We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic Moments - a hearty welcome and thank you - Unique !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Schluessel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Beckenried
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Magic Moments - a hearty welcome and thank you - Unique !

Imagine being transported to another romantic time. In "Magic Moments" in the beginning of the 19th Century - but with luxury of the 21st Century.

Ranging from the boutique rooms in the attic , all beautifully furnished and decorated Anno 1900, to the whole team .

True to style of the bathtub in the room to the smallest knick-knacks. Simply fantastic , nothing is missing. This is something special where you can feel the passion - the key of Daniel and Gabrielle the owners of the hotel.

It starts with the reception. A completely different atmosphere than you expect from 5 stars . All are welcome. We were spoiled. This was another key to the magical moments full of surprises. Be it the aperitif in the special spice store, with choice wines, homemade gourmet appetizers to the old made-up meat cutting machines. Where we could cut smoked deer jerky itself.

It is a paean to the gourmet artist Daniel and his wife Gabrielle whose handwriting is seen in all the details of the facilities. With a team that is as warmly. We thank all especially because it is no longer self -evident today, that you will be spoiled by the "heart" as a guest.

If you just want to define pure luxury differently, then this is the key to full enjoyment, in the heart of Switzerland and only 20 minutes from Lucerne.

A happy couple 65+ Switzerland/Florida

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadeleineJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle A, Inhaber at Boutique Hotel Schluessel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014
Google Translation

Liebe Madeleine Josephine und Ralph

Für Euren lieben und ausführlichen Eintrag danken wir Euch ganz herzlich. Unseren tollen Mitarbeitern und uns ist das wie Balsam auf der Seele und gibt uns Kraft und Energie auf diesem Weg weiter zu gehen.
Euch Beiden wünschen wir eine tolle Zeit in Florida und GENIESST es.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for Boutique Hotel Schluessel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

We made reservations for one night twice going and returning from Italy.The hotel has 2 buildings, one is in renovation and stands in scaffoldings at this moment.There is little parking space, no reserved parking or garage. The rooms are nice with everything at hand but this is what you hope to receive at that expensive price ( 292 SF). The beds are standard no boxspring, only latex mattress and wooden slats. When you open your window you hear the highway who is at the back of the hotel.
It is not on the first row near the lake so no amazing lake views( we stayed in nr 13 and nr 7)
The breakfast with local products, musli and smoked salmon, was nice and complete but what was irritating to us was the local radio in the background.
The first night the restaurant was closed due to holidays, the second night we celebrated our wedding anniversary at the restaurant.
When we asked when and where the dinner took place, the staff explained to us that the dinner and aperitif starts in the little store of the hotel. There are no seats, you stand between the shelfs and can tast all the different products exposed and sold(marketing). Proceeding to the dinner area, small but nice you get no menu but they explain to you what the chef cooks that night before every dish.They do not ask you in the beginning what you would like to eat or if you like the whole menu or not. On the table there is a little pamflet with the price of the glasses, the knifes, the plastic table placemat, etc etc.(marketing) and between your meal they present you an assortment of postcards and ask you to send a card to your relations ...again marketing.
In the morning on checking out you receive your bill and you notice that the aperitif is charged (11.80 Sf for sparkling wine) the menu is charged per course ( 21.50 Sf starters,44 Sf main course, 12.50 Sf salat, 14.50 dessert ) We did not receive any wine list but they proposed a Wallis pinot noir and charged 54 Sf/bottle which is very expensive for a local wine. In total the dinner was 258.70 Sf. The dinner was nice but not exeptionnel, we know better for that price.
When we mentioned that we find everything very expensive the staff absolutely agreed, when we mentioned everything was very unclear they were astonished, as prices of the courses are mentioned on the pamflet. Looking close between the products you can buy (?! )they mention the prices of each course and this from..till ...the cheapest course is a vegetarian one, the most expensive the one you get,no other alternative: nice concept.

We felt very disappointed and exploited, the only thing that matters is your money, everything is fake and uninterested.
We hoped also to receive a little attention in the room, or in the restaurant as we did mention our anniversary(40years) on reservation. We received when checking out 2 tiny little cristals in our hands as souvenir.
Icing on the cake coming home we received an email asking us to write a review on tripadvisor or holidaycheck in our native language to promote their hotel and restaurant !!
Conclusion : 500 euro lighter,sour feeling,bad memory and never ever again .....

Room Tip: The less expensive rooms : there is only one, in the attic
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank gokeAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle A, Manager at Boutique Hotel Schluessel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Margot

We have read your review and we wish to clarify a few points for our fellow «tripadvisors».

The gourmet shop has ever since been part of the Schlussel guesthouse. This is where daily produce was sold in the old days, and where milk from the neighbouring farms was collected. It was in 2001 that we have re-opened the shop and we sell home made goods produced by guests, by our staff and by the chef Daniel. Our restaurant guests enjoy their Apéro in the gourmet shop and its homely atmosphere.

There is no written menu in the restaurant; the chef himself explains the daily menu to the guests right at the table. You choose how many courses you wish to order and prices are declared on the leaflets on each table. We can of course cater individual wishes. At the end of the dinner, we hand out free post cards and our guests happily tell their families and friends back home.

Our wine list includes 250 European wines and their prices. We are of course happy to recommend a special wine to you and again, the prices are declared in the restaurant (blackboard on the wall).

The mattresses are a Swiss quality product (by Roviva) and the breathable cover is for hygienic reasons, especially appreciated by guests with allergies. Slatted frames are very common in Switzerland’s beds.

For anniversaries and birthdays we give away tiny little treasures; rock crystals that you carry in your pockets. Leave it in the sunlight to «charge» from time to time, it is a little lucky charm and is meant to bring you good health and happiness. The crystals that we give away are from the Planggenstock, where the biggest and most significant discovery in the European Alps in this century. It is a friend of ours who finds them for us.

We are very aware about Switzerland not being the cheapest destination in Europe.
Our guests stay in big, individually decorated rooms (the smallest of them measuring 20m2, and the roof top suites measuring up to 60m2), equipped with free standing bath tubs. Our guests are offered a free welcome drink, a little bottle of Tawny-port in the room, free WLAN and DVD’s, hot flannels at the end of your meal and a bottle of mineral water for your journey home are a few of the little something’s for our guests.

It is for all these services and amenities that we ask a certain room rate, which then again allows us to pay fair prices to our suppliers.

Our concept is deliberately unique and we are sorry to read that you have not enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Everything about this hotel has charm and class. The service and attention to detail is unbeatable. We stayed for two nights (with our 1 yr 4 month old daughter) and left there feeling relaxed and pampered. The friendly and attentive staff, the level of hospitality, the beautiful scenic location, the locally sourced food (highlights from breakfast were the local alpine cheese & delicious homemade jams) and the cosy rooms made this our favourite place to stay during our travels around Switzerland. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunlarsvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Switzerland is money, moutains and snow. They eat alpenkase and fondu. The people are reserved, cold and a bit unfriendly.
THINK TWICE!
If you still think this about the swiss you must have been living in a cave! Meet mr Daniel and mrs Gabrielle and their wonderfull staff in a fairytale boutique hotel at the border of lake Luzerne (Vierwaldstattersee) Share their passion for being the most welcoming and comfortable hotel of this superb region.
After going on holiday to Switzerland, winter and summer, for more than 20 years I was beginning to get mixed feelings though... But discovering this small luxury hotel, by sheer coincidence, was a turnpoint and a true bless. You will feel at home righteaway : indulge at the exquisite food and hoover away in the kingsize beds and bathrooms... Take a look at the pics or jump to the website... close your eyes and now double the feeling you just got...you're close to the ultimate seduction. Ideal for a break with that nice companion who is deserving this kind or royal treatment for so long... Just do it. Its worth every penny.
So much for the storystelling. You want some practical features? Its near the motorway (but silent), ample car parking, every room is different but state of the art, bathrooms have everything (I mean everything) with all possible amenities, exhaustive mini and coffeebar in front of your door, clean air and nice atmosphere. Breakfast is original, fresh and honest with lots of regional and homemade specialties. If any of the above is like your place you should never have left for a holiday in the first place...but if it isn't...you know what to do if you travel to switzerland a next time. Or heck, just drop by on your way to Italy, it's a half hour drive away from the traffic infested San Gottardo tunnel. Get a good night sleep and arrive at the tunnel before the others do. Want to do some skying? You're 3 minutes walking from the Kleweralp ski slopes. Have a nice trip and give them my regards !

Room Tip: room 14 at the topfloor is exquisite !
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bartmx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle A, Manager at Boutique Hotel Schluessel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Bart

We thank you very much for your truly splendid review and your high praise! What a pleasure to read that we have made you happy, knowing that you Belgians are connoisseurs :-)

We look forward to welcoming you again when you travel south next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had an amazing time at the Boutique Hotel Schlussel. Immediately after we arrived, we already felt at home. The rooms and beautiful and charming and the hotel itself is tucked away in the hills with amazing lakeside views. The service could not have been more perfect. The staff was friendly and was always there to see if they could make your trip better in anyway. It was the perfect relaxing weekend away. The breakfast in the morning... absolutely amazing! I recommend this hotel for a perfect weekend getaway (or longer!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

What a great place to spend few nights. We were greeted warmly by the owner and the personal touch carried on throughout our stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautiful and the breakfast buffet really fulfillw every possible wish.
Can only recommend this small boutique hotel to anyone who is looking for a nice place to relax and experience a familiar and cozy athmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank defko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Highly recommend! I came across this Boutique Hotel accidentally as I was looking for a nice place with a view to stay in Lucerne, as soon as I read about it, I booked it, and I'm very happy I did. It's about 20 minutes away, and it's so much more than I imagined. Beautiful location, amazing service, delicious muesli handmade by the owners, a feeling of luxury in the mountains... Loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank didi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beckenried
3.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Honegg
Hotel Villa Honegg
#1 of 1 in Ennetbuergen
516 reviews
3.4 mi away
Park Hotel Vitznau
Park Hotel Vitznau
#1 of 6 in Vitznau
319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nidwaldnerhof
Hotel Nidwaldnerhof
#2 of 3 in Beckenried
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Seerausch
Hotel Seerausch
#3 of 3 in Beckenried
123 reviews
2.9 mi away
Seeblick Hohenhotel
Seeblick Hohenhotel
#1 of 1 in Emmetten
201 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Vitznauerhof
Hotel Vitznauerhof
#2 of 6 in Vitznau
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Schluessel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Schluessel

Address: Oberdorfstrasse 26 | 6375 Beckenried, Beckenried 6375, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Nidwalden > Beckenried
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Beckenried
Price Range: £175 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Schluessel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Boutique-hotel Schlussel in Beckenried, the first Boutique-hotel in Central Switzerland! Our 12 boutique rooms are a symbiosis of moderne, exclusive comfort and special pieces of long gone times. Each of the spacious and friendly rooms is individually decorated with free standing bathtubs, nostalgic water taps and basins of the Belle Epoche. The rooms invite you to enjoy, relax, work and stay. Please note that dinner is served in the restaurant from Wednesday to Saturday, lunch is served Sundays. Because the restaurant is rather small, table reservations are essential. Room reservations do not automatically include a table reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Boutique Hotel Schluessel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing