We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY - SAD TO COME HOME”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2009

My husband, myself and 2 young daughters had a superb holiday. This was made up of the hotel being great & the location being quiet enough for young familiies-with the added benefit of a funfair located about 3-5 minute stroll to the right of the Hotel. The hotel in our opinion had everything. We were fortunate to have a good view of the poolside and with their only being 5 floors not too many stairs to climb if the lifts were busy. The Hotel has an amusement area set on the ground floor / gift shop & mini market shop located directly at the back of the hotel that you can buy your bottle water / icecreams & even make up baguetts which could be eaten around the poolside - saving on the pennies!!. Inflatables were banned from the main pool - which was a good thing but permitted in the little one if small enough. Never a shortage of sunbeds - but towels were out at 7.30!!. Mattresses were also avail to rent per day at just 1 euro. The hotel was very clean, beds made daily & could NOT fault anything about the hotel. The beach really is not as far as made out. 5 minute walk across the road which is accessed by a safe walkway . The outside of the hotel comes to life in the evenings, where the pavements are full of lovely tented stalls. I read the latest of reviews just before the start of my holiday & had some concerns.....but we really couldn't fault a thing. Being British we were the minority but this gave you a sence of being away!! Didn't find it at all noisy & we sleep with our balcony open. An ideal holiday that we really wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FLYMEBAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

401 - 407 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2009

The hotel was very clean great service the beach is`ent very far away the waves are huge
the rooms were very clean comfortable beds the swimming pool is not heated but thats ok beacuse its really warm . The food is fantastic i had a great time

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnnyWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Looking at the website, the hotel looked like a good place to stay for a couple of days on our way towards Barcelona. We were wrong. Not knowing the area or the hotel at all - we had to trust the website. The type of hotel, not to forget the size of it made us skeptic - but since we were doing a same afternoon Internet booking, in a hurry, from a cafe in France -our options were limited. What a charmless place. Why would anyone actually choose to stay in a place like this? We came in very late in the evening, and left first thing in the morning. Very noisy throughout the night. The view from the terrace in the morning was 500 sunbeds surrounding a giant pool. On the website it looks like the hotel is directly on the beach. No pictures of the busy main road, train or camping that separated it from the beach. No doubt that it is a steep curve down to the really bad hotels around the world, but If you at all care about the ambiance and location of a hotel - you deserve a lot better then this.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trond-Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights at the rate of 102 Euro a night, all meals included (no drinks), in a superior room. I thought the drinks were very reasonably priced for a hotel (2 Euro for a beer, 8 Euro for a bottle of wine). I booked directly through the hotel online. It was everything I wanted though I wish it was a little closer to Barcelona (1 hr 15 min by train) and that the food was better, as many reviewers had said. The food was fine, but nothing to get excited about. We were traveling with our 18-month old and so having the convenience of a buffet was well worth the money. There was fresh fruit and vegetables available at every meal and we could be in and out of there quickly if needed. We did eat out a couple of times. Our favorite place was the Mexican restaurant across the street on the beach. They had a porch/patio with lots of shade, a constant warm breeze, huge pillows for lounging and it was steps from the sand so gorgeous views of the sea as well. The superior room was great (well worth the extra $$) because we had a flat screen TV and a large balcony with 2 chairs and a little table as well as 2 lounge chairs for sunning, which we did each afternoon while our little guy napped (we had sun from about 9 am-4 pm on our balcony, as did all the superior rooms). The weather was gorgeous every day, the staff was extremely friendly, there were plenty of chairs and umbrellas at the pool, the little kids park was perfect and the people watching was also quite good. The beach across the street is great as well (about 5-10 min walk) where you can rent chairs and umbrellas for 5 Euro a piece. Bring your own beach towels though because the resort does not supply them. Overall, it was a relaxing vacation and I would love to go back to this hotel, probably one of the better ones in Santa Susanna.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

My sister and I went to Aquamarina, Santa Susana for a week in June. We had a fantastic holiday and would undoubtedly recommend this hotel.
It is in a good location - across the road from the beach (accessed via a walkway under the train lines). Santa Susana itself is lovely - not as busy or crowded as resorts such as Lloret de Mar. It is basically a long strip of beach, hotels and shops. All of the shops sell the usual and same things but there are some great ice-cream/creperies along the strip!
The hotel serves GREAT food - we were never disappointed. Breakfast is a vast array of hams, cheeses, fruits, bread and salads. There is also hot food every morning including some regional foods. There is fresh tea, coffee, juice etc. Dinner is a buffet - during the week there were theme nights. We had chinese (sweet and sour pork, spring rolls), 'american' (hot dogs and burgers) and mexican (nachos, burritos, fajitas). Every night there was a good selection of meals including paella, tortilla, chips, chicken, pork, beef, pasta, rice dishes etc. Dessert was a range of cakes, fruits and ice-creams. All in well, it was great food and great selection!
The pool is great, very clean. You can't bring inflatables etc. into it but most people used those on the beach instead. There is aqua-aerobics every day which was good fun and the hotel's entertainment team did a good job at getting everyone involved and having a bit of a laugh - entertainment was also fun and varied in the evenings. It ranged from flamenco to abba! There is a cocktail bar and also a poolside bar.
The rooms were very clean - towels changed every day and linen every few days. We had no complaints! Staff were generally very friendly - this hotel does service a LOT of Spanish and Dutch people and not everyone spoke great english. But staff were willing to help with queries. Safety deposit boxes are 18 euro - 10 euro deposit.
TIPS:
If you plan on going to the beach often, don't waste time on hiring a lounger or parasol. All of the shops sell mats for one euro fifty which everyone tendsto use. Lilos are also cheap. Also, be aware of the chinese women who walk up and down the beach all day offering 'massages'. It is illegal and we saw a girl being arrested by police.
If you book with Thomas Cook, the Catamaran Cruise is a fantastic afternoon - sailing up the coast, anchoring in a cove and free food and bbq the whole way.
The water park is a good afternoon but is not that big - it is also very hilly and quite expensive for what you get (25 euro). But kids and young people will have a good time.
The hotel is huge and we barely saw the same people twice! Make sure you go in plenty of time in the evenings - there was never a shortage of food but it was very busy.
We would highly recommend the Aquamarina! It is a very high quality 3 star hotel and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MelH19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Have just returned from a week at this hotel, having booked only 10 days earlier. The room was nice and the hotel always spotlessly clean. The food was plentiful but as the hotel mainly seems to cater for German tourists you may need to be inventive on occasion to avoid eating chips with every meal. The meat sometimes seemed incorrectly labelled (was very dubious about something that was labelled turkey as it had a large bone in it and was quite dark). The salads and fruit were plentiful and nicely presented. Was not impressed with the entertainment - but I am quite fussy about what I am willing to sit through - again though seemed more German orientated. Yes, there were an awful lot of Germans at this hotel! I would not go back to this hotel but more because of the resort that it is in, rather than any major problem with the hotel. Santa Susanna is not really what I was expecting, I thought it may be a quaint Spanish village type resort, but sadly that was not to be, souless with many ugly buildings is the only way that I can describe it. I also did not like the fact that the trainline runs along the front between the beach and hotels, if you are looking for peace and tranquility do not book here! If I go back to this costa I will be looking to book in Tossa de Mar in Lloret de mar.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalesRockchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

Travelled with Easyjet at half-term - tranfer from Barcelona via Sants railway station easy and cheap! Use bonotren or T10 multi-trip travel cards if you intend to use railway system to travel around during holiday. Hotel 10 minutes walk from station - check-in easy - rooms good -overlooking pool - air con etc. Pool and childrens pool excellent - lots of young children in them - therefore no airbeds etc allowed - this is a family hotel.
Only negatve was evening meal - breakfast great - lots of choice - evening meal occassionally was disappointing - but still good value. Station Pub -typical English pub in Spain! Use Carrefour hypermarket for shopping - across field from hotel. Would recommend to any family. Santa Susanna/ Malgrat promenade merge together to provide many shops/hotels/cafes/restaurants

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve055Alsager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
#6 of 21 in Santa Susanna
638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#9 of 21 in Santa Susanna
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Florida Park
Hotel Florida Park
#7 of 21 in Santa Susanna
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa

Address: Avinguda del Mar 16, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Susanna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range: £45 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An uniquely constructed hotel situated in the middle of the Santa Susanna promenade facing the sea and just 150 meters from the beach. A very spacious layout where you can enjoy our extensive range of services which include: restaurants, bars, night club and sports and leisure facilities which will make you feel looked after and catered for. Let your children enjoy our kids club and children´s playground. As well as this, our younger guests can enjoy our games room and the sports facilities already mentioned. You can stroll along the wide promenade, have a tasty drink or cocktail on the terrace, be entertained by the nightly show at the Festival Bar, enjoy a good pizza in pizzeria "Il Veneziano”, or enjoy new specialities in our newly opened restaurant "La Brasserie"...Aquamarina can also offer: Aqua Hotel commercial area (shops, supermarket, hairdresser, cash machine), indoor garage and outdoor parking. All the ingredients for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Santa Susana
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa Spain/Santa Susanna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing