team were very friendly. In fact all the staff were nice, and the maids did a great job always with smiles on their faces. The entertainment was really good. The rooms were nice and a good size. You do not have to pay for sunbeds which is a bonus! The spa was awesome!! The food at the hotel was great. The hotel is situated on a nice strip not far from the beach, and close to the train station for easy transport. The hotel also had activity buses free of charge which takes you to various places.The hotel was all round fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at Hotel Onabrava - first night on half pension. We should have stayed for 13 nights, but we managed to find a perfect hotel.
To start with the positive things, and this will not take long :
- Staff at the bar - especially Angelina and Rosa - of high standard, and did everything to offer the best service.
- La Pergola Pool restaurant and their waiter Arnau provided high service and good food.
- The premium room on the top had a very nice vieuw - spacious, and with two very nice balconies.
This was the end of the positive things - now the negative points :
- The premium room was mentioned under the positive things, but the two elavators of which only one was working was only a few cm from my pillow. In the night the noise from this woke you up.
- The meals reminded you of feeding in the ZOO. The noise of feeding 800 people in one big dining room is enormous and you long for a little peace and silence - a cosy spot to relax a not get stressed. The hotel staff was very noisy with the plates - they seemed stressed, little helpfull ad never smiling. The food quality was below average and definitely not what you would expect on a four-star hotel. We cancelled the half pension, and tried to escape the noise in the dining room by ordering breakfast to our room. This was a disaster. I did not get what I had ordered in writing. I got hot water and "coffee" on thermos -both were stinking of mold and had not ben cleaned properly. "The coffee" reminded you of old dish water. I got two dry slices of cheese for two persons, some dull cold cut, and no fruit as ordered. I made a reclamation to the manager,and I had a very nice cup of coffee together with him, made by the efficient bar waiters. A couple of days later however the hotel demanded that I was to pay for the dishwater and the horrible "breakfast". This of course was denied after a long discussion.
- Almost evrything in this hotel is extra. Even 5 euros a day for using their fitnes machines. beds by the pool etc.
- The noise from the swimming pool was awful. Loud techno music and a very noisy activity staff.

In all I have spent quite a lot of time of my stay in the reception trying to get things working. I shall definitely not return to this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank LarsK51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear LarsK51,

First of all I would like to thank you for your recent feedback and thank you for choosing our hotel.

It is from feedbacks that guests give us that we try and improve the service at the hotel – we have taken note of them and we are looking into them in more detail.

Information about our hotel, rates and services are visible exposed and it is also mentioned that our hotel has 350 rooms.
You are mentioning a charge for the sunbeds, please note that the sunbeds are free of charge.

We regret for the inconveniences in your room and we do really apologize for not reaching your expectations and we hope you give us a second opportunity to show you the best service.

We apologize for the service given and the inconvenience caused.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.4 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida Park
Hotel Florida Park
#5 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
#7 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montemar Maritim
Montemar Maritim
#8 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa

Property: Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Address: Av. del Mar, 6, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an innovative design, this modern hotel has a relaxing feel designed for a pleasant and enjoyable stay. Located 150 meters from the beach, these brightly decorated rooms are perfect to take in the Mediterranean climate and have all the facilities you could need in order to enjoy a pleasant stay. The hotel is ideally situated meaning you can enjoy excellent sea views and has also got both indoor and outdoor parking available for guests. The hotel is comfortable and relaxing with a design to meet your needs ... The hotel can also offer its excellent meetings and events facilities which provide you with a personalized service and, with the help of our dedicated staff who aim to cater to all your needs, we can provide you with the best possible venue for your meetings, events, and banquets. During the day, guests can relax and unwind in our spectacular lobby area. Of an evening, you are welcome to enjoy the nightly entertainment at the "Music Bar" whilst enjoying your favourite cocktail. Aqua Hotel Onabrava has a large buffet style restaurant. Here, you can enjoy a wide variety of Mediterranean cuisine and enjoy the various theme nights which include food from many parts of the world. As well as this, the restaurant has an open kitchen area where live cooking takes place on a regular basis. During the daytime, guests are free to relax in the outdoor pool which measures 400m2 with a jacuzzi area. The pool area is surrounded by gardens where you will also find "La Pergola", the poolside snack bar... Alternatively, guests are welcome to enjoy the outdoor shopping area which is situated directly in front of the hotel... The Aquafit SPA & FITNESS centre is the ideal place for relaxation where guests can enjoy various types of massages and treatments. Also, guests can relax in Aquafit's thermal circuit, bi-thermal showers, steam room, sauna, tropical shower, heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. For those looking for a little more activity, guests are able to use the extensively equipped gym with a dedicated fitness area as well as take part in the various fitness classes available. A centre ideally equipped to keep your body and mind in perfect condition.In addition to this, guests can enjoy a variety of outdoor entertainment led by our dedicated entertainment team which also includes the Miniclub where your children are guaranteed to be kept amused and entertained at all time ... Don't hesitate any longer, make your dream holiday a reality ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Santa Susana
Hotel Aqua Onabrava
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa Spain/Santa Susanna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing