We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautifull hotel ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I was amazed because the hotel is so pretty. And the people who worke there are the most nice people i ever met in a hotel. The pool is perfect and the distance to the beach is amazing. Cocktails were also gorgeous, i really want to go back! The beds around the hotel were also very pretty and romantic. The service was the best. The food was good but not that special. I really liked my time here and a week is way too short. The beachbar was my favorite place to be, the food there is wonderfull the people are nice and the dj is playing relaxing music all day. A real recommend for everybody. I hope to come back sooner than later, thank you!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Vere V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel B, Gerente at ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Vere V,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are very glad to know you had such a good time with us and enjoyed your stay so much. I will make sure to pass your comments on to all the staff.
We will keep on working on improving our services so next time you come visit us, we can surprise you once more.

Kind regards from all the Fergus team.
Wishing you a great day...

Sincerelly,

Gabriel B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is the second year we have stayed at Mar Mediterrania and we aim to return in 2015, the hotel just gets better each time ....
Thank you to Gabriel and his wonderful team for looking after us and thank you to Alejandro for his refreshingly tasty cocktails.
We upgraded to a suite/all inclusive, the view from our room of the sea & pool is breathtaking. Food & Drink excellent. lots of choice...
We visited Barcelona for the day, traveled by train, which is very reasonably priced and easy to use.
See you next year :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel B, Gerente at ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Hello Mrs. Angela B and daughter..

It was a great pleasure for all of us to see you again. I am very glad you had such a good time and could make the max of your stay. As you have noticed, we like surprising you with something new every time... and we will keep on doing so.
Thank you for taking the time for sharing your comments with all of us.

Already waiting for your return.

Kind regards from everybody at Mar Mediterrania.

Sincerelly,

Gabriel B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We loved every moment of our stay at the Mar Mediterrania hotel and were sad to have to leave!

We arrived to a complimentary bottle of cava in our room, which after a 10 hour flight delay was very much appreciated! We then woke up to a beautiful view of the sea and pool from our balcony.

The hotel is situated on the beach, which makes a lovely setting for lazing around the pool.
Like at most hotels, you need to get up early to get a sun bed as there are limited beds available.
On the days we didn't manage to get a sun bed, we went to the beach where you pay a discounted rate of £3 per sun bed per day.

The hotel supplied beach towels and bath robes with a £10 deposit for each item. This service was great as you could exchange for clean,dry towels as often as you liked.

The hotel was kept really clean, and there were many special touches which made our stay even better. On my partner's birthday a bottle of cava was left in our room along with a birthday card from the hotel.
I also received a red rose in the restaurant on Saturday night.

We stayed half board and enjoyed all our meals at the hotel.
Although both myself and partner are vegetarians, there was always a good choice of food at breakfast and dinner.

The hotel is also only a 1hour,10minute train ride into the centre of Barcelona. The trains run daily every 30minutes from around 6am - midnight. The reception staff gave us all the information we needed to get into the city - It is definitely worth the day trip!

All in all, we had a great week.

The only negative point was the 20Euro charge for the safe for the week. (4Euros per day alternatively). This seemed an unnecessary charge.

5 stars from us - We would love to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the campsite side of the hotel as these are quieter and there are no further hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel B, Gerente at ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Katie N,

First of all, i want to thank you for your time taken in sharing you comments and opinions with all the tripadvisor community. They are very important to us and they let us know what we are doing right and wrong and tell us about our guests satisfaction.

I am glad you had such a good time and enjoyed your stay with us. We like surprising our guests, and if we find out you are celebrating a special date, well.. we celebrate..

We are looking forward to seing you again.

Kind regards from all Fergus staff.

Sincerelly,

Gabriel B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Having read the mixed reviews before leaving, I was a little apprehensive. Fear not we had a great relaxing chilled seven night stay.
The hotel is clean, staff are friendly, helpful and go the extra mile. The hotel is situated directly on the beach, no problems with loungers the room was clean and comfortable. Not having a kettle in the room was not an issue as tea/coffee is served all day in the restaurant if your all inclusive or else you purchase it for a couple of euros.

First time in adults only and it was bliss - so much more relaxing and quieter. (we have kids)

Variety and quality of food was very good, meats cooked to order, lots of salads, fresh fruit nice deserts and it changed slightly from day to day. The breakfast was usual selection of cold meats, cereals and omelettes. Chef at grill was great as were all the staff at the hotel. Possibly could add some more authentic local Spanish items to the dinner menu eg paella etc. I guess in the main they are catering for specific market and the food reflects this.

Spa is of adequate size and I like the policy of restricting the numbers of people admitted. We used it twice it has a very powerful steam room, sauna and pool/Jacuzzi.

The town is within walking distance, not much of a Spanish feel, more like a purpose built tourist strip.

We had a great time and have returned relaxed, it does what it says on the tin. We would return.
PS Also lovely balcony area off the room which had chairs and seating to have evening drinks with views of the sea made good use of this space!

Room Tip: South side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rade99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel B, Gerente at ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Rade99,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and actually got to know the concept of "adults only". We love it when our guests discover this kind of tranquility and relax that the hotel has to offer.

We will take a good look at the comments regarding the food and maybe we do have to put some more tipical spanish dishes. For sure, next time you come you will find the different changes.

Wishing you a very good day.

Kind regards.

Sincerelly,

Gabriel B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

What a lovely, small, clean, boutique style hotel, right on the beach in santa susanna. If you want relaxation with no noisy kids or screaming babies in a modern, smart looking, efficient hotel then this is ideal. We had 10 nights here and although the weather was a little overcast for a few days it didn't spoil our time here. The facilities are decent, the pool is small but clean, the restaurant food is okay although there were times some of it was lukewarm but the restaurant staff were excellent. They and the bar staff were very professional, always on hand and well turned out. As it's an adult only it was nearly all couples but there was a mixture of ages from early 20's to mid sixties and a number of other different nationalities including dutch and german. The evenings are very quiet here with a singer/guitarist on one night but we were fortunate due to the fact that we met another likeminded couple (Jeff and Tracey) from bradford that kept the evenings a little more entertaining and who we visited a couple of other local bars on the odd evening with. Santa Susanna is a pretty family/low key place with typical restaurants, bars and tourist shops but not in a loud and in yer face way (i.e. no young groups). It's also pretty well located for a day trip to Barcelona, 9.80 euros return for the train which takes just over an hour to the centre of Barcelona but does get very crowded both ways!
Best tip: Cocktails from the bar are very good

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are on the terrace where you get a couple of nice sofas to sunbath on, but the ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samsmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel B, Gerente at ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear samsmob,

Thank you for your kind comments and for the time taken for them. It is a pleasure for us to know you had such a good time. We really hope to see you back in the future and be able to surprise you with new things and ideas we have.

Wishing you a very good week.

Kind regards. Sincerelly,

Gabriel B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just got back from a week at this hotel. It really was a great little hotel. Hotel, food, staff all fab. It was very cosmopolitan and clean. A couple of gripes was the usual fight for sunbeds, the hotel say no saving beds before 9am but this wasn't adhered to. The hotel was on the beach so not too much of a problem except we had to pay for beds on the beach. It is a 4star hotel so I was disappointed to see that the hotel had no dress code for dinner. Lots of people dressed up nicely however some people thought it was acceptable to wear shorts and vest tops and that was just the men!
If you want a nice relaxing holiday give you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Top floor even numbers Trains run at the back of the hotel but very quiet so not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enjoyed133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel B, Gerente at ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear enjoyed133,

Thank you for your comments and the time taken for them. We are very happy to know you had such a good time and enjoyed your stay.

We are working on different changes to improve your experience with us, such as a dress code for dinner and some other things.

We will be pleased to have you staying with us once again in the future.

Kind regards.

Gabriel B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here for 9 nights (Room 614) We were warmly welcomed & given a glass of cava on arrival. First thing you notice is how clean everything is. Food was very good with nice choices. Good quality meats & salads, veg, fruits all fresh. The staff were delightful, friendly & ready to please. Location of the hotel perfect for us being right on the beach, so had no experience of the pool & loungers. The all inclusive gives you branded drinks & wine for dinner is out a bottle & very drinkable! We did buy wine a few nights as we like to try different ones. These were sold to you at half price as we were all incl & were definitely worth buying. Well done to whoever decides what to stock. A big plus getting them half price too. Lovely having young people playing in dining room some nights too. Loved the guy with the long beard & went in early to eat, bought our wine & stayed till he finished. There were a few nights that there was entertainment in bar otherwise it is taped music playing which suited us. Have had my fill of hotel entertainment bingo games etc. If you want that go elsewhere. Another nice thing to see was managers around who mucked in & helped. My only slight criticism is that there wasn't a stricter dress code at night in the dining room. Maybe in future the lounge area along from dining room might be used too. Overall we had a lovely time & have came home relaxed & refreshed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank primmer57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel B, Gerente at ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear primmer57,

It is a pleasure for us to know you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for the kind comments. I will make sure to pass them on to all the staff.

I am really glad you liked our selection of musicians during dinner. We think it is a very nice way to complete dinners... right now, that the weather allows it, we are starting to do some other kind of activities during the night, so we hope to have the possibility for you to enjoy all this .

Many thanks for your comments and the time taken for them.

Best regards from all of us.

Sincerelly,

Gabriel B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#7 of 21 in Santa Susanna
913 reviews
0 mi away
H.TOP Royal Sun
H.TOP Royal Sun
#16 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,080 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida Park
Hotel Florida Park
#6 of 21 in Santa Susanna
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania

Address: Passeig Maritim, s/n, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain (Formerly FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range: £57 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania Hotel invites you to discover a beach hotel in Santa Susanna for adults and couples: an oasis of relax and calmness at the foot of Barcelona coast, with a privileged atmosphere. Located at the beachfront of Santa Susanna, in one of the best areas of Brava coast and Maresme coast, the FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania Hotel stands out for its high quality standards, its modern and minimalist decoration and its exceptional services designed for you to enjoy every moment: buffet restaurant, thematic dinners, Jacuzzi, Chill Out area, cocktail lounge, Junior Suites, all inclusive... Diving in the swimming pool in front of the sea, lying under the sun in large terraces or enjoying a luxury and wellness afternoon in the exclusive spa and fitness room... The FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania is full of proposals especially designed to the liking of our most demanding guests. An authentic luxury in the heart of Barcelona coast. Discover a fabulous hotel in Santa Susanna in the FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania Spain/Santa Susanna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing