We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect hotel for a perfect holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A perfect hotel for a perfect holiday”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

When I first arrived, we had booked several rooms but some of them were unavailable, so some of us had to share rooms, Other than that the stay was perfect, the welcome was very good and the hotel looked brilliant. The rooms are large and modern with brilliant pictures on the wall and tremendous cleaners that did their job without flaws. The beds were very comfy and the views from some of the windows were amazing. There was slight noise from the bars below our room but that stopped at around 12 / 1 in the morning.
The food is brilliant and the service was even better. There are many activities throughout the day and the night with evening entertainment every night.
Overall this is a brilliant hotel for a brilliant price, I would recommend this to anyone staying in Santa Susana

Room Tip: Go for the premier rooms as they have the best views and are larger with plasma televisions
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Liam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    248
    95
    22
    18
See reviews for
294
201
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

One of the best holidays we have had! Hotel is so clean and staff are so friendly! Can not fault this hotel at all. Very central location. Will be returning next year for sure! FIRST CLASS Service from top to bottom in the hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank highlandlass6576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Dear Guest,
we are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in Santa Susanna and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
Kindly,
Aqua Hotel Montagut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is a fabulous Hotel with a lovely facade and brilliant reception staff who quickly attended to us. The hotel was spotless throughout.

We did have a problem at first as I had booked a premium suite with a pool view & was given a standard suite. I was told there were no premium suites available for 3 days and was offered a change of hotels for the 3 nights. I refused this as we were there for only 7 days anyway and I didn’t know anything of the other hotel. To cut a long story short – we went for lunch & left her to try & sort something else out.
We stayed in the standard suite for 1 night & then were moved next morning to a premium pool view suite. For our trouble they gave us the use of the mini bar for free for our entire stay & the first night, it was full for our use! Also, they left a wrapped present of a beach bag in our room a couple of days later.
To be honest, the superior room & the standard room were the same but for the pool view, so don’t worry if you are booking a standard room.

The pool area was great. Never had any problem getting a lounger or brolly if wanted. It was nice & peaceful as the kid’s pool & entertainment was at the other side and the team kept them busy with good activities which were'nt too noisy. We even joined in the poolside bingo which was good fun especially as the numbers were called in several different languages and a bit confusing! The entertainment team with super friendly and did a good job overall. We don’t normally bother with hotel entertainment, but they had a few good nights which we attended. The Spanish dancers were superb.

If you exit the hotel & turn left (instead of right to the beach) you will come to a little roundabout with a car park across the road. If you go diagonally left across the car park, you will get to the back of a hypermarket and a little shopping mall. You can get your water etc there at really good prices.

Right turn out of hotel, walk for 5mins, cross road, down a few steps and into a very short tunnel to beach. Lovely beach with a good breeze to stop you getting too hot and to top it off there are Thai ladies/gents giving massages. I decided to have one and ended up her best customer with both me & my daughter having one every day! 15mins for 5euro is amazing and as I had one every day, she would stay for more like 25mins….bargain!

The restaurant was very spacious & had a lovely view of the garden. It got busy early on, but as we always ate later, we never had any queuing.
The food was plentiful and a decent selection – we did think some of the food a bit strange especially at breakfast, but of course they have a lot of German/Russian guest. We found plenty to eat, so no problems. My husband particularly liked the cakes & ate them with every meal!

To sum up, a nice clean well located hotel for having a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank moonin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Dear Moonin,
Thank you for staying with us in Aqua Hotel Montagut and we appreciate you took the time to post your review and please apologize the initial problem during the check in.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the service offered by our team and we are very pleased that your holiday in Santa Susanna was relaxing.
We hope to welcoming you back very soon.
Kindly,
Aqua Hotel Montagut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed for a week, and having read some reviews I was disappointed to find we were allocated a room on the roadside of the hotel and the room was much smaller than other hotels we had stayed in. I wondered how on earth 5 people were going to live in the room for a week and my first reaction was to ask for a room change, only to be told they would have nothing until the end of the week. We just got on with it. The room proved to be more than enough for space, we rejigged it a little. There was noise from the street below at night but nothing the airconditioner and tv didn't drowned out. The beds were comfy and the room as well as the hotel was kept spotlessly clean at all times. The food was good, staff very friendly and there was entertainment every night for both kids and adults. If I were to go back to Santa Susana I would have no hesitation in staying at the Aqua Montagut.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dinjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review about your recent stay in Aqua Hotel Montagut. We are pleased to read that you found the room for 5 people comfortable. Also thank you for mentioning the restaurante services, animation and staff.
Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to meeting you on your next trip to Santa Susanna.
Kind regards,
Aqua Hotel Montagut.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We have just returned from a 14 night stay at this hotel with our 3 daughters aged 16, 13 & 10 and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. I must admit I was a bit dubious about booking originally, after reading a few negative comments on this site, especially regarding the food. But I can honestly say we were very impressed from day one with both the Evening Meals and the Breakfasts. There is so much choice on offer and we felt that anyone would be able to find something they liked from their very well presented buffet. Breakfast was varied from fruit, cheeses, cold meats, croissants, small pastries, cereals, hot food with a different variety of sausages, potatoes, eggs and there was even a glass of Bubbly on offer to have with some salmon ! Same with the evening meals, different meat dishes every evening, many salads, rice dishes etc etc, so many to mention. My middle daughter has a wheat/gluten allergy and there was certainly a number of things on offer for her to eat every day. I did email the hotel before we travelled and they arranged for a plate of gluten free products for her every day and never forgot to bring it to our table. We would like to thank the Restaurant staff very much for their hard work and efficiency and who always had a smile, especially Enric and Miquel who work tirelessly to keep things in order.
We booked a standard Suite for the 5 of us which was quite sufficient, very clean and spacious for what you want. Our Suite was on the road side and yes we did hear some noise but nothing too disturbing and with older children it is not really a problem. The hotel is situated within walking distance of the beach and there are many bars and restaurants nearby. The train station is also close by which takes you into Barcelona in one hour and very reasonable at 7 Euros 70 per person. The hotel entertainment also caters for all ages and was very good, as was the hotel staff who look after the smaller children and keep them entertained during the day and early evening. The only negative comment we would have is, as always in hotels all over the world is the SUNBEDS by the pool. We really felt that a member of staff (perhaps the lifeguard?) should monitor people leaving towels on sunbeds and if they are not sitting on them after breakfast, the towels should be removed for others to use the beds. Some guests were leaving towels on them first thing in the morning and not returning to the pool until 3pm!! The only answer otherwise is to do what we did and remove them yourselves!! Thank you to all the staff, we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Buddies3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Dear Buddies3,
Thank you so much for your positive review on your recent stay in Santa Susanna. We are delighted to read that your family enjoyed the service.
Kind regards and many thanks,
Aqua Hotel Montagut.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We booked this hotel a number of months ago and travelled as a 5. We took 3 children, 9, 5 & 3. This is a very good hotel. I wouldn’t consider it a 4 star but a very good 3. We chose this hotel because it accommodates 5, we also booked an upgraded room with full board (all inclusive is not offered here). The receptionist was welcoming, but having read previous reviews beforehand we were a little concerned that we had been allocated the road side of the hotel as previous reports considered it noisy. We were in 529, first impressions were pleasing, room very clean, plenty of linen well stocked bathroom and spacious. We also read about the concerns over the food, they must have improved as we have very little to complain about as the food at breakfast, lunch and dinner was very good for this type of hotel. Also have to agree with the reports about the entertainment, most of which was enjoyable and lively and ends at 11.00 which is reasonable. The good stuff; the staff especially restaurant, bar and animation team are fantastic, this hotel appears woefully understaffed, but they manage to keep it going like clockwork – they work extremely hard and are a credit to this hotel chain. On some occasions this transpires into queues for breakfast and dinner not because of lack of tables but simple lack of staff to clear them. The Hotel is very clean, smells beautiful, the rooms are a good standard and the maids are unbelievably efficient. The bad stuff; the outdoor pool is small and it is built up on all sides of the hotel so I felt a little claustrophobic, I presented a small problem to one of the reception staff and I was dismissed like an foolish foreigner for asking why our mini fridge was not cold, ‘this is how mini bars work sir’ was the repost. If you are put on the roadside and have a young children and wish to sleep before 1.00am ask for a different room and do not take no for an answer. We asked to change room on the Friday we arrived and were told we could upgrade for an extra 40 Euros per night (an extra 400 Euros in total) even though we had bought an upgraded room, also we wouldn’t hear the noise as we were on the 5th floor. How wrong we were to trust that advice, the hotel on the opposite corner must have the speakers from a U2 concert it is the loudest entertainment I have ever heard and I have been travelling with children for 8-years. None of us slept until well after 12.30-1.00am. The worst night is a Saturday, once the noisy neighbour pipes down the bars below start – until 4am, but generally only on a weekend. Finally after a row with mini bar lady on Tuesday morning we were moved to 217 on the opposite side, smaller room, still tidy, leaking tap and a dreadful bed, but quiet and hurrah.. the mini bar was cold. Once normal (ish) sleep patterns resumed the rest of the holiday was extremely enjoyable and relaxing, the children loved it. Very good mix of languages even beat a Russian at Pool! Good holiday, nice hotel (with the right room), great staff, nice and friendly, good location for Blanes and Barcelona. Would I go back, no I don’t think so – not quite the 4-star treatment the likes of Barceló offer.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep stay on the pool side - not on the roadside at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

we have just returned after a 5 night stay at the Montagut, the hotel is lovely its modern, spacious, immaculate and smells divine as you walk through all public areas, the staff are cheerfull and very helpfull, we were given a kettle for our room within 10 mins of arriving even though it states no tea/coffee facilities, it was no prob once we politely asked, the dining room is busy but very organised and quite relaxing despite the ammount of people in there, we were a party of 5 and all of us enjoyed the food both evening and mornings, there is a limited choice on the main courses and i think you would struggle if you were expecting "good old British food " but dont let this put you off the salads and fresh fruit were plentyfull, good fresh fish every night and an array of spanish dishes overall we are all quite fussy eaters not so much as in variety, but in quality and we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals , i would definately recommend this hotel to my friends and family....

Room Tip: hotel is a 5min stroll from the hustle and bustle
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shimbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida Park
Hotel Florida Park
#6 of 21 in Santa Susanna
515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#10 of 21 in Santa Susanna
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites

Property: Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Address: Torrento de Can Gelat s/n, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Susanna
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brilliant destination. Hotel Montagut Suites offers spacious, well equipped suites to provide you the comfort you deserve. Situated in Santa Susanna some 150m from the beach, it has a landscaped pool area, play areas for children as well as a well equipped MINICLUB and an outdoor garden area where endless fun can be had. Our beautifully constructed restaurant with glass surroundings which gives our guests the chance to eat in a truly special environment. Enjoy our vast, elaborate and extensive buffet. Guests can also enjoy the various facilities the hotel can offer situated around the main bar area which includes a quiet reading area, games area, wi-fi, and the opportunity to enjoy your favorite drink or cocktail on the terrace whilst enjoying the nightly entertainment. The hotel also has outdoor parking available. Dogs are allowed (max. 5 kg). Whether you are with your partner, family or friends ... Montagut Suites offers a kind, personalized service. You will enjoy a superb holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Santa Susana
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites Spain/Santa Susanna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing