We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brill holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tahiti Playa Suites
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“brill holiday”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

just returned from a 2 week holiday at thalassa apartments with my husband and children..this is our second visit to these apartments and we loved it there is a £100 deposit for your room which is returnable at the end of your stay there.We was in room 309 and had the fantastic view over the sea from our balcony simply stunning view.
the staff are very friendly and polite and the entertainment team are just great with the kids and do all different activities with them even had a mini disco at night for an hour for the kids which they loved only down side to the place was the entertainment for the adults after mini disco was not for us as we are a young family and playing old time music and doing the fox trot and the tango wasnt our thing and seemed to cater more towards the older guests but apart from that we really enjoyed it.
my daughter celebrated her 5th birthday over there and the hotel made her feel really special and so did all the local shops giving her sweets and lollies and that day we took her and the other children to marineland to celebrate which was fantastic well worth the money and cos they knew it was my daughters birthday towards the end of the dolphin show they brought out a little boat and sat my daughter in and went round with the dolphins and was able to stroke them as a treat for her...the people in costa brava are such lovely and polite people and i will definately be taking my family back for a third time

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    62
    16
    10
    7
See reviews for
69
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We booked these apartments through a package website, after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. The apartments are linked with the Tahiti Playa hotel next door, and has full use of their facilities. You also check in there if you are arriving late.
There is a £100 (120euro) deposit on arrival and the safe is 16 euros a week, with a 10 euro deposit, which all together is a large amount to put down at the start of the holiday.

The apartment itself was very nice, clean, and a really good size for 4 of us. Each apartment has a balcony and you can see the sea, however, only the apartments at the front of the hotel fully faces out to the beach. Our room consisted of two single beds, a sofa bed with pullout bed, and a kitchen area. There is a large Carrefour about 10minutes walk away, and a mini-market downstairs, so it is really easy and cheap to cook in if you want to. No kettle or toaster, but easy enough to boil water in the pan.
Towels and toilet rolls are changed every 3 days, however, we found that we ran out of toilet roll by the last day.

It does get noisy at night, our apartment faced onto the street, where there is live singing each night. It usually finishes around midnight, however, if you are a light sleeper, ear plugs will definitely help! Also apartment walls and ceilings are quite thin, so you can hear a lot of what is going on upstairs.

The apartments are right on the beach front and it was great to be right by the sea, and use the loungers and the pool. Take care with paddling, as the depth of the sea increases very suddenly! It was not very busy when we visited, however, I can imagine that the place would be packed in summer! Each day, there were organised activities by Tahiti, such as salsa and French bowls, which were great.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the beach if you can, quieter at night and gets more sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cqxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Couldnt ask for a better location(right on the beach). Apartments are big and staff are friendly. Yes they can be noisy at times in the early hours but it depends on which age range you are. I stopped here with my wife and we are in our ealy 50's. These are great value for money

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Stayed here in October the apartments are clean and basic but quite big.
There is a pool next door at the Tahiti Playa hotel where you can use all the facilities
Under the apartments is the bar El Ship this has English TV and Pool Table and does
good food. One down side to the apartment was that it had no kettle.

Room Tip: 1) If you want a sea view I would suggest the 3rd floor or above, below this trees block the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlrapley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Had a week at the Thalassa Apartments,not sure why some internet booking agents call this the Thalassa Hotel as this is confusing for anyone not familiar with the resort.
Depending on the time of year for this place and resort would make a big difference to which groups of people would be best suited.Early on or late in the season would be more appealing to older families or couples as the noise element of the resort/location is much less.Mid-Summer would be ideal for younger couples or young groups.Families with young children clearly want the sun and long days but the noise element would have to be considered as some families may find the background noise of a busy resort too intrusive.We have had a number of short stays in Santa Susanna in Nov,Feb,April and in these months the resort is generally quiet,lots of pubs/hotels do close completely for several months.In these quiet periods there are often a surprising amount of older folks on coach holidays from Germany,Italy,the Netherlands,in fact anywhere but the UK.We do know the resort in the busy times does attract quite a few Brits and a couple of UK coach operators run holidays here.So some hotels are open for most of the year and seem to do a good job doing All-inclusive deals looking after folks quite well.
We did a week in October and saw the ending of the summer season.Hotels and bars were closing down throughout the week,some no doubt shutting shop a bit earlier due to the really heavy rain than fell for nearly 3 days.We saw on one night from the shelter of our balcony a group that were playing in a decent hotel opposite the Thalassa have to abandon the gig completely and the following day the hotel had closed up for the season.The temp. was at best in the mid 20's for quite a few hours most days,a bit cool for the sea but quite a few younger folks made the pool.
Interestingly we also were given apartment 109 like another person giving a recent review of these apartments.You have to improvise a bit at times with your kitchen stuff.It wasn't too hard to boil a large pan for water as there was no kettle,so tea and instant coffee making was a doddle.The supplied percolator is a bonus and we made use of this most days,locally bought ground coffee at 1 euro from Carrefour supermarket was brilliant!The omission of a toaster was also improvised by using the large non-stick pan on a high setting on the hob for a few minutes.
Overall the aparment was clean and in a good state of repair,the niggle for us was a modern, good sized TV had BBC World News as the only English station from around 50 pre-sets.There was also 1 radio station with 80's UK tunes available.If the Thalassa want us Brits to stay here - update the telly please!
As mentioned the apartments are run by the Tahiti Playa hotel which is next door.The apartment reception has various opening times so we had to use the Tahiti's reception as we were a late arrival.It worked out fine but we were only made aware of the relationship of the Tahiti Playa and Thalassa Apartments by reading reviews on the internet,not the agent we booked with.I can understand the apartments not having full 24 hour reception but it could get a bit messy maybe having to get an early flight home and have a real faff getting your various deposits returned alongside the aparment inspection which is needed to return your money.
On a brighter note is the free pool use and sunbeds at the Tahiti.The 4.30-5.30 Happy Hour was also a real bonus and gave us the best value drinks in the resort.Also try the great Chinese restaurant at the end of the Santa Susanna strip near Malgrat de Mar.
For around £120.00 for the week for me and my wife this really has to be a superb weeks holiday.We have stayed in the "All-inclusive hotels" before but they are often a real budget setup.A couple of days is all we could take of the plentiful but often luke warm,somewhat bland repetitive food offered.The self-catering deal offered at the Thalassa is way way above this.

Room Tip: If you have the option ask for the rooms facing the sea,many rooms here are on the sides of the buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trkbyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

What you see is what you do get. to sit and watch the sunset and beach view from your dining room table just takes your breath away staff very helpful and see to things promptly ( only needed a light bulb) can't wait to go back again luved every bit of it

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester-le-street
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

just returned from 9 nights at these apartments, we did have a good time BUT. before i get to the apartments just a quick tip for people travelling by train from barcelona airport to santa susanna as we did. the train station is accessible from terminal 2A, go up the escalator across the walkway into the station. there are two ticket machines which are easy to use however we were helped by a lovely member of staff. Tickets cost 4.30 euros each, how cheap is that considering its 70 kilometeres, change trains at barcelona sants (platform 8 for santa susanna) you want the R1 service for blanes or macranet. coming back its platform 9 for the airport, 10 minute walk to terminal T3 if using easyjet.
Now to the apartments, they are actually part of the Tahiti playa hotel complex, its their pool etc you use, (more later). reception is only open certain times you use tahiti playa reception if thalassa shut, both receptions are excellent staff really good however this is where it starts to let iteself down. a security deposit of 120 euros (or £100) is required at check in, you get this back if no damage etc but still a hefty outlay at beginning of holiday. safe is 16 euros for a week with 10 euros deposit, which again you get back. staff give you a checklist for your room which you have to fill in making sure you have all the plates etc this is handed back to reception once filled in.
we had room 109 which was beside the tahiti hotel, still had a resricted view of sea but only got sun for an hour or so. the facilities are basic(hence title), no kettle, no toaster but had microwave hob and coffee perculator. bathroom was ok but typical small bath. beds are hard living room spacious balcony fair size. towels are changed every 3 days which is when you get your one toilet roll, bedding changed every 7 days but you make your own bed; bedding dumped on table. you are also responsible for your own cleaning and taking rubbish out to skips outside.
the pool area is excellent and belongs to tahiti hotel. we had no problems finding sunbeds even though hotel and apartments quite full. pool bar is good staff excellent food good especially burgers and not too expensive.
the apartment complex themselves have no facilities you use hotel for bar etc which look good but we didn't really use them so can't really say much. you can use the hotel restaurant for meals if desired.
this is our first time on mainland spain normally going to the canary islands. santa susanna itself is very nice made up of lots of hotels and a few bars and restaurants etc. one thing about the resort their are lots of older travellers from all over especially holland, germany russia and spain of course, which means it hasn't got that tacky feel you get with some resorts. the next resort along is malgrat which just blends into santa susanna you dont know when one starts and one finishes. malgrat is bigger and has more bars etc. one thing i was dissappointed with was the standard of british bars, very poor need good revamps but good for football. one we used was el ship which is below the apartments, its has spanish staff who are excellent, food is ok prices not bad and shows the footy if thats your thing.
for self catering purposes use the carrefour supermarket about 10 min walk, reception will tell you where it is, this has everything you need with very good prices, you can also use your visa debit card to save your cash.
a couple of reccomendations for eating out. la chamaca mexican bar/restaurant is superb, great location (right on beach) great staff and wonderful food, not the cheapest but certainly not the most expensive. if your walking along shops look out for people giving out flyers you get a free drink if used. to get there out of apartments turn right(dont cross railway line) walk about 10 mins its a red building. another good bar/restaurant is the kings, immediately opposite complex. dutch run with excellent food and staff again not the cheapest but well worth a visit.
just a quick word about the train service which is superb and very cheap you can visit other resorts or take a day trip to barcelona and definately wont break the bank.
So in summary lovely place nice location but as the wife said if we wanted this level of self catering we could have stopped at home.

Room Tip: ask for front room or side of apartment above el ship pub but beware of extra costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.1 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#10 of 21 in Santa Susanna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.1 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida Park
Hotel Florida Park
#5 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahiti Playa Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahiti Playa Suites

Property: Tahiti Playa Suites
Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain (Formerly Thalassa Apartments)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tahiti Playa Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tahiti Playa Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalassa Apartments Santa Susana
Tahiti Playa Suites Spain/Santa Susanna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing