We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More suitable for families...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More suitable for families...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

We had paid for an upgrade to a premium room, very nice room. Free wifi, not super fast, but did the job. Only one of us could log in on it at a time.
Beds were very hard, personally prefer a softer mattress.
Rooms were spotless, towels changed daily if required.
We had a pool facing balcony, which was lovely, when the door was shut! Lots of noise from the pool and the distorted microphone of the pool side entertainment. Thankfully this doesn't go on for long. Balconys are tiny.
Staff are very friendly and efficient.
We just had B&B as we didnt want to be tied to eating at the hotel. Food is cheap here anyway. Glad we did this as we couldn't bear to stay by the pool all day.Very busy, lots of children, no sunbeds available after 9.30! All reserved with towels! If you want one get up early!! Especially if you want an umbrella aswell, these are limited! Alot of beds all crammed in together. You can also pay €1 for a sunbed mattress, which is needed, very un comfy without. We much preferred walking a few minutes to the beach, €9 for two sunbeds for the day, an extra €9 if
You require an umbrella too...
Breakfast was good, plenty of choice. Hot and cold options available.
Overall the hotel was lovely and we would stay again, but we definitely did the right thing by getting just the bnb option so we could have the peaceful break we needed...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leanne26780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    406
    187
    56
    24
See reviews for
485
306
42
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Went there on a handball-cup in june/july 2013 for two weeks.
Large hotel in Santa Susanna wich is a real tourist trap:) ok hotel with really friendly staff. The hotel was full when we was there so a sun-chair by the pool was impossible to get, but that was ok because the noise level was unbearable and didnt help when the over-happy pool staff turned their speakers on full. Thank god for the beach not far away:)
The rooms was old style but ok. Cleaning-staff did an amazing job every day and keept the rooms very clean.
This is a hotel for people/families that want to stay where there is all possible things to do for the young ones. It gor almost everything to keep kids busy......but it costs:)

The dining was ok at breakfast and lunch but hot food was never hot. It was the same at dinner.
At dinner this was just a too busy. Long lines to get in and also to get out when you had to pay for beverage. They could have double the staff at dinner because we never got to order beverage before we started on desserts. The waiters just had too much to do.
As a chef i would love to work for free in the kitchen for a week and change a few things. Like the meat that they slice before cooking??? It always enda up dry and not tasty at all. And that its cold as well doesent help. The cold part of the buffet was wery good and loads of choises.

And since there is a lot of scandinavian guests, what about a couple of tv-channels that isnt spanish, german or french?

Room Tip: We had a room facing the neighbour hotel. This and almost every hotel had some show every night wich...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

My husband wanted a holiday where you could have a quiet day by the pool or a hectic night on the town, we found it here in Santa Susanna. The hotel was lovely for a 3 star, the staff were so helpful and friendly. Our rooms were spotless with linen and towels changed daily if necessary. The food was good with plenty of choice but if you did want to eat in a there was a lovely restaurant on the beach just a 10 minute walk away. This is a place we will go back to. Also great for families with a very hard working animation team.

Room Tip: Ask for premier room with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suecass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Hotel big. Pool could be a bit bigger. Although plenty of sun beds if you get there before 10am. apparently you cant reserve sun beds but there are alot of towels down with no one removing them and sticking to their policy. Rooms comfy clean. No kettle? Only 2 English channels, 1 has very poor reception. Bathroom a good size. Shower good. Recommend a room facing the mountains. It is a bit quieter this side. Catches the sun on balcony from 1pm-late.

Breakfast quite good. A selection of hot foods and standard food like croissants, fruit, salad, hams and cheeses, bread. Evening meals a bit of a wild card. Hard to please everyone mind. Always a lot of veal and fish. Kids might struggle.

Safe was 16€ for 4 nights plus 10€ deposit. Air con free. Wifi 5€ a day or 12€ for a week. It's not particularly fast but does the job.

Staff all friendly especially woman in restaurant. They escort you to your table which I think is a good idea. Entertainment average. Maid service also good.

Not a lot to do in the local area. The tourist train is 4.90€ turn left outside pool entrance. It is quite good to see Santa susanna. The beach is massive and good if you're a beach lover. Here you can take a boat trip to another part. 16€ to go to blanes, 30 mins on the boat. Spent the day here and also a bus tour which takes you to botanical gardens. Also you can take the train to Barcelona. Turn right outside of pool entrance about 5-10 minute walk. Buy your ticket opposite station and validate it. Think it's 8€ or so return. Get off at catalunya stop.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fmw026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

This is my third visit to the hotel but the most disappointing. This hotel was a favourite of my parents and as such we returned here this year as a family (no children) after Dad passed away. My Mum, brother and sister all had rooms on their own and my partner and I were allocated a 'double' room on the 5th floor which was the smallest of the 4 rooms!!! Our room had two single 'camp beds' pushed together and were very noisy to the point that simply turning over during the night meant we woke each other up. The balcony wasn't really big enough to both sit out in the evening.

On the plus side, the staff, some of whom were there last year were really friendly and this year saw the opening of new gym facilities which were great. If you have children with you, this hotel offers fab entertainment for the youngsters. Finally the mojitos are well worth it!

Room Tip: ask for a room between the first and fourth floor if you don't want to look at a concrete block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wattsie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear client,

First of all we would like to thank you for your trustfulness in our hotel.
We regret that this time your stay was not so pleasant as other times… Concerning to rooms, we inform that on the 5th floor all rooms are standard for 2 people. Normally, if any client is not satisfied with the room and inform reception, we try always to do our best and to change clients to another room. Maybe during your stay, due to availability it was not possible.

Thank you very much for your positive comments, specially about the new Wellness & Spa.

If you visit us next time, we will be pleased to welcome you once more and, of course, we’ll do our best for you to have an enjoyable stay.

We remain at your disposal.

Kind regards,
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The staff at this hotel were all very approachable and helpful. The rooms are a good sixe, clean and have air-con. Breakfast was very good - wide selection of cooked items (bacon, eggs, sausage, etc) and cold meats, cheeses, fruit and different types of bread and cakes. Evening meals were a bit hit and miss, had some really nice meals and some that were not so. Also found the food to be not hot enough. The restaurant was well organised - staff escorted you to a table, but were willing to seat you somewhere else if necessary, and we only occasionally had to queue for a few minutes. Prices in the hotel for drinks were very reasonable. The Tuesday morning market was interesting - had a mix of stalls. However, Santa Susanna as a resort does not have any 'wow' factor. Just a long straight road with mainly hotels, small supermarkets and occasional shop selling bags, clothes, etc. If you walk for a few minutes, you end up in Malgrat, which seemed much busier and with more to look at. The beach is a ten minute walk and you have to cross under the railway - can only do this at certain points, which were few and far between. The beach is made up of coarse sand and there are only a few cafes, most of which belonged to the hotel behind them. The hotels also own the sunbeds on the beach and the charge for using these was 6 euros per bed/parasol, so for three beds and a parasol the charge was 24 euros, which we thought was rather high so only went to the beach twice!. It seems that if you were staying in the hotel, then you only paid 4 euros. You can book boat rides from the beach - calling in to several different places, and we went to Blanes, which was lovely and had a look at the gardens there. Also took the train to Calella and Barcelona - both of which are good days out.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mertonggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Me and my girlfriend have just come back from staying at this hotel for a one week vacation and overall everything was good. We had a premium room and went for full board as we didn't want to spend a lot eating out.

A few things to think about when making your decision that we feel are worth mentioning.

Positive Points:
• Very friendly staff with a good understanding of English.
• We had a premium room which was clean, tidy and modern. The air conditioning was great as this was a real worry for us.
• Hotel is in a very good location and on a very busy stretch of shops, market(on Tuesday) and the beach is just a 5 minute walk away.
• Breakfast was a thing to look forward to, when you get a premium room your breakfast is upgraded to the 'Burger Club' restaurant in the hotel, rather than their standard meal hall and is worth the upgrade just for this.

Negative Points:
• Food was disappointing although a great selection of it, we felt the cooked food was very basic and if you like tasty enjoyable food like us then you will be disappointed. I don't hold this against them as we sort of knew it would be the case and most of the hotels in the area probably do the same. We ended up only eating 2 dinners and 2 lunches of our free meals at the Hotel and as food wasn't that expensive, we would eat out trying different places around the area. I recommend 'Kings' just a 5 minute walk to the left coming out the Hotel (good tasty food).
• With the premium room you get free WiFi or can pay 10 Euros I believe for the week. It was very very slow. I ended up buying a booster for my phone and the 3g was 10 times faster than their WiFi.

We are happy with our choice of hotel but should have just gone bed and breakfast with the premium room. We hope this helps you, have a great holiday!

Room Tip: Go Premium for the breakfast upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.1 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida Park
Hotel Florida Park
#5 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#10 of 21 in Santa Susanna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
#7 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa

Property: Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Address: Avinguda del Mar 16, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Susanna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An uniquely constructed hotel situated in the middle of the Santa Susanna promenade facing the sea and just 150 meters from the beach. A very spacious layout where you can enjoy our extensive range of services which include: restaurants, bars, night club and sports and leisure facilities which will make you feel looked after and catered for. Let your children enjoy our kids club and children´s playground. As well as this, our younger guests can enjoy our games room and the sports facilities already mentioned. You can stroll along the wide promenade, have a tasty drink or cocktail on the terrace, be entertained by the nightly show at the Festival Bar, enjoy a good pizza in pizzeria "Il Veneziano”, or enjoy new specialities in our newly opened restaurant "La Brasserie"...Aquamarina can also offer: Aqua Hotel commercial area (shops, supermarket, hairdresser, cash machine), indoor garage and outdoor parking. All the ingredients for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Santa Susana
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa Spain/Santa Susanna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing