We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel? or Youth Hostel?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed here recently, having booked the H top Royal Sun. Our travel company was informed of the mistake, and we were eventually moved across, but there are good and bad points to both hotels. I believe this hotel has been refurbished, and has apartment style rooms, well furnished, and you could get BBC2, ITV and cbeebies. The pool is on the 7th floor, and pool bar was closed, so up and down the lifts for drinks. There were bus loads of students in when we were in, with some noise, although the bars on the opposite side of the road kept us up some nights, and disturbed the kids. The restaurant is a bit like a dungeon, located underground, however, the food was good, plenty of variety, although many dishes are repeated, and there is some 'recycling', but for the price, what do you expect? Anyone wanting all English food should holiday in Blackpool! he bar was quiet so we never queued for drinks, and the kids entertainment was poor, partly because there weren't many other kids. If you can, get a room away from the street with bars on it. We visited other Htop hotels, and they vary from cattle market to fairly quiet. try the one in Pineda if you want nice and quiet, and the ones at Lloret if you want more going on.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AxholmeRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel in April 2013 and what a great place to stay. There are a lot of reviews below for the Royal Sun and not the Royal Sun Suites, the Royal Sun Suites are not on the beach they are set a street back next to waist ground where the coaches park up for the night. The H Top chain of hotels uses a card system for its all inclusive drinks, when you check in you are given two cards a green card for your glass and a blue card for your drink, when you go for a drink you hand over both cards to get your drink and they give you your blue card back, when you go for another drink you just hand over your blue card and your empty glass.when you have had enough you take back your empty glass and they give you your green card back. This is a great system and the cards can be used at any H Top hotel you visit. On the day you check out the cards can be used until 12 lunch time at the bar only but you can still use the cards in the restaurant for drinks. If you book a pool view room you will get a room facing other hotels pools as the Royal Sun Suites pool is on the roof. The beds in the room are very hard with little to no give in the mattress.this Hotel is perfectly placed for markets there in one on Sunday at the waist ground out the back of the hotel also Tuesday down the road next to the railway line and another on Thursday about 15 minutes walk away all detail are on a card in reception.food in the hotel is very good with plenty of choice ranging from fish to meat dishes and lovely cakes. We had no problem with the drinks, they are poured for you by the bar staff the spirits are on an optic measure but we did not mind as you can go back as many times as you like also only one drink per person but this did not bother us either you get your drink in a glass and not in a plastic glass like most of the other H Top hotels. We will be returning to this hotel very soon.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank AllisonS923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Having been here before and didnt think for what we paid it was to bad for a short break, however if you like a drink steer clear you have a glass card so can only get one drink and have to take your glass back which isn't to bad but the quees were horrendous and its only April also all the spirits are now on optics so a very small measure also they've changed brands and all the spirits are only 25%, food is ok and not to bad a choice good location on the beach.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank wannaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My wife and I decided to take a winter break in Spain in Feb 2011, the tour company reported to us on the day we arrived at the airport that the hotel we was staying had closed and will not open till spring, however they put us up in the H·TOP Royal Sun 4, as they called an upgrade.
as you can imagine we was quite pleased, the hotel was great with good amenities, and the food was okay not as good as expected for a 4 star, but not complaning. when it come to the night time OMG
Because it was a A/L hotel some guests decided to take it to the limit to the point of stripping off, even so the hotel managment didnt do anything about it even when they was told. WHY .
I not an old git but when it comes to people off there head disturbing children etc comes to be a problem.
The people in question was as we found out to be visiting spain for the alcohol and faggs and then make a profit at home. come on if they want to do this then don't up set the guests of the hotel who want a nice break in a nice hotel.
unfortunately with the hotel management not doing anything about it they will be knocked down on the points, and we will not be going back, also seems to be the seem impression with other people.
Really good location for the hotel and visit to Barcalona, but the rude guests ruined my visit.

Room Tip: hopfully if you go to this hotel, you dont have the seem problem, sea view rooms are the best :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris8706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Not long back from a holiday/business at Royal Sun hotel. I was not impressed! The bar area and restaurant were badly designed. To have a children's game room in the bar/entertainment area made the hotel even worse. The restaurant was downstairs and we couldn't see out of the windows also the tables were set like a canteen. The food was so bad I didn't eat much but my friend who did was quite ill, not sure if it was the food or a bug. I did ask the manager to contact me whilst I was at the hotel but he didn't. We did have an nice room with a sea-view. The service was average but I would like to say the waiter called James/Jamie was so pleasant he was a credit to the hotel. I suppose if you get a good deal and have children then it may be okay as the hotel is on the beach. However, if you are looking for a 4 star hotel with good food, lovely decor and refinement then this is not for you. Regards from Linda from Meet me at the Ball.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

It is actually the sister Hotel which somehow didnt show up on this site named the H Top Royal Sun Hotel not suites. I arrived with my husband and 4 children. I am not a complainer but I was so dissappointed. In Scotland when you think 4 star you expect modern, fresh smell etc, i did not find that in this hotel. And had to be moved. The beach looks great in the pictures but is very gritty and not the cleanest, litter lying around. The drinks card is a pain as you have to queue for drinks and cant just relax at the bar, no waiter service either. Quite stressfull and not relaxing. Personally I think it was rated 4 star when it was first opened but they havent modernised or upgraded it since.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel, even three star Hotels seemed better than these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LinTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Just got back from this hotel - never again! we arrived on Tuesday at 11.30 after explaining the complementory person was a full paying adult she was given a sofa bed to sleep on. No food not even a sandwich was offered on our late arrival. By the time we got the glass cards sorted the bar was closed - so no food or drink! Food not very good- not even hot! On the Thursday we were told the hotel was closing and we had to transfer to Pineda Palace on the Sunday! However they were still booking people in on the Saturday! Never again- staff were moody and unfriendly the only person with a smile was the short restuarant manager and the young man cleaning tables the rest- well I dont know what to say!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chippyc1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Royal Sun
H.TOP Royal Sun
#15 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,080 reviews
0.1 mi away
H.TOP Summer Sun
H.TOP Summer Sun
#21 of 21 in Santa Susanna
200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Susanna Resort
Santa Susanna Resort
#16 of 21 in Santa Susanna
2,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#5 of 21 in Santa Susanna
915 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Odissea Park Aparthotel
Odissea Park Aparthotel
#9 of 21 in Santa Susanna
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior

Address: C/ Marina 1, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain (Formerly H TOP Royal Sun Suites)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range: £37 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior 4.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Superior H·TOP Royal Sun Suites is located in the peaceful tourist village of Santa Susanna at 200m to the beach and close to the shopping area and centre. It is perfect for couples and small or big families. The hotel has a rooftop solarium with swimming pool and kids pool, sun beds, parasols, summer outdoor terrace, miniclub, game room, lounge, 2 bars, restaurant and indoor payment parking. The hotel is equipped for people with reduced mobility. 106 rooms divided in 7 oors include 24 family adjoining rooms. Each room provide: private balcony or terrace, air-conditioning, heating, satellite TV, telephone, safe box (for hire), wardrobe and an equipped bathroom with bathtub, free toiletries and bidet for most of the rooms. Cots available on request. Santa Susanna is a Family Tourist Destination with an impressive long sand beach and a selection of shops, bars and restaurants around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Top Royal Sun Hotel Santa Susana
Htop Santa Susanna Susana
Htop Santa Susanna Hotel Susana
HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior Spain/Santa Susanna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing