We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel but the most uncomfortable beds ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week in a junior suite and were very impressed with the room. It had a living room with double sofa bed, tv and lots of storage. This led to a good sized balcony with 2 recliner plastic chairs. Separate bedroom with 2 single beds as is common in Spain and good sized bathroom. The only thing that let down the room which looked quite recently refurbished was the beds. I have never lay on worse and could not sleep as they were so uncomfortable. We had to sleep 3 people on sofa bed as the beds so bad which was a shame as if they upgraded the beds this hotel would have excellent rooms. My other niggle is they charge €1.50 for every pool towel you use. Just not acceptable in a 4* hotel. Yes they are free in superior rooms but should be free for everyone. Safe costs €18 a week plus €10 deposit. Again in 4* hotel safe should be free. Mind you we were only in pool twice it was so cold took your breath away and too cold for my 7months baby who loves swimming. Food on half board good and restaurant staff friendly. Miniclub was good my 4 year old enjoyed it and Valerie was excellent however she did her best with limited resources. Hotel needs to invest a bit of money on new equipment and put a more robust child protection policy in place as children wandered in and out of club with minimal parental supervision. Small playpark is good but health hassard as soft tiles on ground have moss growing making them so slippery I saw a few children slip and hurt themselves. These need replaced. If the hotel made these few improvements it would be fantastic and improve guest experience. Good location 5 min walk to Carrefour large supermarket which is well priced. Fridge in room but no kettle and very limited tv stations. 2 min walk from main strip and beach. Santa suzanna nice little town. Train station to Barcelona €4.90 single but we were charged €7 for taxi to hotel when we arrived. 2 min drive so rip off!!! All in all a pleasant holiday but please aqua hotel invest a little money to make your nice hotel an excellent one.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Glitter-Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Reading the last three reviews, l'm beginning to wonder if l stayed at the same hotel as these reviewers. We stayed at the Montagut for 7 nights in mid-May. The holiday should have been 9 nights but was shortened by the French Air Traffic Controllers strike and Ryan Air cancelling our first flight. However, l have been reviewing on trip advisor for 4 years and try to give a truthful account of my experience at the hotel. The hotel is clean, the staff are generally pleasant and the professional entertainment l saw was very good. But l have to disagree with others regarding the quality and presentation of the food. There were very few English guests and the food was definitely aimed at guests from other European countries. The plates for hot food were cold and the salad did not have much variety. The desserts were strange and the jelly in particular was weak and without much flavour. Another English guest (l did find one) was really disappointed as she had been to the hotel 2 years previously and the food had been good.
As for the 'suites' that word is a bit of an exaggeration for the accommodation and furnishings offered. The bedroom didn't have a chair to put clothes on but hooks and a rail on the wall. The first sheets on the bed had a few splits in them and the bed was really hard. This year
l have stayed in three 4 star hotels before the Montagut and been extremely satisfied so l am not a habitual complainer. This hotel is probably more suitable for families than couples such as myself and my husband

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maxibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We visited the Montagut in June 2014 and I have to say that I was extremely pleased with the quality of this hotel. Our party consisted of six adults and five children aged seven to thirteen. Check-in was swift and efficient and the rooms were clean and fairly spacious compared to others I've stayed in. The room is cleaned every day and bedding can be changed halfway through the week if you wish.

The pool area was very good although the pool is a bit on the small side. There are more than enough sun-loungers but what was lacking around the pool was some chairs and tables with umbrellas where you could sit with a drink and keep an eye on the children in the pool. Not everybody wants to sit on a sun-lounger.

The food is of an excellent standard and is as varied as it is plentiful. I'm not sure what other reviewers meant when they said that there was 'no kid's food'. To me 'kid's food' is the same food as I eat, just less of it.

There's not a great deal to do in the resort other than the usual beach, bars, restaurants and nightclubs but there is more than enough for the committed shopaholic. The resort is clean and well-kept and the main road between the beach and the hotels is surprisingly quiet and Spanish drivers appear calm and courteous especially at the many zebra crossings. In sharp contrast to my recent trip to funchal in Madeira.There is an underpass to cross the railway close to the Montagut so there was little effort to get to the beach. The beach is very coarse sand and the water goes deep very quickly so adult supervision is essential for small children. One huge annoyance is the number of hawkers on the beach selling massages, hair-braiding, fruit, watches and sunglasses. They are very persistent and will not leave you alone. I was told by one African watch seller that it was rude to ignore them. I told him in no uncertain terms that I considered it rude of them to pester me when I just want to relax on the beach. The local authorities need to take action.

The entertainment is of a very good standard and is suitable for all the family even if it does start a bit late at 10 o'clock. There is a mini disco every night for the children which always goes down well. There are activities around the pool during the day usually orchestrated by the inimmitable Chocolat. He is a fun character but he really needs to learn some more English as he says the same few phrases over and over.

On the negative side, and it really is nit-picking, there should be tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. Also, one of the barmen, Luis is quite rude and abrupt. Management need to have a word. The other barman, Manu is friendly and chatty. The bath/shower is quite slippery and could do with a rubber bathmat.

All in all, a very enjoyable holiday, well worth what we paid for it. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Client,
We are very glad to read your nice comments about your stay in our hotel Aqua Hotel Montagut***S
To satisfy and make sure that the clients can enjoy their holidays is one of our priorities and
knowing that you have enjoyed yours in a big compliment for us.
Thank you very much for chooising our hotel for your holidays and we hope to see again in the future.
Friendly Regards
Ana Rivas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I have visited Santa Susanna many times and this was the best hotel we have stayed in. Perfectly clean and wide variety of good quality of food.

The pool area was lovely - plenty of sun loungers and drinks/snacks brought to you throughout the day if you wanted them .

The hotel was a short walk to the beach and you pass a few shops and bars along the way.

Can't wait to come back again very soon hopefully.

Stayed: June 2014
7  Thank JoanneSimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Client,
Thank you very much fot the time you took in writing your impressions about our hotel
after your visit. Your opinion is very important for us to improve the quality of our services.
We would love to see you again soon and onbehalf of all the at Aqua Hotel Montagut****S
Best regards
Ana Rivas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Very nice to stay in a 4 star hotel that is actually up to 4 star standard. Excellent food and service all round. The spa is a bit pricey but looked good. My only gripe is the expensive charge for using the car park. The children's club caters for 4+ ages but if your child is younger they are still welcome but must be accompanied by an adult. The station is just across the road and costs around 9 euros return to Barcelona and takes about 1.25 hrs or just go up and down the coast. Its a quiet resort popular with older ppl as its very flat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear client,
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Thank you very much for your nice comment about your experience in Aqua Hotel Montagut****S.
We hope to see you again soon.
Friendly regards in name of the whole Aqua Hotel Montagut staff.
Ana Rivas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed during may half term hotel very nice rooms big very Clean downside evening meal did not cater for kids at all no separate kids station my daughter ate chips everyday night as noting else available at all also beach is not sandy it is more like crushed shell hurts your feet even going into sea u will need beach shoes as sometimes shells can be very sharp I also felt the kids disco was ok but the staff didn't feel very into it information at the hotel was ok but lack of information sometimes was a problem it was an ok hotel, big disappointment was no kids food in the and beach was not sand wouldn't go to Santa susanna again

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Excellent hotel.
Rooms are all suites so children can be with parents but grandparents can have privacy in own suite.
Food excellent. Very good choice and always hot and freshly cooked.
Kids club available, only used once when rained but was very good.
Near by train to visit Barcelona.
Only 250 m from beach.
Staff friendly and helpful and hotel clean and always plenty of hot water!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Client,
Thank you very much for your kind words. For us it's a great pleasure to hear that you' ve had a wonderful stay in our Aqua Hotel Montagut****S and that you've enjoyed the rooms and our services. Also we want to thank you by mentioning our staff.
We would love to see you again soon and on behalf of all the team at Aqua Hotel Montagut****S
Ana Rivas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#9 of 21 in Santa Susanna
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,200 reviews
0.1 mi away
H.TOP Royal Sun
H.TOP Royal Sun
#15 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida Park
Hotel Florida Park
#7 of 21 in Santa Susanna
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites

Address: Torrento de Can Gelat s/n, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Susanna
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range: £47 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brilliant destination. Hotel Montagut Suites offers spacious, well equipped suites to provide you the comfort you deserve. Situated in Santa Susanna some 150m from the beach, it has a landscaped pool area, play areas for children as well as a well equipped MINICLUB and an outdoor garden area where endless fun can be had. Our beautifully constructed restaurant with glass surroundings which gives our guests the chance to eat in a truly special environment. Enjoy our vast, elaborate and extensive buffet. Guests can also enjoy the various facilities the hotel can offer situated around the main bar area which includes a quiet reading area, games area, wi-fi, and the opportunity to enjoy your favorite drink or cocktail on the terrace whilst enjoying the nightly entertainment. The hotel also has outdoor parking available. Dogs are allowed (max. 5 kg). Whether you are with your partner, family or friends ... Montagut Suites offers a kind, personalized service. You will enjoy a superb holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Santa Susana
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites Spain/Santa Susanna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing