We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for family holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

My boyfriend, my 6 years old daughter and myself spent one week in this hotel last month (from 5th to 12nd of August).
Every year my daughter and I make one week's holiday at an "all inclusive Hotel", with swimmingpools, entertatinment and so on. The last two years we were in Canary Islands in two big hotels (for one of them, Melia Jardines del Teide in Tenerife, I have only good words also, i wrote a review two years ago)
This year, we hadn't initially planned to stay as close to our hometown (we are from Barcelona), but because of the illness and hospitalization of my father we needeed to find a closer option. So we decided to go to Aqua Onabrava Hotel, and I must say it is at least as good as the previous hotels where we've been.
Very familiar and multinational and multicultural atmosphere, so correct rooms, the food was good and varied, such as kind and friendly staff, and especially the entertainment team, on top of that with kids (my daughter really enjoyed!).
So definitively I think it is really a good option, for Barcelona people that want some rest with their family close to Barcelona, and also a very good choice for people from other countries who want to visit Barcelona but without staying in the city, because Santa Susanna it is also very well connected with public transportation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Client,

On behalf the entire team we would like to thank you for reporting your impressions and feelings regaring your last stay at the Onabrava hotel & Spa.

Thank you for trusting in us and we hope to see you soon again in our hotel.

Best Regards

Pascale Gerardts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 1,561 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 13 nights from the 16th to the 29th of august 2014.
With a full board option, our stay did cost around 3100€ for two adults and two children.
We live in France and for such a price, you won´t be able to find such services in the french Riviera for less than twice the price !
The hôtel is just great but rooms are a bit small.
Fitness coaching (full access to the whole wellness infrastructures for 25€, for 7 days) was great (thanks Raoul for spinning courses !).

The animation team is great, always happy to be there (thanks to Moïse, Naim and Natalia) and the evening shows are just awesome for the whole familly.

We will get back there, for sure.
Thanks to all the Onabrava team and its frontdesk staff too (Samir).

Breakfast, lunch and dinner were great but tea quality is improvable (nothing very important). A true coffee might be Welcome too !

Simply a great stay for quite à cheap price

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank CyrilOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for the time you took in writing your impressions about our hotel on TripAdvisor after your recent visit.

Your opinion is very important for us to improve the quality of our services.

Best Regards and we will hope to see you soon again in our hotel.

Pascale Gerardts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

My wife, myself and 10 year old daughter have recently returned from a 10 day b+b stay at the Onabrava, which took about 40 minutes on the coach from Girona airport.

Outside the hotel certainly does not look anything special (a pretty horrible colour - why isn't it white?!). However, this all changes once you get inside - a very spacious interior and a first-class check-in from reception.

Very multi-national hotel with no one nation dominant. Spanish, British, Irish, German, Dutch, Russian, French and Portuguese all spotted during our stay.

Our room was fine with 2 double beds and a fair-size bathroom. The maid service was excellent. Towels changed every day if needed and bed linen 2-3 times per week.

The hotel has a good pool area and we found no problems getting 3 sun loungers. I would go down around 9am to reserve and at this time I would estimate about 80% of the beds were taken. The pool is very cold but refreshing in the heat! Plenty of entertainment around the pool without being totally "over the top", but I would imagine it could annoy some people if they were looking for peace and quiet.

Breakfast was very well organised. You are basically shown to your table and then it is buffet style. Hot food (bacon, eggs, etc) plus all manner of cheese/meat, pastries, pancakes, yoghurts, bread and so on. Tea, coffee, flavoured milk, juice, cava all available to drink. A very good start to the day!

The staff at the hotel really were exceptional - an absolute credit. All very friendly, helpful and efficient. A special mention to the entertainment team who showed massive energy and enthusiasm.

A couple of minor niggles - there wasn't always hot water in the evening (around 8pm) for a shower and the TV reception wasn't always the best in our room. As I say, only small stuff and overall we really enjoyed this hotel.

The resort however is a different matter. We didn't like it one bit!

Firstly, the main "promenade" is not on the sea-front. The whole hotel area is cut off from the sea by the railway. One of the pleasures of coming to Spain is a walk along the prom in the evening looking at the sea/restaurants and so on. I find it quite bizarre that I couldn't find this mentioned in any review that I read! Obviously most people cannot be bothered by this - we were!

Also, the walk to the beach (only 3 minutes) is frankly unappealing. Straight out the hotel you go through a subway (which stinks of wee!) under the railway and then a down a track to the front. We also had the misfortune to encounter a cyclist using this path as a urinal!

The beach itself is sand/gravel but there are very steep shelves on it. Our daughter loved the sea but be warned it may not be suitable for very young children. A final word of caution....one day a man just stripped off his shorts and went skinny dipping!!! Not exactly what you expect on a family beach...

The other main gripe about the resort is the lack of variety in the restaurants. All serving the same (limited) stuff, e.g. burgers/pizzas/chicken etc. If you want a fix of English grub, the Drunken Duck (around 10 minutes from hotel) serves decent food at good prices. Also, the Boulevard restaurant (5 minutes from hotel) was the best we found.

We went on a day trip to Barcelona, which is well worth doing. Station only 2 minutes from hotel (buy your tickets from the office opposite) and 9.80 euro return. It takes 75/80 minutes on most trains. A tip for metro tickets in Barca - buy a 10-trip "targeta" for 10.30 euros. It can be used by more than 1 person and saves considerably on a single fare of 2.15 euro.

To summarise, an enjoyable stay at a good hotel - just a shame about Santa Susanna!

Happy holidays!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Oggy-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed here for a week which included the bank holiday.The Hotel situation was good, the beach was a short walk away. Sand on the beach was very coarse, same as a lot of beaches in this area.
The towel brigade who insist on putting their towels on the loungers at eight in the morning and not using them all day or until late in the afternoon are in the vernacular a pain in the ar**. I must say that this is not the domain of one countries people.The hotel did not seem to police this.Food wise we had no complaints, we were half board and there was plenty of choice both at breakfast and dinner, although nothing stuck out as extraordinary. The Premium room we had overlooking the pool area was fine this included free WiFi, and the air con a bonus as it was very HOT.Over all a very pleasant break. Only downside for us was there was nowhere to relax outside besides the pool area(if you were lucky enough to get a lounger)as there were no gardens. Would we return to this hotel? probably.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank madasaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you for your comments and for choosing the Aqua Hotel Onabrava&Spa.

Your opinion is very important for us to improve the quality of our services.

Thank you for trusting in us and we hope to see you soon again in our hotel.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This hotel has a mix of people from around Europe but mainly from Spain and France however my wife was very disappointed that the reception staff had very limited Spanish.
The room was OK but not up to 4 star standers The balcony was tiny and unsafe for young children!
There was a good selection of salads and mains but the food was of poor quality and luke warm.
The pool area was lovely however, it was not very clean, the ground was filthy, as were the sun loungers.
Also if you did not get up at 08:00 and put out your towel you would not get a lounger ( see photo)
Me and my family were very disappointed in this hotel for a 4*superior. Standards are more like a 3 star hotel at best
Would not go again and would not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sean0446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We came to this hotel with no knowledge of the area, looking for a hot holiday and were not at all disappointed. The hotel is around a 2 hour drive from Girona Barcelona airport, and when we arrived we got a pleasant welcome from the reception staff.
The rooms are clean and spacious, with a good sized bathroom and a nice balcony. Towels are changed daily but be careful to stay out of your room from 10am to midday as that is usually when the cleaners come.
The hotel staff are friendly and spoke good English. We went half board during our stay to give us flexibility during the day and explore more, which worked well throughout the stay. In my opinion I really liked the buffet, which had a huge variety of food. however my sister, being a vegetarian, did find limited options, as popular dishes were fish, chicken, veal and pork. Due to the dinner being a buffet, food obviously wasn't the warmest, but there were two microwaves in the corner of the dining room to keep food hot. The dishes were different every night, and there was plenty of warm and cold food, heaps of fruit and pudding was always lovely. However at dinner the drinks were quite expensive and I suspected that they made the food slightly saltier to make people buy more drinks. I was extremely happy with the breakfast buffet each morning, and had several courses of fruit, (including melons, kiwis, peaches, nectarines, plums, cherries, pineapple, oranges and apples), hot breakfast such as eggs, beans, bacon, etc, and there were lots of pastries and pain au chocolats.The drinks were complimentary at breakfast with water, fruit juices, coffee, hot chocolate etc available. After asking at reception we found that the water in the taps couldn't be drunk, therefore you constantly need to buy and keep bottled water in the fridge in the room, but that's fine because water is extremely cheap in shops down the promenade, as cheap as 20 cents per litre.
I must agree with other reviews in that sun loungers are extremely hard to find, because many people staying at the hotel come down before eight in the morning to lay towels down and they don't even use them during the day. In the day all the sun loungers are taken yet about 10-15 people are occupying them. However I did absolutely love the poolside, with a large sized pool, a whirlpool section and a children's pool. The only thing I could say was that the pool was very cold, therefore I'm not sure they heat it! Although it got better throughout the week as the weather improved and I got used to it. The poolside activities were great for those wanting to be active, with events such as aqua gym, water basketball, water polo, darts, etc.
There is lots of entertainment for children as well for families with young children.
I thought the hotel was absolutely great, although once exploring the Santa Susanna promenade there is not much else to see. The hotel is extremely close to the local train station, making it easy for a day trip into Barcelona.
I must also note that although the hotel is close to the beach, it is grit sand so not the best, the sea bed falls extremely quickly and the waves are extremely rocky therefore I would not advise it for children. However beaches stretch throughout the whole Costa Brava coast so I'm sure that by walking a bit you can find one suitable!
The interior of the hotel is very stylish and modern with a lovely finish. every night there is a different form of entertainment; we usually made our own entertainment by having drinks in the lobby or walking down the promenade, however some nights I noticed acrobatics, sketches, and singing.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stayed at the Aqua Hotel Onabrava, which is a great family hotel, and feel that if you are visiting Santa Susanna, it is definitely the place you should stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you for reporting us your experience of your last stay.
Do not doubt that we take very seriously all the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests and we work day by day to keep improving our hotel and service.

Thank you for trusting in us and we hope to see you soon in our Aqua Hotel Onabrava&Spa.

Best Regards

Pascale Gerardts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

An excellent stay. Staff are very helpful. All the staff are so energetic and give personal touch to everything. Specially Naom , Natalie and Moses. Always trying their best to keep people entertained.
Beach very near
Station next to hotel
Pool always had deck chairs available
Enjoyed thoroughly . Will definitely recommend

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pathology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Client,

We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you so much for your comments and we hope to see you soon again in our hotel.

Best Regards

Pascale Gerardts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#6 of 21 in Santa Susanna
915 reviews
0.4 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Montemar Maritim
Montemar Maritim
#5 of 21 in Santa Susanna
339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
#9 of 21 in Santa Susanna
645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa

Address: Av. del Mar, 6, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Susanna
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range: £45 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an innovative design, this modern hotel has a relaxing feel designed for a pleasant and enjoyable stay. Located 150 meters from the beach, these brightly decorated rooms are perfect to take in the Mediterranean climate and have all the facilities you could need in order to enjoy a pleasant stay. The hotel is ideally situated meaning you can enjoy excellent sea views and has also got both indoor and outdoor parking available for guests. The hotel is comfortable and relaxing with a design to meet your needs ... The hotel can also offer its excellent meetings and events facilities which provide you with a personalized service and, with the help of our dedicated staff who aim to cater to all your needs, we can provide you with the best possible venue for your meetings, events, and banquets. During the day, guests can relax and unwind in our spectacular lobby area. Of an evening, you are welcome to enjoy the nightly entertainment at the "Music Bar" whilst enjoying your favourite cocktail. Aqua Hotel Onabrava has a large buffet style restaurant. Here, you can enjoy a wide variety of Mediterranean cuisine and enjoy the various theme nights which include food from many parts of the world. As well as this, the restaurant has an open kitchen area where live cooking takes place on a regular basis. During the daytime, guests are free to relax in the outdoor pool which measures 400m2 with a jacuzzi area. The pool area is surrounded by gardens where you will also find "La Pergola", the poolside snack bar... Alternatively, guests are welcome to enjoy the outdoor shopping area which is situated directly in front of the hotel... The Aquafit SPA & FITNESS centre is the ideal place for relaxation where guests can enjoy various types of massages and treatments. Also, guests can relax in Aquafit's thermal circuit, bi-thermal showers, steam room, sauna, tropical shower, heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. For those looking for a little more activity, guests are able to use the extensively equipped gym with a dedicated fitness area as well as take part in the various fitness classes available. A centre ideally equipped to keep your body and mind in perfect condition.In addition to this, guests can enjoy a variety of outdoor entertainment led by our dedicated entertainment team which also includes the Miniclub where your children are guaranteed to be kept amused and entertained at all time ... Don't hesitate any longer, make your dream holiday a reality ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Santa Susana
Hotel Aqua Onabrava
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa Spain/Santa Susanna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing