We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites(Santa Susanna)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Montemar Maritim(Santa Susanna)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
H.TOP Royal Sun(Santa Susanna)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa(Santa Susanna)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Caprici(Santa Susanna)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alhambra(Santa Susanna)
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Florida Park(Santa Susanna)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Tahiti Playa Hotel(Santa Susanna)(Great Value!)
US$115
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania(Santa Susanna)(Great Value!)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,264)
Filter reviews
1,264 results
Traveller rating
483
477
205
66
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
477
205
66
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsburger clubtrain stationpremium roomvisited santalovely hotelpool areabreakfast and dinnerlarge hotelfew minutes walkhalf boardsaladnice balconyplenty of sunbedsbuffet styleevery nightwaiter servicetwo double beds
Filter
Updating list...
305 - 310 of 1,264 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Returned from a week at the Aquamarine Hotel on 29th September.

We chose Santa Susanna as it seemed to be a more 'upmarket' resort than some of the other resorts in the area whilst we were also aware of the fact that the 'Aquamarine' was due to open with a 4 star rating next season and assumed that the standard would be better than an average 3 star which is it's current rating.

First impressions were good - very helpful staff on reception and the first thing the guy said was 'you asked for a sea or pool view - we've given you both' - excellent!!

The room on the 4th floor was good - not particularly large and the bathroom was very small with the toilet 'jammed' behind the door but none the less, it was clean and as promised, it had a great view of the large pool area and the sea - good result as we had feared being allocated a room on the 5th floor which many reviews had warned against!

The restaurant was quite large but it was a bit of a pain having to be escorted to a different table on every occasion. However, the lady at the entrance to the restaurant was extremely pleasant and a real credit to the hotel - I wish I'd made a note of her name to give her the credit she deserves!

The food was nothing special - I've had much better but generally, it was fine and the house wine at 6.25 Euro per bottle was good value compared to the cost of their other drinks e.g. 1.95 Euro for a 250ml bottle of coke.

The entertainment was of very variable quality - at one extreme the Michael Jackson/Jackson 5 show was good and the 'Lord of the Dance' show was excellent whilst the 'crazy Show' and the was Abba tribute (two women only) was not much better and we walked out of both to find a bar in the town.

The pool area was great and at this time of year, there was absolutely no problem whatsoever getting a sunbed of your choice any time of day. However, the 100% plastic sunbeds themselves were probably the most uncomfortable I'd ever experienced and although there was an 'option' of a padded cover, this was at the price of 1 Euro per day which seemed 'out of order' to me and I wouldn't pay this out of principal!

The resort of Santa Susanna was as I had hoped - much nicer than Pineda which was less than 2 miles away and infinitely better than Calella which really was a 'hole' and definitely a place to be avoided!

Like many of the resorts along that coastline, the main hotel 'strip' was separated from the beech by the train track which runs along the coast to Barcelona and you have to go either under or over the track to get to the beech which was sandy and clean although not great for kids as it slopes down very quickly to deep water.

Overall, I would recommend Santa Susanna as being a very good resort - the 'Aquamarine' was also a decent enough hotel although it's got along way to go justify a 4 star rating!!

Room Tip: It's certainly worth asking for a pool/sea view as for once in a lifetime, they actually took notice of our request and made a point of giving us exactly what we had asked for!!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TelfordMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is a lovely modern hotel with great food and they cater for gluten free people. Drinks are reasonable priced, the pool is lovely. You can rent beach towels for 1 Euro. Very friendly and accommodating staff.
Bar service by the pool, comfortable beds, nice (if compact) bedroom and very clean throughout.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool on the right hand side (when facing the entrance) get the sun on the balcony all day.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here for 7 days in September. We hadn’t stayed somewhere like this before, so we weren’t sure what to expect, but we had a great time. The hotel was spotlessly clean throughout, and the housekeepers came into the room every day. All the staff were friendly, and spoke English (as our Spanish is quite poor!) inparticularly, Marina in the restaurant was very welcoming. We were half board, and the food was fine – there was always a lot of it; it was fresh and there was always something we would like. We ate twice in the other restaurant The Burger Club (which was not included in half board) and it was better – the pizza was good, but the burger was not particularly special (although good value). We didn’t go in the pool, as the beach was so close and we preferred it – although the pool did seem good (not too busy, and always plenty of loungers available). We didn’t take part in the entertainment, and we felt it wasn’t invasive (which for us was really good)
The area was fine as well. The train station is about a 10 min walk north along the strip, and its 9 euro for a day return to Barcelona. Going by train other direction we went to Blanes (2 stops to the north) which is a nice big town, with a beautiful beach, good shops and has a botanical garden which was really good. Santa Suzanna doesn’t have an awful lot to do, but has a great beach, and good bars etc so we were happy with that. A 15/20 min walk south from the hotel is Malgrat – which is a similar area, which a bigger town and a good beach as well.
Temperature was 27 or 28 + all week, no rain/wind.
Travelling as a couple – overall we thought this was good value for money and we had a great time. :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This hotel was good the food was good but not very warm the only complaint I have about this hotel is that the room is not big also no plugs beside the bed as my husband has a sleep apnea machine there is no plugs beside the bed and the room didn't have a fridge couldn't hire one . The entertainment was very good

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank tab1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have just returned from a one week holiday at this hotel. It was our first time in a half board hotel as we normally do self catering so we didn't know what to really expect. We had arranged to have a family room as we had my 3 yr old and my mum coming along with us. Was two separate rooms so really useful for when toddler was tired. The rooms were a really good size and as it was a family room I was very glad to have the high balcony, felt much safer. The view went up the mountains so no sea view but it was very peaceful. There is no fridge so trying to keep fresh milk cold as its quite expensive in the bar was very difficult and one carton did not last long. As per previous comments also bring your own coffee and kettle as no drinking facilities are included. The hotel was spotless and very clean, and all the staff were so friendly. meals were great, my only down point would be at breakfast, even though the choice was great, each morning it was cold, they need warmer hot plates. The evening meals were fantastic. Each night something new to try and plenty of it. It was all buffet style but very tasty and very fresh. I was really impressed. The hotel really does need to work on desserts though, we were craving chocolate cake and ice cream by the second day, luckily there are lots of ice cream parlours along the strip. The swimming pool was very cold, not heated but we loved it down there. The sun loungers were always available and the pool staff coming round to serve you drinks while you sunbath were very friendly and helpful. We found however that they do not like you going to the bar to order drinks meaning e waiting staff have to come to you, for this they expect a tip every time you ask for something, we would have been quite happy to just order at the bar. The evening entertainment was varied, every night there was a mini disco at 9pm till 10pm which had the children playing and dancing around. Most of the entertainers were lovely and really made you feel welcome, even when our child was being very shy. The adult entertainment consisted of a few live shows from tribute acts and flamenco dancers to the entertainment staff putting on cabaret shows. Was very good. Drinks prices were not too bad in the bar either so you felt very comfy just to relax and have a good time.
You have to pay extra to use the indoor pool and spa so we didn't bother, was a shame as it looked beautiful. And wifi was about 12 euros for a week.
As for location it is really well situated, only 5 min walk to the train station where you can get a really cheap tran ticket into Barcelona and the local towns. The other direction there are some lovely restaurants and bars, souvenir gift shops etc. the beach is accessible under the railway a few minutes down the road, we didn't spend much time there as the sand was quite shingle, not fine sandy as some of the reviews mentioned.
All in all the hotel was way worth the money we paid for it and if it was in a busier resort we would go back again, but in a week we managed to do all that was possible to do there. The marine land/waterpark was a dolphin show, a sea lion show and a bird show, there are no other fish or marine animals there, the rides are good but again water quite chilly, lil one was not too impressed on staying in the water for too long. We took the little trains on the front strip into the mountains which had beautiful views takes about an hour and gives you a little history on the resort. We spent a day in Calella which was a bigger town, more shops and busier resort which was lovely and also walked up to Malgrat from Santa Susannah, was a long way but loads of cages along the way to relax in.

Room Tip: If your travelling with kids ask for a family room, much more peaceful not having to share a room, take your own drinking facilities for you room as nothing is given
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilmrsduffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews