We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with Charming Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were slightly apprehensive when we arrived as there had been a few poor reviews just before we set off. I am pleased to say that we had no such criticism of the hotel or its staff during our 1 week All Inclusive stay.
The hotel is modern and immaculately clean in a great position right on the beach. We can't speak highly enough of all the staff from the Reception staff (who were extremely helpful and knowledgeable), the wonderful bar and restaurant staff and the lovely cleaners. They all did so much to make our holiday so enjoyable.
We found the choice of food to be fantastic and the quality perfectly acceptable and consistent with a 4 Star rating. The chef cooked to order which included really nice omlettes with a choice of filling for breakfast.
Managed to get a sunbed everyday straight after breakfast though the beds nearest the pool seemed to be snapped up very early, but this didn't really bother us as there were plenty available overall.
The resort is pretty much what we imagined for the Costa Brava and not somewhere we would normally go without being on an All Inclusive package but this was fine as we were more than happy with the 'low key' entertainment on offer in the hotel and the generous AI arrangements with spirits and cocktails.
All in all, like all the guests we spoke to while we were there, we had a fantastic time at this great hotel. We wouldn't hesitate to return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
8  Thank Erbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 9 nights, it was nice and clean. The room was big with a very nice design, and a terrace with a view at the sea. All services were very good, the bar outside it was very nice, and the beach is a 2 min walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank lumy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of June for 10 days and loved it. We stayed on a half-board basis but could have upgraded to all inclusive at the hotel but it worked out fairly expensive. Breakfast was the best meal of the day, especially the omelettes, which they made to order; dinners were a bit repetitive.

The decor in the hotel was lovely and just as shown on the website, the only downside was the lack of entertainment in the evenings.

Barcelona is about 1hour 15 mins from Santa Susanna; we bought a combination ticket for the train and the open bus tour for under €30.

There is a small market each evening along the road opposite the hotel and the main market is held on a Tuesday, again along the road opposite the hotel.

Room Tip: South facing sea view rooms get the sun in the afternoon and the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank BroonsMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

we have just returned from Santa Susanna and stayed at the Fergus Mar for a week, overall a very enjoyable week, we had a good room with a super view off both the sea and the promenade, the room was immaculate and cleaned to a high standard every day. The position off the hotel is ideal and just a short walk to the town. Just a couple off gripes why on earth do hotels continue to allow people to put towels on sunbeds and then are left unoccupied for hours it really is unfair to guests that have paid the same as these selfish people. Also we found the food although good quality was very basic in choice. we were on all inclusive and found this to be very good. Just a final word about Laura the Thomson rep she was a lovely girl very jolly and clearly happy in her job. Would we stay here again....probably yes.

Room Tip: The rooms on the camp site side are better as you can get sea view + view off the town, although som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I've recently returned home from this lovely holiday! You certainly get what you pay for! On the first night my boyfriend and myself arrived late and were treated exceptionally and made to feel very welcome! The location was amazing having a lot to offer, with the beach on your doorstep and some amazing places to eat and go out at. This one bar we loved! (Maybe called the monkey bar, or so we called it) selling litres of cocktails! Making us feel again very welcomed! (We went more less every evening)
The bar staff at the hotel, day and night were amazing and chatted with us daily about our stay and what we were doing! On our departing evening the manager waited outside with us, until our bus came, and made us feel very privileged to had stayed at this amazing hotel! Also all the restaurant staff and other members of staff said 'goodbye' to us and 'wished us a safe flight' along with asking if we'd e back next year! (Which i hope we will) this whole experience made us feel as though all staff remembered us after just what seemed to be one short week and really treasured our holiday! I have already told my family to go there and my grandparents are sounding very interested!
So thankyou very much to ALL the staff at the Mar Mediterrania!
You made my boyfriends and my first trip away together the best possible holiday experience ever! We hope to be back soon!
:) x

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ELTaylor95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Area:
tacky and loud. Beach is very nice but very very crowded. People trying to sell you things every 2-3 minutes. Gets quite annoying after a while.majority of restaurants and eating places are very English / Dutch serving chips and egg and sausage. Most tourists when we were there we're Dutch German and Russian and a few English. This is a very tacky and shabby resort but not rowdy with lager louts just very noisy with thumping music past midnight. Parking is near impossible. We requested hotel parking twice but never got a response from hotel.


Hotel:
It is Voted number one in the resort on trip advisor which made me shudder to think how bad the rest must be.

It is trying hard to be trendy but the quality is not there. A few trendy interior touches around reception allude to quality but this is far from true.

The food is nothing short of awful. We paid for full board. Huge mistake. Hot breakfast lukewarm and greasy. Poor quality ingredients. Cold items like ham and fruit and salad were dried out and tasteless well past their best. Dining room is indoors with no option to sit outside for lunch or dinner. Dining Room felt like a prison tables very close together . Also saw two chefs laughing at an overweight guest and making gestures to each other across the room. Staff in dining room were very unfriendly but would pounce on you to get your room number. Ordering a drink was difficult. A jack n coke and gin n tonic came to 17euro. Very Expensive! We visited the dining area 5 times in order to give it a fair shot and eventually decided we couldnt face it another time. Desert was really awful. All food had very Limited choice and not fresh at all. Some things even tasted that sour out of date way.

The rooms were very clean and the housekeeping staff very very friendly. The rooms however are tiny. There is a great shower but no bath. All rooms have some sea view which is nice however you are flanked and overlooked on one side by a huge imposing hotel and on the other with a rowdy campsite which also pumps music out past 12 even though I doubt they are allowed to. Apart from that the balcony was fine!

Whole hotel was clean and the older gentleman who was the night receptionist could not have made us feel more welcome. He was a gem.

There should also be an enforcement of no reservations on sunbirds rule ( we got up at 8 am and never once managed to get a sun bed at the pool. All were lying empty with towels claiming them. Patrons did not occupy their claimed beds until aprox 10 am. Very frustrating but I know this happens in a lot of hotels.

I guess you get what you pay for.

I will never return to this place.
High points: free wifi , clean room and the weather.
Lows: food, hotels restaurant staff, loud tacky town.

Room Tip: bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank alexis78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

location was dreadful. loud pumping music. looked like blackpool in the sun... utter tack. Food was the worst I've ever eaten anywhere. have no idea why some reviews said it was good? food that was supposed to be hot was cold. cold food was disgusting too. blood running out of my chicken and a raw egg omelette ( and i like my eggs runny!!) if i ate here i was certain to contract something nasty. cramped hotel. VERY rude staff.

positives: clean room, great shower, bed was comfy (though you can't sleep for the thumping club music that comes from the campsite next door and lasts through the night. no one cared when we mentioned it)

WILL NOT COME BACK. do not waste your time and money coming here!

Room Tip: bring ear plugs and don't eat here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank alexander d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#8 of 21 in Santa Susanna
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
424 reviews
0 mi away
H.TOP Royal Sun
H.TOP Royal Sun
#15 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,081 reviews
0.4 mi away
Montemar Maritim
Montemar Maritim
#5 of 21 in Santa Susanna
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania

Address: Passeig Maritim, s/n, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain (Formerly FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range: £58 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania Hotel invites you to discover a beach hotel in Santa Susanna for adults and couples: an oasis of relax and calmness at the foot of Barcelona coast, with a privileged atmosphere. Located at the beachfront of Santa Susanna, in one of the best areas of Brava coast and Maresme coast, the FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania Hotel stands out for its high quality standards, its modern and minimalist decoration and its exceptional services designed for you to enjoy every moment: buffet restaurant, thematic dinners, Jacuzzi, Chill Out area, cocktail lounge, Junior Suites, all inclusive... Diving in the swimming pool in front of the sea, lying under the sun in large terraces or enjoying a luxury and wellness afternoon in the exclusive spa and fitness room... The FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania is full of proposals especially designed to the liking of our most demanding guests. An authentic luxury in the heart of Barcelona coast. Discover a fabulous hotel in Santa Susanna in the FERGUS Style Mar Mediterrania Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania Spain/Santa Susanna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing