We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here for one week with hubby. Few tables set out on beach where you could have a drink. We were lucky to be there when there was a major firework display on 23rd June. Sitting there at midnight watching this in such pleasant temperature was fab. The hotel staff kindly gave us a sea view room, with a wonderful balcony with sofa type furniture. The fridge in room was a bonus too. Hotel itself very modern design.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms are best balcony and view,. Quiet air con too on 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel B, Gerente at ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Jim89,

On behalf of all the FERGUS team, i want thank you for your kind comments and the time taken for them. They are very important to us.
By the way, this particular night you mention, is called the "night of sant joan" and it is the night of fire. This is a tipical holiday here. I am glad you had such a good time. We will be waiting for you next year...

Kind regards.

Sincerelly,

Gabriel B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

669 - 675 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have just returned from our holiday here. We had a good time but there were a few things that could improve the hotel. My biggest gripe would db the way people dressed for the evening meal. There were several German holidaymakers who thought it was acceptable to dine in track bottoms and vests some people even came straight from the beach. A dress code would be much nicer. The show cooking chefs were lovely and happy to cook the food how you liked it, but the carvery chef was miserable and gave you the tiniest portions and you didn't dare for a second slice. The food was in the main good there were a few days when you walked around and couldn't find much. The hotel was spotlessly clean rooms were cleaned to a good standard too. I would have liked to have seen them sticking to the reserving of sun beds, by 9am there were only a couple left some people didn't come down to their beds until 3 in the afternoon. At a previous hotel the sun beds were monitored if the towels were out too early they were collected and put in a pile and if you weren't on them by mid morning they again removed the towels. Perhaps that could be an option as it is quite a small pool area. The beach was not sand but mainly grit and quite hard underfoot. The sea was nice but it was a job to get in and out due to sinking in the stones. The hotel advertise a beach bar this is NOT part of the all inclusive package although they apparently offer discounted drinks. There is little entertainment in the evenings which is fine if you just want to chill out. Our room looked out over a campsite which housed around 300 teenagers there music was loud in the evenings but it thankfully didn't go on all night. The spa was very nice and free to use in the AI package we used it once but felt a bit awkward when 4 young lads came in with there music so we left. The drinks are all branded and there are some lovely cocktails included in the AI which went down well with all of the hotel residents. It is the nicest looking hotel in Santa Susanna and the best position. The train station is 10 mins down the road (this runs along the back of the hotel) where you can get to Barcelona in just over an hour for around £8 return which is good value it stop right in the Catalonia Square which is right next the the ramblers and all the hop on and off buses are just there. All in all a good holiday

Room Tip: Overlooking the beach are the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank carole07810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel B, Gerente at ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear carole07810,

thank you for sharing your comments with all of us and the tripadvisor community.
I am happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We are working on the different issues you have let us know in order for the future coming guests to have an even better experience.

We have noticed that people does leave towels early in the morning and come back later. Of course from the hotel we try to keep a kind of civism and respect for other guests, but sometimes people do not take it the right way. We will definetly do something about it.

I am glad you enjoyed our all inclusive. We believe this service should be just the way we do it and with all kinds of brands. It is true that the All-In applies only inside the hotel área, but we are working on another kind of all inclusive that includes the beach bar, the sunbeds at the beach and something more.

Once again, thank you for your time and comments.
Hope to see you back again in a not far future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Absolutely lovely hotel: spent a week here all inclusive and wish we stayed longer.

Cons: lovely small quiet hotel. Food and drinks are very tasty- proper wine glasses, tasty wines, proper beer and hand-made cocktails. Food has really nice variety of meats, salads, breads, vegetables and fruit. Swimming pool area is immaculate, very relaxing. Rooms are big, stylish and bed is really comfy. Hotel is right on a nice beach so you can stay near pool and just walk over to the sea. There is a train station close by and also a boat station so we travelled to Barcelona by train and Tosso del Mar by boat on days when weather was rainy - that was amazing, really recommend this - I actually preferred ten weather to be cooler for sightseeing. entertainment is low key (piano player, guitar player, singer, flamenco dancers) which we preferred as we do not like noisy animators. Spa area is great especially when the sky gets a bit cloudy - we booked it with no issue on a couple of mornings. Staff are really hospitable and quick in my mind, so not sure about reviews saying they are slow.... All in all I think - I forgot loads of things that made our stay that marvellous - but I surely recommend this hotel.

A couple of trifles: we were put on ground floor even though we made request a couple of weeks before arriving to be placed somewhere with a balcony, which was promised to us. We asked to move us a couple of times - receptionist said they will look into it but never got back. It was not noisy from the street in that room but more from upstairs neighbours, and there was no view onto sea or beach at all -I suppose though the noise would be the same in any other room. Also I would want to see more seafood on the menu/ traditional spanish foods too... and the fact you can't get any water on AI until 11 is a bit strange - not even a glass of tap water:(

Still those are just for comments for improvement. As I say we wish we booked 2 weeks and not one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank yfinchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel B, Gerente at ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear yfinchik,

Thank you for taking the time on sharing your comments with all of us.
It is a pleasure for us to know you enjoyed your stay with us. As you have already mentioned, the hotel´s style is more of a relaxing place, therefor everything is focused on that, from the desing and decoration to the entertainment.

I do appologize for the asigned room not being on a higher floor, but sometimes it is a bit difficult to manage all rooms on high floors.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We will definetly take a closer look and try to improve our service.

Wish you a very good day and hope we have the chance to meet again in the future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We spent 2 weeks at this lovely small hotel on the beach in June.
We had Room 709 with a full sea view and sun on the balcony until sundown. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the towels are changed daily and rooms cleaned the same.
We have stayed in hotels all over the world but have never had the pleasure of staff so friendly and where nothing is too much trouble ,I really would like to thank the people working in the restaurant , bar ,reception and the cleaners .
A special mention for Eric & Xavi in the bar , two real gentlemen nothing was too much trouble and always a friendly word and good conversation.
We were all inclusive and the drinks were premium brands ,proper Bacardi ,Vodka etc.
The food was good ,steak ,chops for lunch etc not burgers and hotdogs.
We have children and Grandchildren of our own but can I say it was a pleasure being in a Adults only Hotel .
Because the Hotel is small you tend to make friends easier and we made some good friends especially Archie & Maggie.
The hotel is in the resort centre and you can easily get a train to Barcelona ,Blanes or Lloret de Mar for a day out.
We are staying at the Fergus hotel in Lloret in August and if it is as good as this one Great !
In case anybody was wondering Towels ,wrist bands ,wi fi are all free.
I have to say that the beach is uncomfortable to walk on and the sea has a large drop off and is not good for swimming.
If you want to chill out with good food ,good drinks ,good
rooms and excellent staff this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: high floor up to 10 ( eg 601-610 ,701-710) have sun all day and great sea views. 709 was a great ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woodgreenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel B, Gerente at ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hello Mr. woodgreenman,

first of all i want to thank you for your kind comments and your shared opinions, and of course for the time taken for them. I will make sure to pass them on to all the staff, specially the guys on the bar.
I am glad you liked our servicies and facilities, from the all-inclusive to the adults only, we like to be different. And anywhere you go, i am completely sure the FERGUS experience will be great.

Please let us know when you are comming back.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

After reading all of the other reviews of this hotel, I find it hard to believe that my partner and I were at the same place as everyone else. We have just returned from a 4 day nightmare at this hotel, and I would not recommend it to anyone!

We chose to spend BOTH of our birthdays at this hotel after much consideration and after reading all the positive reviews. We weren't expecting a massive gesture, but perhaps a bottle of of wine to thank us for choosing to spend 2 birthdays with them would have been nice, or even just a room with actual air conditioning...But no, not even a smile or a happy birthday, even though Jet2 told them why we were visiting, and they took scans of our passports on the first day.

Aside from the horrendous Jet2 experience getting to the hotel (use First Choice if you want to visit this hotel from the UK), we arrived to find all details of our stay to be incorrect; departure date, board status, even the name against our room. After more than a 12 hour trip from the UK to get to the hotel, we also found ourselves fleeced for unexpected deposits for things we hadn't accounted for (and frankly things which we feel should have been free on an all inclusive basis), such as towels, safe and even the all inclusive wrist bands we had to wear for the duration of our stay. Then we were put into room 720, which the receptionist had to query with her manager at the time - the first warning sign - and we spent the first night of our 4 in what can only be described as a sweat box! The next morning (my birthday) we went to the reception to ask for the air conditioning to be looked at, to be told that it "might" be that day, or the next, to which we replied that we wanted to change room - we were only there for 4 nights and spent enough for the holiday that we thought it was a reasonable request. Also, we knew that a German couple had changed out of our room on the day we arrived for the same reason, as they came round to ask if they'd left bottles of ale outside on the balcony! Anyway, we were told the hotel was full and to come back 2 days later on Monday, which was the day before we were due to go home. We explained that we'd specifically come here to celebrate both of our birthdays, to which we got no sympathy whatsoever, and only after much pressure from our side another room amazingly became available. We were put in room 109, which was basically the smallest, most hideous room in the hotel, complete with leaky shower and a bathroom you had to practically walk in sideways into - something which I'm sure the staff did on purpose. By this point though we didn't really care too much - though we had to live out of our suitcases and make a towel fort in the tiny bathroom to stop the water running into the bedroom, we at least had air conditioning and a double bed! And, happily, it was right next to the door which led into the bar! If you get a good room at this hotel then great, but just a word of caution if you should encounter any problems....don't expect much help from the reception staff!

The bar staff on the other hand, were fantastic! They could not have been more helpful and happy, and considering the fact they seemed to work incredibly long shifts, they always had a smile on their faces and put the same effort into the first drink of the night as the last.

The restaurant was ok, but we chose to eat out for 2 of our 4 nights because we found it a bit fishy and a bit samey, but that was our personal preference. It depends what you are looking for in a hotel restaurant I suppose; we've been lucky to have been to much larger hotels before this which have more selection, so it just depends on your expectation. The waiting on staff were a little slow bringing the drinks and clearing tables at times, but it just depended on where you were sat. The food that we did eat there was fantastic though, and I thought they did well to put on the menus they did with the limited space available.

The pool area is lovely and in a fantastic spot right on the beach, but there aren't really that many sunbeds compared to hotel guests, so we had to set an alarm to get up to put our towels out or we wouldn't have been able to sit outside. The first day we got outside about 10.30am and there was not a sunbed or table outside to sit on!

Also a little note about Santa Susannah itself - if you are expecting a quiet little seaside town then this resort is probably a bit more vibrant than that, as there are lots of hotels and restaurants/bars nearby. This was great for us because we wanted to venture out, but might not be suitable for everyone.

I hate leaving negative reviews, and I've been to loads of different hotels and had many different experiences, but unfortunately this has to be probably the worst hotel I've ever been to. We were let down by the behaviour of the reception staff and their complete lack of customer service, and would even go as far as saying that their attitude and lack of cooperation completely ruined our birthdays and our holiday. We made the best of it while we were there, but would definitely not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the sea view! Just not 720 or 109...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel B, Gerente at ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Vick T,

First of all i want to thank you for taking the time and sharing your comments and opinions with us and the tripadvisor community.

I appologize if we were not completely up to your standards, but will definitely take a good look at your comments and see what we can change and do about it.

I do want to thank you for choosing our hotel for spending these special dates, although we didnt really know about it. We do take IDs to scan them on your arrival, but this is simply for the police records. Normally we do not hesitate in doing something special when we know any of our guests is celebrating something.

About the moment of your entry to the hotel, it happens that inicially you had a room on the first floor asigned, and we decided to give you another room on the top floor, which for us is much nicer. Unfortunatelly we did have a general problem with the air conditioning that affected all the hotel and that we could finally solve.
Once again, i appologize for this situation and wish we have the opportunity to make it all up to you.

Wishing you a nice day.

Sincerelly,

Gabriel B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I was amazed because the hotel is so pretty. And the people who worke there are the most nice people i ever met in a hotel. The pool is perfect and the distance to the beach is amazing. Cocktails were also gorgeous, i really want to go back! The beds around the hotel were also very pretty and romantic. The service was the best. The food was good but not that special. I really liked my time here and a week is way too short. The beachbar was my favorite place to be, the food there is wonderfull the people are nice and the dj is playing relaxing music all day. A real recommend for everybody. I hope to come back sooner than later, thank you!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Vere V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel B, Gerente at ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Vere V,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are very glad to know you had such a good time with us and enjoyed your stay so much. I will make sure to pass your comments on to all the staff.
We will keep on working on improving our services so next time you come visit us, we can surprise you once more.

Kind regards from all the Fergus team.
Wishing you a great day...

Sincerelly,

Gabriel B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is the second year we have stayed at Mar Mediterrania and we aim to return in 2015, the hotel just gets better each time ....
Thank you to Gabriel and his wonderful team for looking after us and thank you to Alejandro for his refreshingly tasty cocktails.
We upgraded to a suite/all inclusive, the view from our room of the sea & pool is breathtaking. Food & Drink excellent. lots of choice...
We visited Barcelona for the day, traveled by train, which is very reasonably priced and easy to use.
See you next year :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel B, Gerente at ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Hello Mrs. Angela B and daughter..

It was a great pleasure for all of us to see you again. I am very glad you had such a good time and could make the max of your stay. As you have noticed, we like surprising you with something new every time... and we will keep on doing so.
Thank you for taking the time for sharing your comments with all of us.

Already waiting for your return.

Kind regards from everybody at Mar Mediterrania.

Sincerelly,

Gabriel B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#9 of 21 in Santa Susanna
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
424 reviews
0.0 mi away
H.TOP Royal Sun
H.TOP Royal Sun
#14 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
#8 of 21 in Santa Susanna
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania

Address: Passeig Maritim, s/n, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain (Formerly FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Susanna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range: £56 - £863 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania Hotel invites you to discover a beach hotel in Santa Susanna for adults and couples: an oasis of relax and calmness at the foot of Barcelona coast, with a privileged atmosphere. Located at the beachfront of Santa Susanna, in one of the best areas of Brava coast and Maresme coast, the FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania Hotel stands out for its high quality standards, its modern and minimalist decoration and its exceptional services designed for you to enjoy every moment: buffet restaurant, thematic dinners, Jacuzzi, Chill Out area, cocktail lounge, Junior Suites, all inclusive... Diving in the swimming pool in front of the sea, lying under the sun in large terraces or enjoying a luxury and wellness afternoon in the exclusive spa and fitness room... The FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania is full of proposals especially designed to the liking of our most demanding guests. An authentic luxury in the heart of Barcelona coast. Discover a fabulous hotel in Santa Susanna in the FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania Spain/Santa Susanna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing