We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aquamarina - July 13”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Certificate of Excellence
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Aquamarina - July 13”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This is a really lovely hotel, especially as it is only 3 star. We stayed 24th July for 10 days. I had emailed the hotel prior to arrival to request a family room - they emailed straight back with the cost €320 for the stay but explained that there were no family rooms available at this time, but to ask when checking in. This I did, but there were no rooms, we were given our key by a very friendly receptionist. We went half board.

Rooms - our room was a quad - there was a double and 2 singles (which was good as we were travelling with a 13 year old girl and a 17 year old lad). No, the room was not big at all and I had to use the cupboard where the mini bar used to be for my clothes.....but we don't travel light! Perfectly adequate for our stay, we even managed to play cards around the balcony table in the room one night. The view was out to sea, tucked in a corner, could not see the pool but can hear the music. The air-conditioning was excellent and well needed. The rooms were cleaned daily, and towels were changed if you left them in the bath (a normal and good procedure)' the sheets were changed when you left a blue card on your bed asking for them to be changed. The only thing we found was the floor was not very clean....but a minor issue....I just wore a little pair of flat pumps everywhere.

Reception - excellent service, very friendly staff and helpful. All the ones we spoke to could speak English and if they didn't know the answer to our questions, or didn't understand us, they went to get help. We arranged a hire car through reception, a lovely lady called Lauren called the company and they came with the car the next day.

Pool - the pool was not very big but there were no issues with getting in and being able to play and swim. The pool did get murky by the end of the day, but my daughter said that in the morning it was clear and she could see all the way across the pool. There are lots of loungers around, and cleaned and returned to their original places at the end of the day. We did not rush down and yes, there were towels on most of them, but we did manage to get 4 loungers together ....no brolly though, you have to be early to get one of those, but there are tables near the hotel bar that you can sit on and these are in the shade by lunchtime. You can collect a sun lounger mat - these are €1 each - but we just used our towels. The waiters also serve drinks out by the pool, they walk around so just get their attention.

Dinner/Breakfast - the dining room is very large and very occasionally there was a queue - but it did not take long to move. They have a system that you wait at the front and are seated by the staff - I thought this was excellent as you were not fighting over tables with other guests, or trying to get cups and crockery. The waiters only took you to a ready prepared table. This happened both at breakfast and dinner. At dinner you were given a slip of paper for your drinks order. A waiter would come over and get your order - you would then hand this slip in and pay as you left dinner - it worked well...yes a queue at times but nothing major. The food was excellent, always plenty to have for breakfast, rolls, bread, jam, sliced meats, cheese, cooked breakfasts etc..plenty of choice. The same for dinner time....a selection of mains, pork, chicken, veal, fish...and on different nights, hamburgers, hotdogs, kebabs, fresh sea fish, desserts, etc. lots to choose from including salad and fresh fruit. My children always found something to eat...my daughter loved the pasta.

Santa Susanna - if you walk out past the pool you will come to the main promenade. There are loads of shops and stalls to keep you entertained. There are a couple of mini funfairs - one if you turn right and the other on the left. There are quad bikes and normal bikes to hire - we hired 4 mountain bikes for half a day and cycled to Malgrat - further up,the coast. The beach is on the other side of the train track. There are passes under the track that you can take ...this is no problem and there is one just slightly to the left as you leave the hotel via the pool. The beach was nice, a bit shingly (ie sore on the feet) and when we went the sea was quite rough and the life guards were bringing in any floats of any kind and not letting little children be in there by themselves...very sensible really. The life guards are on duty from middle July to middle August. Us beds quite expensive at €6 each and the same for a brolly. Also lots of people wandering the beach selling watches, hats, drinks etc ...about every minute!

Costa Brava - we also travelled a little bit as we had the car. We went to Water World - excellent water park, lots of good rides, but be warned, it is set on a hill so is very steep. Most people put their towels on the grass rather than a get a subbed, which were in short supply anyway. We took the boat to Blanes - nice town. Sunbeds cheaper here at €4.50 each same for the brolly.
we also went to Tossa - lovely beach, not as rough as Santa Susanna, but that could just been the day we went, no people touting for business either. We also found a nice little cove.

Quite a long review but I know they can be useful. All in all, a lovely holiday and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Either overlook the pool or at the back they overlook the mountains - these are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dawny67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    422
    189
    58
    24
See reviews for
497
327
42
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my mother stayed at this hotel 3.08.13-5.8.13. We wanted a relaxing break for a few night.

The hotel was lovley and clean, our room was a little bit on the small side bt we managed. We had a view of the mountains which was nice and quiet.

We loved walking along the promenade every night after evening meal. Loads of lovley shops and stalls to look at.

Food at the hotel was good aswell. Im fussy bt still i managed to find something to eat :)

Highly would recomend this hotel, as hotel is in excellent location, and the hotel it self was clean and verry nice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louiserobertsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have just returned from the Hotel Aquamarina, Santa Susanna and had a really good family holiday - 2 adults and 2 small children (5 and 4 years). We went half board (no all inclusive option with this hotel). We didn't see many British people there during out stay.

Hotel: Hotel was immaculate and our air conditioned family room had two double beds and was cleaned every day. Balcony overlooked the pool and two bars in the hotel and a fantastic restaurant plus Pizza and Burger restaurant at the front of the hotel. Entertainment every night was a high standard which included 80's night, Flamenco dancing, The Extraordinary Girls were my favourite and were a modern singing and dancing group and were amazing!!

Staff: Restaurant staff were so nice and a special thank you to the lady that greeted us on arrival, she was so nice. Bar staff were not overly friendly but did an efficient job at serving you... don't forget the tip though!! Cleaners were very very good and always greeted us in the morning. Reception staff very efficient and answered any queries we had.

Entertainment: Nathan and Sasha from the Animation team really stood out for us. Very friendly, informative and great with the children. Lots of dancing and games going on throughout the day and Mini-disco in the evening. The Mini-club had a room down stairs and it ran from 10.30 - 12pm and in the afternoon but we only took the boys there once as most of the activities apart from two trips to the beach were inside and the boys wanted to go to the pool.

Pool: There is a large pool but it is smaller than the photo shows, still really nice though and great aqua aerobics every morning and afternoon. There is a small kids pool which the boys loved and spent most of their time playing in. There are lots of sun beds which are free and there are limited parasols. I'm afraid you have to get up early with your towels to lay claim to your bed and parasols!! Both pools were very clean with a life guard but no inflatables in the pool.

There is an indoor pool and with spa treatments down stairs but it was chargeable and we found it very expensive to use.

Food: Food was of a very high standard. Breakfast from 7.30 - 10.30am which great selection of hot food; sausages, bacon, eggs, beans, pastries, fruit, lovely breads. The expresso coffee very good quality. We didn't experience many queues at all during dining which was really good. Evening meal from 7.00 - 10.00pm and different themes every night; Paella, Burgers, Kebabs, Chilli, Chicken all accompanied with a large range of salads, breads, cheeses, chips and the puddings were really good; gateaus, fresh fruit, ice creams. You had to settle the drinks bill after each evening meal which worked really well.

Beach: Turn left at the pool exit of the hotel, under the walk way and the beach is 2 minutes walk. The beach is shingle and the water is crystal clear. It does only have a small shallow area and then a deep drop and so had to stay with the boys all the time. If you take a boat ride to Santa Christina the beach there is much more shallow and easier for the kids. At the back of the hotel before you reach the shopping complex is a large water fountain park with lots of water springs and water jets.

Evening Walks and Stalls: What we loved after each meal is to have a nice walk along the promenade in front of the hotel. Every night there were lots of stalls selling, crafts, clothes, jewellery, hats, scarfs and lots of things going on. The boys loved the human statues and there were little parks for them to play. Lots and lots of shops too and a market every Tuesday.
We noticed a few discos which although we didn't visit looked good for the older kids. If you like shops there is a huge shopping complex behind the hotel and definitely worth a look.

Train Station: If you turn right outside the pool entrance to the hotel and walk 5 minutes along, you can catch the train to Barcelona for a good day out.

Room Tip: Try and choose a room facing the pool and not the back car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Just got back from 2 weeks at this hotel and would gladly go back again tomorrow.
I can't really fault it as the room was good, the air-con worked, the cleaners did a great job and all the staff - yes even the bar staff! were friendly.
My only gripe would be the dining facilities, the food itself was ok but pretty tasteless. For example, I had a paella that tasted of nothing. It's probably me, but I actually prefer the food at an H-Top hotel. Oh and wine and water etc have to be paid for separately after the meal and this causes a bit of a snarl-up in the entrance/exit. The lady that manages the restaurant front desk deserves a mention for her lovely manner, she was a real star.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are in the shade all day and are quiet, rooms at the front have the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

We had paid for an upgrade to a premium room, very nice room. Free wifi, not super fast, but did the job. Only one of us could log in on it at a time.
Beds were very hard, personally prefer a softer mattress.
Rooms were spotless, towels changed daily if required.
We had a pool facing balcony, which was lovely, when the door was shut! Lots of noise from the pool and the distorted microphone of the pool side entertainment. Thankfully this doesn't go on for long. Balconys are tiny.
Staff are very friendly and efficient.
We just had B&B as we didnt want to be tied to eating at the hotel. Food is cheap here anyway. Glad we did this as we couldn't bear to stay by the pool all day.Very busy, lots of children, no sunbeds available after 9.30! All reserved with towels! If you want one get up early!! Especially if you want an umbrella aswell, these are limited! Alot of beds all crammed in together. You can also pay €1 for a sunbed mattress, which is needed, very un comfy without. We much preferred walking a few minutes to the beach, €9 for two sunbeds for the day, an extra €9 if
You require an umbrella too...
Breakfast was good, plenty of choice. Hot and cold options available.
Overall the hotel was lovely and we would stay again, but we definitely did the right thing by getting just the bnb option so we could have the peaceful break we needed...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leanne26780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Went there on a handball-cup in june/july 2013 for two weeks.
Large hotel in Santa Susanna wich is a real tourist trap:) ok hotel with really friendly staff. The hotel was full when we was there so a sun-chair by the pool was impossible to get, but that was ok because the noise level was unbearable and didnt help when the over-happy pool staff turned their speakers on full. Thank god for the beach not far away:)
The rooms was old style but ok. Cleaning-staff did an amazing job every day and keept the rooms very clean.
This is a hotel for people/families that want to stay where there is all possible things to do for the young ones. It gor almost everything to keep kids busy......but it costs:)

The dining was ok at breakfast and lunch but hot food was never hot. It was the same at dinner.
At dinner this was just a too busy. Long lines to get in and also to get out when you had to pay for beverage. They could have double the staff at dinner because we never got to order beverage before we started on desserts. The waiters just had too much to do.
As a chef i would love to work for free in the kitchen for a week and change a few things. Like the meat that they slice before cooking??? It always enda up dry and not tasty at all. And that its cold as well doesent help. The cold part of the buffet was wery good and loads of choises.

And since there is a lot of scandinavian guests, what about a couple of tv-channels that isnt spanish, german or french?

Room Tip: We had a room facing the neighbour hotel. This and almost every hotel had some show every night wich...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My husband wanted a holiday where you could have a quiet day by the pool or a hectic night on the town, we found it here in Santa Susanna. The hotel was lovely for a 3 star, the staff were so helpful and friendly. Our rooms were spotless with linen and towels changed daily if necessary. The food was good with plenty of choice but if you did want to eat in a there was a lovely restaurant on the beach just a 10 minute walk away. This is a place we will go back to. Also great for families with a very hard working animation team.

Room Tip: Ask for premier room with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suecass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,444 reviews
0.1 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida Park
Hotel Florida Park
#7 of 21 in Santa Susanna
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
#8 of 21 in Santa Susanna
593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#10 of 21 in Santa Susanna
785 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa

Property: Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Address: Avinguda del Mar 16, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Susanna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An uniquely constructed hotel situated in the middle of the Santa Susanna promenade facing the sea and just 150 meters from the beach. A very spacious layout where you can enjoy our extensive range of services which include: restaurants, bars, night club and sports and leisure facilities which will make you feel looked after and catered for. Let your children enjoy our kids club and children´s playground. As well as this, our younger guests can enjoy our games room and the sports facilities already mentioned. You can stroll along the wide promenade, have a tasty drink or cocktail on the terrace, be entertained by the nightly show at the Festival Bar, enjoy a good pizza in pizzeria "Il Veneziano”, or enjoy new specialities in our newly opened restaurant "La Brasserie"...Aquamarina can also offer: Aqua Hotel commercial area (shops, supermarket, hairdresser, cash machine), indoor garage and outdoor parking. All the ingredients for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Santa Susana
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa Spain/Santa Susanna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing