We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waste of Money !!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Caprici

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Caprici
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Waste of Money !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were the only British couple here. The hotel and resort is full of Russian and Polish nationalities. The food was inedible and we decided to eat elsewhere. Very disappointing and will not be returning to the Costa Brava so if you're British be warned and give this place a wide berth.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    86
    59
    23
    11
See reviews for
77
96
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Pros:
- perfect proximity and access to the sea
- very clean rooms
- far from the noise-producing hotels in the central area
- beach spanning miles, great for running and cycling

Cons:
- you still get lots of noise from the other hotels
- food as per usual for a 3-star hotel in this area, i.e. bad
- access to water is totally unsuitable for small children

General characteristics of the area - not specific to this hotel:

Access to the sea:
On pictures the beach looks children-friendly, but the stones are rough and hurt child's feet. The sea drops very deep right away. An adult has to start swimming at about 1 meter from the shore, so this is completely not suitable for small children. Waves kind of undermine the stones under your legs and it is difficult to stay upright - when you are holding a child.

Noise:
This was the noisiest place we've been to. Hotel Caprici is one of the quieter ones. But other hotels in the area will play very very loud music practically the whole day and into the night, stopping only at about midnight. The music is of the crudest class - bass thumping pop/club/disco stuff. We don't understand why anyone would want to spend their holidays listening to this but I guess that's what you get in Costa Brava.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the city center will get noise from other hotels (heavy thump dance music 10 hours a da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

just come back from 7 day break. the bed linen was not changed in 7 days. good thing is the towels are changed daily. and rooms are cleaned daily
it is a non smoking hotel smonking only allowed outside hotel and around the pool area.
only one english tv channel bbc world wide news.
bewarned there is now a 7 euro charge for your rooms so make sure you have euro when you arrive. we didnt have euro on us so the receptionist siad no euro no room. and told us to goto the hotel mercury and they will change english into euro no they dont we had to ask one of the shos outside the mercury hotel if they could and thank god they did as we had arrived at the hotel at 920pm. we did offer the receptionist all our english money and to hold our passports which she said she couldnt do also they do not take credit or debit cards.
the breakfast is continental not english the coffee is so horrible you be better buying coffee sachets and taking them down with you which i did do.
the evening meals are the same as the afternoon meals fish daily pork daily and sausages with turkey and chicken curried up.
the mash potatoes are instant mash which is horrible.
you are not allowed to bags or handbags in the dinning room at all and all drinks have to be brought in the hotel as they dont allow or like you to buy outside.
the staff are polite and friendly but go out of season and there is nothing to do at all especially if you have bad weather like we had its lovely thats its right in the beach front but when its cold and rainy the sea can be quiet noisy
there is no bath only a shower and no bidea and no hairdryer and there is one plug socket in the bedroom and two in the bathroom

Room Tip: ask for 4th or 5th floor facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maggiewheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Rooms are comfortable, we were in room 406, with 2 double beds (rooms 407 & 405 have a tree blocking the view from balcony !!) no hairdryer in room i took my own. Very clean rooms and hotel, maid cleaned every day. fantastic views of pool area and the coast from our room. Breakfast was a good selection of continental food and fresh, no English breakfast however there is a very good restaurant 10 mins walk away serving English breakfast. Dinner was always a good selection of meat, fish, salad and pudding. We didn't have a problem with the food in hotel. Entertainment was on alternate evenings from 9pm which was good even though the hotel was quiet while we were there.

Great location to travel further afield as train station is next to hotel, however you dont hear the trains passing. Nice little resort with some nice bars and restaurants. For a great nights entertainment we went to Alhambra hotel, live bands every night and they are advertised at the front.

Places we went for a drink!! Drunken duck and drunken ducklin, kings, alhambra, and we would recommend a trip to Blanes. Casa Bella in Malgrat does lovely food its near tourist information in Malgrat.

We would recommend this hotel and would stay here again in the future. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The pool area was very nice and you fall out of hotel onto the beach. All in all a nice hotel with very good staff and in a great location.

Carol and Tony.

Room Tip: I would recommend rooms on the 4th or 5th floors with a pool view/ sea view. The other rooms have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tonyp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

great place to go with your loved ones and friends... quiet and very close to sea and beach, train station very convenient to take you to Barcelona... beautiful landscape and food was OK plenty of different choices, had no problems whatsoever

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Adek81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

The overall impression of the hotel could have been good, if the negatives wouldn’t spoil it.
Positive: location is quiet, right at the beach, far from other hotels, next to the train station, the beginning of promenade, etc.; lunch was very good in terms of quality of food, variety of fish and meet, fresh vegetables and fruits, deserts were very delicious; evening shows were ok if you have no other things to do...
Negative: we ordered a triple room with travel agency, but in fact it was 2 beds + one additional. This additional bed would be suitable for a child max. 10-11 years old. For my son 185 cm height it was absolutely too short and despite our regular persistent requests to change either a room or a bed (even for additional price) the answer was always NO. Breakfasts were very poor. The drinks were of such quality that it motivated you to order a good one in a bar. The variety of food was very poor. But the worst thing was the quality - once I decided to taste their tinned fish in oil and had a food poisoning for the next 7-10 days. I suffered 3 days in the hotel, hardly survived the trip back, and had to cure my stomach for the next weeks to get to its normal state...
However, those might be my personal troubles and if you would go as couple you will just enjoy the perfect location of the hotel and its delicious lunches!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfesenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

The hotel is very close to the sea and on the other side the railway station! The train for Barcelona leaves every 30 mins! The food was OK, but not to eat for a week. They served almost the same dishes every day, with some changes. We had paid for the whole week but ate out three nights! Our room was situated at the backside, towards the railway and if you are easily disturbed by sound, you will not sleep at this side of the hotel! If it rains a lot, like it did on Saturday, you can not pass under the road, it will be a lot of water down there! You have to go on the road, which will be a little bit longer!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the sea will be quieter and with a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rune D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caprici Verd
Caprici Verd
#11 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alhambra
Hotel Alhambra
#16 of 21 in Santa Susanna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Florida Park
Hotel Florida Park
#5 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caprici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caprici

Property: Hotel Caprici
Address: Passeig Maritim s/n, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caprici 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Caprici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprici Hotel Santa Susana
Hotel Caprici Spain/Santa Susanna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing