We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We spent two weeks in August 2009 in the Hotel Aquamarina, and we have to say it was a disappointment. Things we did not like:

- The water from the tap and shower was extremely chlorinated.

- The white towels were not clean, they had yellow spots.

- Cutlery and plates in the restaurant were always wet and dirty, food always very greasy and not varied.

- Reception was not helpful and not flexible at all. When we asked if we could change the room, we were asked to check out before 10am and then we will have the new room at 1pm. They could not (or rather did not want to) tell which room we could get. Even though we have not decided, the cleaning lady knocked at 9am that we are supposed to move... We did not.

- We had a room on the 5h (top) floor. The balcony is half of the ones on lower floors, and if you are sitting outside you can hardly see anything else than the concrete banister... On our last day, the hotel management decided that it was the best day to scratch the seagull guano from the roof and right onto our towels on the balcony. Hereby, we thank you again!

The only good thing is the location. The sea is 5mins while the train station towards Barcelona is about 8mins away. To sum up, the hotel has no atmosphere, and it does not even try to create one. We will never come back and will certainly not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeroandris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2009

have just spent a week in the Aquamarina. We had previosly enjoyed the Aqua Onabrava a few years ago and thought that this hotel would be of the same standard. The hotel is clean and food good if not predictable but the hotel is too big for the amount of facilities it offers. The pool area can be very overcrowded and long queues for meals due to amount of people in the dining area at any one time. The reception staff were not the most helpful unless you were Spanish or German! The hotel was in a great location and this made up for the disappointment of this hotel not living up to the reputation of the Aqua Onabrava which is a short walk away. We would return to the area but would stay in the Aqua Montagut or the Onabrava .

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjiscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

I booked this package holiday on line with first choice,which was great value £430 fullboard for a week per person, their was my husband,daughter of 19 and baby son of 18months,and i just want to say it is a fantastic hotel,the rooms are very clean and large the beds were made every day and the room cleaned, we had a lovely balconly that overlooked the pool and beach,the food was amazing everything u could want, the staff were very friendly and helpful. the pool was great and a baby pool for little ones, overall we had a great holiday and would defently go back to this hotel. and the place santa susanna was lovely...

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thestylist12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

After reading such an exagerated review i thought i would share my review!

Overall the holiday was good value. There are very good deals available at this hotel. Really, as in so many places, you get what you pay for really.

Hotel

Rooms
Spotless clean and good balconies. Try request a sea view room on a high floor to escape any noise from below. Beware you have to pay for parking.

Staff
Very helpful and informative of the whole Costa Brava are.

Pool
Pretty small maybe for the size of the hotel. However, i was there "peak" season and i didnt spot any Sardines! Only issue was that if travelling with children, you are not allowed any inflatables or balls in the pool and amazingly this is abided by.

Entertainment
Not really one to just sit in a hotel in evenings - but from what i saw they tried hard to put on various acts each evening although due to the fact that the majority of the guests aren't English ( a bonus ) some of it is hard to follow.

Food
Perhaps the biggest concern for those venturing on a hlaf board holiday for the first time. We went full board and the food was overall fine. Not amazing variety but unless you are particuarly choosy, then you will always find something that is suitable. On the half board basis, you have a choice of lunch or dinner depending on which you fancy. Hotel will also make you a packed lunch if you are heading out fro a trip.

Santa Susana
Very Clean! Below must have been in a different resort. Saw absolutely no rubbish at all.

Beach is good (although fine shingle) When cross the road to the beach - turn right and keep walking that way for 5 mins - much less crowded - prettier small areas and less busy.

As for places to eat in the evening it is pretty limited. Problem is that the majority of the hotels there are inclusive of food. Saying that, we only ate at the hotel on a couple of nights. It isnt that the hotel food is bad, is just that lacks atmosphere variety etc.

However ther are a couple of nice beach front restaurants that are much better that those along the strip of hotels. Walk across the road to the beach and then turn left and keep going for about 200m and there are 3 or 4 nice beach places there which you should def have a look at. Also if you turn left out of hotel and keep going you will get to Malgrat which has more to offer than SS.
The area is pretty busy but not manic by any means. During the evenings there is a good atmosphere along the fornt of the hotels as there is a nightly market etc. The food prices are relatively cheap compared to UK.Ireland. Nothing like as cheap as would have been 5 years ago but still good enough value overall. Drinks in the hotel etc are cheap but if by the pool just buy eveything form the shop at the front as they have no issue with you bringing stuff in.

If you have a car then def head out to places like Tossa de Mar - very pretty and full of traditional restaurants.

Other activities include Quad Biking, Water Parks and Dolphin shows and a day trip to Barcelona is easily accesible from the SS train station.

There is also a nighly market on the road outside the hotel which adds atmoshpere to the evenings and a larger weekly market every Tuesday morning.

You really shouldnt worry about it too much based on some of the reviews her - the place is quiet - very clean and friendly so you arent going to have any problems overall. Hotel is pretty well run overall and a holiday is often what you make of it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sevenoaks09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Well actually, not cheap, as in August peak holiday season we paid £140 per night for B&B (2 adults & 1 young child).....but definitely nasty.

The hotel is huge & totally charmless. The facilities can't cope with the amount of people in peak season. For instance on day 1 we went to breakfast at 9.30am and there was a queue of 120 people in front of us all waiting to get a table (I counted because I was so amazed). Sometimes we could only stand in the pool without moving as there were so many people that we were all squashed in like sardines & no-one could move, let alone swim!

Not only is the pool too small for the size of hotel but the shallow end is much too small; most of the time my 5 year old couldn't even get to the shallow end & just had to hang on to the side / tread water in the deep end.

The pool terrace is horrible; concrete with rows & rows of sunbeds packed in. The sun beds are just hard plastic frames. There are piles of sunbed cushions but you have to pay for them, which is a liberty when you are are already a guest in the hotel and paying such a high rate to stay there. The pool area is also adjacent to the main road and there are no barriers.

The rooms are fine & definitely clean and the balconies are a good size. Our balcony had quite nice view of next door hotel's pool but we were kept awake at night by loud live music there.

The resort Santa Susanna is absolutely horrible. It is dirty, with litter on the beach & rubbish in the streets (one day I saw a pile of old toilets lying dumped on a corner of the main street). Everything looks shabby. We stayed the previous week at Fenals beach near Lloret and this was a lovely resort; everything much cleaner & better kept.

Santa Susanna & the Aqua Aquamarina are also loud & brash. At the pool you get deafening Spanish techno-pop music blaring out for the awful aqua dance / aerobics sessions. And the most annoying thing of all is the idiot entertainment guy who tortures you with his constant whistle blowing throughout the music.

Maybe in low season when the hotel isn't so busy and you are paying a rate more suitable to its calibre, this hotel could be OK (though the resort would still be shabby). I'm just glad that we were only staying here for 2 days en route from somewhere much nicer!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BJandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

My husband, myself and 2 young daughters had a superb holiday. This was made up of the hotel being great & the location being quiet enough for young familiies-with the added benefit of a funfair located about 3-5 minute stroll to the right of the Hotel. The hotel in our opinion had everything. We were fortunate to have a good view of the poolside and with their only being 5 floors not too many stairs to climb if the lifts were busy. The Hotel has an amusement area set on the ground floor / gift shop & mini market shop located directly at the back of the hotel that you can buy your bottle water / icecreams & even make up baguetts which could be eaten around the poolside - saving on the pennies!!. Inflatables were banned from the main pool - which was a good thing but permitted in the little one if small enough. Never a shortage of sunbeds - but towels were out at 7.30!!. Mattresses were also avail to rent per day at just 1 euro. The hotel was very clean, beds made daily & could NOT fault anything about the hotel. The beach really is not as far as made out. 5 minute walk across the road which is accessed by a safe walkway . The outside of the hotel comes to life in the evenings, where the pavements are full of lovely tented stalls. I read the latest of reviews just before the start of my holiday & had some concerns.....but we really couldn't fault a thing. Being British we were the minority but this gave you a sence of being away!! Didn't find it at all noisy & we sleep with our balcony open. An ideal holiday that we really wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FLYMEBAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

The hotel was very clean great service the beach is`ent very far away the waves are huge
the rooms were very clean comfortable beds the swimming pool is not heated but thats ok beacuse its really warm . The food is fantastic i had a great time

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnnyWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#8 of 21 in Santa Susanna
911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
#9 of 21 in Santa Susanna
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
424 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Florida Park
Hotel Florida Park
#7 of 21 in Santa Susanna
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa

Address: Avinguda del Mar 16, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Susanna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range: £45 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An uniquely constructed hotel situated in the middle of the Santa Susanna promenade facing the sea and just 150 meters from the beach. A very spacious layout where you can enjoy our extensive range of services which include: restaurants, bars, night club and sports and leisure facilities which will make you feel looked after and catered for. Let your children enjoy our kids club and children´s playground. As well as this, our younger guests can enjoy our games room and the sports facilities already mentioned. You can stroll along the wide promenade, have a tasty drink or cocktail on the terrace, be entertained by the nightly show at the Festival Bar, enjoy a good pizza in pizzeria "Il Veneziano”, or enjoy new specialities in our newly opened restaurant "La Brasserie"...Aquamarina can also offer: Aqua Hotel commercial area (shops, supermarket, hairdresser, cash machine), indoor garage and outdoor parking. All the ingredients for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Santa Susana
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa Spain/Santa Susanna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing