We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A boutique style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Myself 31yrs and my mother 55yrs, stayed here on an all inclusive basis from 11-15th June. Check in was ok, however the staff have a basic knowledge of English. We had a twin room on the 3rd floor and this was very clean. Beds were comfortable, the bathroom had a rain shower and was equipped with shampoo, dental products etc. However could have done with a shelf or two to place products whilst showering. The room had a balcony which had a nice white sofa and overlooked the sea. The other view to the front of us was where the works were being carried out, so this did cause disturbance throughout the day. We couldn’t sit by the pool and had to go onto the beach as the noise was too much. The pool area was nice, clean and had sun loungers as well as beds kind of had an Ibiza/Marbella feel to it but minus the hard core music! We were on the beach and there is a designated area for the hotel guests, we had to pay 3 Euros per sun lounger and 3 Euros per umbrella. The only downside of being on the beach is that you constantly get pestered by people selling body massages. I mean one asks and you say no and before you know it the next one is asking you the same question! The hotel food was great and the chef’s would cook fish and meat for you as you request. All food was fresh and varied on different days, the staff in the restaurant were great. Being on an all inclusive also included free wine and the wine was defiantly of a high class. The bar is nice a classy and staff here are also very warming. Management was always present especially in the restaurant but never interacted with the guests, this would have been nice as we can give feedback. Being a 4* hotel I would have liked for the safe to be free in the room but you have to pay a 10 euro’s deposit and 4 Euros per day to have. Towel hire is available with a 10 euro deposit per towel. The spa in the hotel is nice with a pool, stream, sauna and also jet wash shower which are awesome. Location is great with a train station near by which takes you to Barcelona. There are many Shops and restaurants to keep you entertained. Overall this was def a nice relaxing hotel and we will visit here again. Next time I’m sure the hotel will be 100% completed as it was only 4 weeks old when we went.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Priya28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

819 - 825 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

This year we were for the 3th time in Spain. After Sevilla and Allicante we visited now Santa Suzannna from 6th till 13 june in a perfect renovated hotel. It is well located and directly on the beach. The staff and management was very friendly and helpfull. It is very quiet for no children are allowed in the hotel.
In this very modern hotel and the rooms are large. However it is a pitty that de AC did not work perfectly.On the lower floors the temperature was agreable but on the topfloor (7th) it was very hot to sleep well (25 gr C). The problem lies in the system and is not easy to fix although the manager was very kind and helpfull. We liked the stay because you can go to the beach and also visite Barcelona. You can do that by train and cost less than 10 euros.
Certainly we come back

Room Tip: The rooms on topfloor are the hottest. Rooms on westside (view on sea and camping) and room on seasi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Maravas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is a top quality hotel,were we stayed for a week from the 1st June 2013.We found the hotel to have friendly staff, who were obliging in every aspect of our holiday, most staff spoke excelent english, and were very knowledgeable and were happy to make you feel welcome and special as a guest.The hotel felt like a small family run hotel, which offers a relaxing stay.
This modern hotel which was furnished to a high specification, having that plush colour co- ordinated feel throughout the hotel.On researching this hotel before our holiday we found the photos to be true to how we found the hotel including the bedrooms.We were all inclusive, and found the restaurant to offer a wide range of food choice, were the chef offered fresh meat and fish,to be cooked in front of you,for lunch and evening meal along with freshly cooked omelete for breakfast, the restaurant manager along with his staff were extremly helpful.The restaurant, and in fact the whole hotel, was cleaned to a high standard.The bar offered a wide selection for all inclusive clients, along with staff who we felt produced the best cocktails in spain. It was very clear to see that the happy vision of the hotel manager reflected through the whole staff throughout the whole hotel. This hotel is positioned well,it has sea front location,is close to santa susanna train station, and offers lots of places to walk if you are like us, and enjoy walking. Mr and Mrs Barry Y Canterbury Kent

Room Tip: If you would like the afternoon sun on the balcony,ask for rooms that face Pineda de mar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Barry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Gerente at ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Barry,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you in particular for recognizing our staff and the service that they provide to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Hotel Manager
Fergus Style Mar Mediterrania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The hotel itself is absolutely superb. It is in a perfect location, right on the beach. It is spotlessly clean. All the staff from cleaners to management are all very friendly and helpful. The only thing that stopped this from being 5* (would have given it 4.5 if poss) was the fact that the food went cold quickly because it was served on cold plates, which is a shame because the meals actually tasted delicious. Every mealtime has plenty of choice. At breakfast, omelettes and fried eggs etc are cooked on request in front of you. At lunch and dinner, the same applies to fish and meat dishes. At dinner, as well as fish and meat/chicken being cooked fresh, there is also a chef cooking stir-fries - again on request. We stayed all inclusive, but the bar didn't open until 11 am, which meant that if you wanted a coffee between breakfast and 11 am, you had to pay for it. We hired a car, but if you want to use public transport, there is a train station and a bus-stop outside the hotel. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay and we would return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lynn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Hi we stayed for ten days at this fergus hotel from 9th to 19th June on recommendation from my friend who lives in malgrat. When we arrived we checked in with a pleasant receptionist but who's English was a little to be desired and was directed to out room 703 on the seventh floor. On first impression I was impressed as the hotel is a contemporary white a fashionable establishment but when we entered our room we noticed that the glass on one of the pannels on the balcony was smashed although still held together as it was toughened glass.As I looked around the room I noticed the bed light hanging off the wall and masking tape dangling from the wardrobe. I rang reception so they wouldn't think I had done these things and a technician came up about 2 hours later after I had unpacked he also tuned the tv in as it had never been used before he again didn't speak hardly any English so had to use my small knowledge of Spanish, he said we could change room another 2 hours later was shown another across the hall but the view wasn't as good and it was smaller so he said you stay in room I come tomorrow will fix but in ten days never saw him again. We went for breakfast the next am which although was ok not 4 star the bacon is just fat and hot food is cold continental is fine so only went once more and ate out the rest of the holiday for breakfast as we had only booked bed and breakfast. The furnishings are minimal but I liked that but would have preferred a bin in the bath room which has a lovely shower also the beds are comfortable and fresh linen each day the maids were lovely. For the whole holiday we had no air conditioning although complained 5 times and all they could say was shut the room balcony door which we knew that was the only way it was supposed to work we wasn't stupid one night was woken by water running out of it and a pool of water all over the floor, I believe a lot of people had problems with this. I knew the hotel wasn't quite finished yet but woken every day by diggers and work men shouting to finish things at 7.30 , and a bar being put up at the front on the beach dogging things to get on it! Not my idea of relaxing. The hotel is lovely but wish I had gone when it was properly finished!!!

Room Tip: Top floor facing Bon repos view stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

A great hotel to relax.. Warm welcome and friendly staff. Very stylish and modern. Rooms are spacious and the terrace is lovely overlooking the sea. Hotel has wifi!
The food is excellent with plenty of choice; something for everyone.
Fantastic location right on the beachfront in Santa Susanna. For those looking to discover more of the area the train to Barcelona is closeby.
I would certainly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Book in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Gerente at ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Molly,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments and for recommending the Fergus Style Mar Mediterrania to other travellers. We hope to be able to welcome you back one day!

Best regards,

Gabriel Besserer
Manager
Fergus Style Mar Mediterrania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Some of the reviews here are a little effusive! We stayed here for a long weekend recently, and yes it is a lovely hotel. Although the rooms are clean and fresh, the furnishings are minimal and the floor cover is a covering, not tiles or carpet. We got a special offer, B&B for €75 per room per night, and our request for a double bed wasn't granted.
The bathroom was nice and modern with a great shower (tropical rain) and a very good supply of toiletries, including toothbrushes and razors. Towels are changed daily, but there is a €10 deposit required for towels for the deck.
Our room 202, overlooked the campsite grounds next door. We did have a side view of the sea and also of the street. There was work going on in the camp grounds on Friday evening, but not over the weekend. It didn't bother us, but it might bother you.
After two nights, one of us had to leave and the other stayed on for two more nights. The staff were very accommodating, changing the rate to half board at his request. However, the wait at reception was too long. There was always a queue when we needed to speak to someone, and only the manager seemed to be able to deal with bookings, so we had to queue to ask, and then come back two hours later and queue again to speak to the manager.
There are some great restaurants nearby, and if I were only going for a weekend I would prefer to eat out than have full or half board. The food in the restaurant is better than I have experienced at other Spanish hotels, but the buffet is fairly typical. The chef is on hand to cook the daily fish or meat dish and also for breakfast to make your omelette. There was also a wok with stir fry option.
In the bar, there were two price lists, on for all inclusive guests and one for others. Some premium brands have an extra charge, but there is a wide selection of brands available to AI guests at no extra charge. I thought this was a good feature of the hotel.
The deck area is nicely laid out with 'beds' and sun loungers, well spaced apart, not like in some of the neighbouring hotels.
The location on the beach is a big plus.
Another big plus is the adult-only rule. That allows for some lovely delicate ornaments and flowers in the public areas, and the absence of children gives the hotel a peaceful, relaxing air.
HOWEVER - the constant musak was hard to listen to!!! It was the ONLY thing that would put me off this hotel.
Would I stay again? Certainly. But next time I'll bring an iPod:-)

Room Tip: Rooms nearest the lifts are also nearest the street, farthest from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank magscork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FergusOnline, Gerente at ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear Magscork,
It has been very interesting to read your extended and detailed review, we appreciate your effort to write it. The positive/realistic feedback is very important to us and it stimulates us to work even harder and to provide supreme service to our guests.

We are glad to hear that you are going to recommend our hotel and that you are going to visit us again:

Best regards,

Gabriel Besserer
Manager
Fergus Style Mar Mediterrania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#9 of 21 in Santa Susanna
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
424 reviews
0 mi away
H.TOP Royal Sun
H.TOP Royal Sun
#15 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,081 reviews
0.4 mi away
Montemar Maritim
Montemar Maritim
#5 of 21 in Santa Susanna
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania

Address: Passeig Maritim, s/n, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain (Formerly FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range: £58 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania Hotel invites you to discover a beach hotel in Santa Susanna for adults and couples: an oasis of relax and calmness at the foot of Barcelona coast, with a privileged atmosphere. Located at the beachfront of Santa Susanna, in one of the best areas of Brava coast and Maresme coast, the FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania Hotel stands out for its high quality standards, its modern and minimalist decoration and its exceptional services designed for you to enjoy every moment: buffet restaurant, thematic dinners, Jacuzzi, Chill Out area, cocktail lounge, Junior Suites, all inclusive... Diving in the swimming pool in front of the sea, lying under the sun in large terraces or enjoying a luxury and wellness afternoon in the exclusive spa and fitness room... The FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania is full of proposals especially designed to the liking of our most demanding guests. An authentic luxury in the heart of Barcelona coast. Discover a fabulous hotel in Santa Susanna in the FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania Spain/Santa Susanna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing