We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel let down by kitchens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Certificate of Excellence
Tyneside
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel let down by kitchens”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is as good a hotel as most tourists would ever want. Rooms are spacious ,the twin rooms have 2 double beds and still don't feel cramped,a fridge was included (possibly should have been charged,but came free).We had a 4th floor room facing Malgrat with a view of the sea .
Euro 2.30 for a small beer is the top price in the area but the Onabrava isn't a place to drink 'till
you're skint.The nearest english type pubs are about 15 minutes walk away.
Evening entertainment started at 10pm,not the hotel's fault that it was consistently average,the low point was a Queen tribute band with the least convincing Freddie ever to hold a microphone.
I'm sure there are times when this hotel would get excellent+,what let it down were empty buffet dishes and trays on too many occasions when the dining room was busy .
Free WiFi didn't work at all some of the time so serious users would probably need to pay for the premium service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomandpartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    541
    131
    44
    16
See reviews for
650
484
29
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We returned from this hotel yesterday. The position was really good as it was easy to catch the train along the coast. We went to Barcelona which is just over an hour away for around £8 return and into Calella which is 2 stops away. Lovely superior room giving views all around very clean with Jacuzzi and Queen size bed. Only downside I would say is I did miss my wake up coffee in the mornings as there was no kettle in room.We didn't ask so maybe the staff would have been obliging.Moses the entertainment man was so friendly helpful and funny. Really nice chap.The place is kept immaculately clean including the pool.The food was good. Champagne included at breakfast if you wanted it! I would say it is the best in the area and would not hesitate to go back there.We used the spa one afternoon when it was overcast outside. It was good with steam room sauna and various jacuzzis and pool. Gym looked real good though didn't use it.

Room Tip: Pick a superior room for balcony views jacuzzi and free internet service while around the hotel and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 00756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente,

Nos complace comprobar que tuvo una agradable estancia en nuestro establicimiento.
Muchas gracias por su comentario acerca de su experiencia en el Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa.

Nos encantaría volver a recibirles pronto de nuevo y en nombre de todo el equipo de Aqua Hotel Onabrava reciba un cordial saludo.

Pascale Gerardts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We have just returned from Aqua Hotel onabrava and have really enjoyed our holiday
On arrival we were very impressed by the open stunning reception area BUT were even more impressed by the staff who welcomed us with a smile and all through our holiday were attentative
and helpful Our room was spacious and spotless very comfy double bed The restaurant tables were changed with white cloths making the guest feel they were eating in a special dining room
The buffet style food was varied perhaps the breakfast staff could make fried omelettes more available we did ask and the chef made us one but he was very busy and could have done with more help but the bacon was really good lots of wonderful selection of bread The position of the hotel enables you to nip on a train up and down the coast at a very inexpensive rate The drinks in and around the hotel their mini market and Mexican restaurant were really keenly priced Entertainment is very good in the evenings if you decide to take a stroll outside the area is clean well paved and just pleasant to catch the little stalls showing their art work Santa Susanna is quite an up market area of this coast agricultural fields are around the few hotels very tranquil Try this hotel if you like a good quality hotel where they will t ry so very hard to give you a wonderful holiday To management : Our grateful thank you for opening the restaurant at 6.00am this morning for us to have breakfast and every visit to reception being a pleasure knowing we would be dealt with to the best of their ability You created a fantastic holiday for us Thank you

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your comments and for choosing the Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa.
It has been very kind of you, that you took the time to let us know about your amazing experience !
It is great to hear that you had an ejoyable stay with us and it is a pleasure fot us to know that you were delighted with the hotel facilities and our staff.
We are constantly working on providing our very best services for our guests, and we are glad to see that our attempts are aprreciated.

Thank you for trusting in us and on behalft the entire team of Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa we would like to thank you again to share you positive opinion.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Family holiday with our 3 yr old daughter.clean tidy hotel.very lovely helpful staff.very safe for children.food was lush every day.pool is great for kids.loved every min of our holiday and will be going back next yr!!!!!!! Hotel is close to shops and beach.ideal holiday for any age.we rented a car and went into barcelona to watch the f1.perfect location for f1 fans who want the best of both. Amazing holiday!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mandy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing the Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa.

We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Your opinion is very important for us to improve the quality of our services.

Thank you for trusting in us and we hoop to see you soon again in our Hotel.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a nice family hotel in a decent location. Not far from the beach, plenty of gift shops, general stores and cafe bars nearby. The hotel was clean, drinks were not too badly priced and our room was good. We stayed here for the Grand Prix and it's a fairly accessible location for Circuit de Catalunya. On the minus side, if the weather is bad you have to pay to use the indoor pool. That's what I call a rip off. I've never been to a hotel which charges for pool facilities to hotel residents. And before anyone shoots me down for saying that, I have been to lots of hotels worldwide. Gym and spa facilities are different but when its raining that's all there is to do, unless you want to play on games machines or ping-pong. 6 Euros per day to swim in a very small pool - are they having a laugh? Also the bar area is very LOUD, you can hardly hear yourself talk. The last minus - the restaurant. The staff I found generally ok, a few were a bit marry, but hell they have to deal with us Brits! The food however, was very average and it was busy with families letting children run round. That at best is rude and worst dangerous! We are not fussy eaters but found it hard at times to find much we liked. Much of the food was rather cool - even the hot dishes.

All in all a pleasant family hotel, if that's what you want. Like others say, I'd take a trip on the train to Barcelona or as a fellow traveller did, do a boat trip along the coast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevandjasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

An outstanding hotel! Perfect location with good access to Barcelona by train. Excellent food. Lovely rooms! Excellent Customer service from all staff! A spa and gym at small charge. A market visits on Tuesday mornings! I had a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyMirror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing the Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa.

We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Your opinion is very important for us to improve the quality of our services.

Thank you for trusting in us and we hoop to see you soon again in our Hotel.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed for 4 nights with my husband in April. The resort seems fairly new so not a huge amount to see, but across the rd is a train station, that goes up and down the coast, and Barcelona in an hr at a very reasonable cost. Fab beach across the rd, and Tuesday market for bargains. Burrito restaurant outside but linked to hotel and very nice.
The hotel itself is sparklingly clean and smells lovely. Nice room, the bed was so comfortable, all rooms seem to have view of the sea. Good bar and entertainment areas, lovely olives to order from the bar - my husband and I were obsessed with them..... Restaurant is nice but extremely noisy as you would expect. Good choice of food, not exceptional but nothing to complain about. The staff are nice, and seem to take pride in their work, always tidying up, and v polite. I would really recommend this hotel if you don't mind the quiet location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinamanda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,142 reviews
0.4 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,082 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
#9 of 21 in Santa Susanna
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#10 of 21 in Santa Susanna
788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Florida Park
Hotel Florida Park
#7 of 21 in Santa Susanna
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa

Property: Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Address: Av. del Mar, 6, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an innovative design, this modern hotel has a relaxing feel designed for a pleasant and enjoyable stay. Located 150 meters from the beach, these brightly decorated rooms are perfect to take in the Mediterranean climate and have all the facilities you could need in order to enjoy a pleasant stay. The hotel is ideally situated meaning you can enjoy excellent sea views and has also got both indoor and outdoor parking available for guests. The hotel is comfortable and relaxing with a design to meet your needs ... The hotel can also offer its excellent meetings and events facilities which provide you with a personalized service and, with the help of our dedicated staff who aim to cater to all your needs, we can provide you with the best possible venue for your meetings, events, and banquets. During the day, guests can relax and unwind in our spectacular lobby area. Of an evening, you are welcome to enjoy the nightly entertainment at the "Music Bar" whilst enjoying your favourite cocktail. Aqua Hotel Onabrava has a large buffet style restaurant. Here, you can enjoy a wide variety of Mediterranean cuisine and enjoy the various theme nights which include food from many parts of the world. As well as this, the restaurant has an open kitchen area where live cooking takes place on a regular basis. During the daytime, guests are free to relax in the outdoor pool which measures 400m2 with a jacuzzi area. The pool area is surrounded by gardens where you will also find "La Pergola", the poolside snack bar... Alternatively, guests are welcome to enjoy the outdoor shopping area which is situated directly in front of the hotel... The Aquafit SPA & FITNESS centre is the ideal place for relaxation where guests can enjoy various types of massages and treatments. Also, guests can relax in Aquafit's thermal circuit, bi-thermal showers, steam room, sauna, tropical shower, heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. For those looking for a little more activity, guests are able to use the extensively equipped gym with a dedicated fitness area as well as take part in the various fitness classes available. A centre ideally equipped to keep your body and mind in perfect condition.In addition to this, guests can enjoy a variety of outdoor entertainment led by our dedicated entertainment team which also includes the Miniclub where your children are guaranteed to be kept amused and entertained at all time ... Don't hesitate any longer, make your dream holiday a reality ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Santa Susana
Hotel Aqua Onabrava
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa Spain/Santa Susanna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing