We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Im here now and loving every minute .. excellent hotel friendly staff. ..clean .. next to beach .quick check in .. good food..smart little hotel and plenty of sunshine .. im happy and couldn't ask for anything more x

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank welltravelled21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

691 - 697 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

So I am one for only booking holidays that have 4 or 4.5 out of 5 satisfaction for reviews, hence why we booked to come here. I thought it seemed a very positive hotel with great reviews. We are currently at the hotel and I would usually wait to get home to write a review but I am so frustrated with this place I feel it is necessary now.

Firstly I am currently waiting for a drink, I have been for half hour. There is only 1/2 people serving max, 1 bar and about 50 guests. Do the maths and = a very long wait for a drink!!! The rule about only one drink per person is pathetic and obviously does nothing to speed up the service!! However, the drinks are quality I must add.

Secondly, try getting a sun bed... Not going to happen! They are all crammed in like sardines too which makes trying to sunbathe quite difficult if you like a bit of privacy.

Santa Susanna is dull. We are a couple in our early twenties, we didn't come looking for clubs but at least a nice lively bar would have been nice... Not a chance.

The food is pretty poor! Cold and mostly all fish! We are currently living off the snacks in between meals, toasted sandwich.. At least it's warm food!!!!!!

The only good thing I would say is the rooms. Very modern and clean and comfortable.

I will not be coming here again and urge anyone looking, if you don't like cold food, sunbathing in the shade, waiting half hour for 1 drink and nothing to do of a night.. Then seriously think about booking this place.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
12  Thank SandLHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Lovely friendly, modern and clean hotel on the beach at Santa Susanna.
Close to Malgrat (beautiful old town) and only an hour from Barcelona.
Just be aware that you need to relax and not get upset if the bar staff are a little slow serving you ... you have all day!!
Extra charges apply for the beach bar food and drinks , even though it is attached to the hotel.
Will definitely return and would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room number 01-10 on any of the 7 floors, as they have afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

To clear one thing up before my review, as the title says not every room has a sea view. This is important as the hotel and some (including our) agent sell the holiday on that basis. I have attached an image from the inside of the room we were given upon arrival.

The Hotel is in the Hotel District of Santa Susanna. There is not much in the area accept a line of shops selling similar holiday items. The best thing about the area is in fact the train station which has great links to Blanes, Barcelona etc.

Staff in general are polite and give a good service, specifically in the Restaurant. The bar is a little maverick and at one stage one bartender was serving me a drink while seemingly accusing me of staying at another hotel and stealing the all inclusive band.

Food is pretty standard, you will not go hungry nor tell tales of the fine dining.

Rooms are very nice, 2 twin beds, flat screen tv, walk in shower and all cleaned each day. The outlook from the room depends on floor and which side of the hotel. Initially we were on floor 1 which was the terrace and basically people walked out of the bar and almost into our room, no privacy at all. We faced the hotel opposite and all day and night there was noise from coaches arriving, other traffic and all sorts of coming and going. Even when we were moved up to floor 4 the noise was dreadful but the view was then lovely. Having a private balcony makes a big difference and in my opinion the hotels insistence that every room has a sea view is misleading. The rooms facing the other camp side have a much quieter outlook.

The pool area is nice if you like to sit about sunbathing as is the beach area.

All in all we were not totally happy here, however part of that was our fault for not researching the area better. If all you want to do is sit around the pool all day and drink the all inclusive drinks this is a lovely place.

Room Tip: Above Floor 2 on camp side facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Poppyycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Fantastic hotel. Just as it looked on the website, very modern and stylish echoes of Art Deco architecture. The service was excellent never had to wait at the bar which had the frendliest staff ever. We got bar service around the pool area every day which we didn't expect and also in the evening aroung the edge of the beach bar area where we used to sit with a drink in hand watching the world go by. The restaurant was very good, never ate the same thing twice and good quality. Plenty of selection considering it's not the largest hotel in the world. We had a small problem on arrival when i was disappointed to have a ground floor room on the terrace rather than a balcony. However, the reception staff and the hotel manager could not have been more helpful and professional and offered to see about moving us the next day. By the following day we decided not to move as the benefits of being on the terrace outweighed not having a balclony, we got many thanks from the management with a rose and strawberries and chocolate left in our room. We stayed all inclusive which was excellent value for money. Wasn't a problem to us it finished at 11.30pm as we are not night owls. Good location right on the beach which was lovely to take a walk right along past a large campsite to the next beach near the railway station. We took a train into Barcelona for the day which was very straightforward and a lovely hours ride right along the coast. Well worth a visit being so closeby which was one of the reasons we chose this hotel. All in all an ecxellent week's holiday and we were lucky with the weather with only a couple of dull mornings. Very relaxing in a wonderful stylish hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right hand side overlooking the forested campsite are best as the sun comes around here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 46RV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Ok the hotel is probably the best looking in the area, refurbished, nice and clean, nice beds. No restocking of shampoo etc which you get everywhere now! I would not go there again. I know it was the start of the season but the service at the bar, supposedly bars, there is only one was absolutely dire. The beach bar charges 50 percent for AI customers - why on earth would you pay that! The bar man complained to holiday makers that there was not enough staff, cups, glasses, plates etc. one woman had to wait 20 minutes for a cup of coffee. I asked for a vodka tonic, gin and tonic and a cup of tea. Was told its only 1 drink each at a time - I was with my sister - seriously thought he was joking. Needless to say I didn't get my cup of tea! People complained and the black suites arrived.OMG suddenly waiter service around the pool, never before, never again! If the service had been like that all the time it would have been great. Bar at night a nightmare- not enough staff - if you queued at the bar told very rudely to sit down and wait for waiter service- there was 1 waiter. Also no or very little entertainment. After 11.30PM you have to pay for everything. If you miss breakfast by the way you can not get a drink before11.30 AI. Food- restaurant very small - food always cold and not a good selection! Spa is rubbish.
Sorry had a rant! Just disappointed.
If you are used to good 4 star and 5 star hotels don't go.
Also the resort is horrible.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonnaB171262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel B, Gerente at ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear DonnaB171262,
thank you for taking the time on sharing your experience and point of view of the hotel.
It is a shame you could not enjoy your stay because of our rules, but for us it is very important to try to follow them in order to keep a good atmospher. That is why we give all our All-Inclusive guests a description of the all ainclusive service on the check-in, letting them know our terms of use, including schedules, The All-Inclusive service applies only inside the hotel premisses. On the Sea Club, which is on the beach, we make a 50% discount.
Right now, we have also opened another snck-service spot with tea, coffe and juice facilities, so the waiting is a little less and you can enjoy more at all times.

Regarding the food temperature, we know some guests like their food not just hot, but extremely hot. Unfortunatelly, we cannot keep the food on the buffet boiling, or it would overcook. We keep the temperatures between those marked by the sanitary laws. Anyways we have a microwave available in the dinning room in case anybody would like to warm it up a bit more.

Once again i want to thank you for your time taken and wish you a very good day.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Santa Susanna is a wonderful small town with gorgeous beaches for lazy holidays. Fergus itself is a very comfortable hotel located right next to the sea shore. It's clean, cozy; breakfasts are just great with a great variety of fruits and vegetables. One of the most peculiar things about Fergus is that all rooms have great terraces with sea-view, so that you can enjoy marvelous views staying in your room, especially when it's raining. Another cool thing is that there's a train station within a 5-minutes walk from the hotel, which can bring you to the Barcelona city center within an hour or so. We combined active sight seeing in Barcelona with sun bathing days in Santa Susanna to restore our energy for the next day.

Room Tip: All (!) rooms have terraces with gorgeous sea view. You can take any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Olia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel B, Gerente at ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Olia C,
it is a pleasure for us to know you had such a good time staying with us. Thank you for sharing it with the tripadvisor comunity and all of us.
We will keep on working on our service.

Hope to see you back in a not far future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#9 of 21 in Santa Susanna
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
420 reviews
0.0 mi away
H.TOP Royal Sun
H.TOP Royal Sun
#13 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
#6 of 21 in Santa Susanna
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania

Address: Passeig Maritim, s/n, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain (Formerly FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Susanna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range: £56 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania Hotel invites you to discover a beach hotel in Santa Susanna for adults and couples: an oasis of relax and calmness at the foot of Barcelona coast, with a privileged atmosphere. Located at the beachfront of Santa Susanna, in one of the best areas of Brava coast and Maresme coast, the FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania Hotel stands out for its high quality standards, its modern and minimalist decoration and its exceptional services designed for you to enjoy every moment: buffet restaurant, thematic dinners, Jacuzzi, Chill Out area, cocktail lounge, Junior Suites, all inclusive... Diving in the swimming pool in front of the sea, lying under the sun in large terraces or enjoying a luxury and wellness afternoon in the exclusive spa and fitness room... The FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania is full of proposals especially designed to the liking of our most demanding guests. An authentic luxury in the heart of Barcelona coast. Discover a fabulous hotel in Santa Susanna in the FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania Spain/Santa Susanna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing