We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Location, A Perfect Little Spot At The Beach - Highly Recommended!”
Review of Hotel ter Duyn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel ter Duyn
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Domburg
Cologne, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding Location, A Perfect Little Spot At The Beach – Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Location
This gorgeous little hotel is right at the beach and only a 2 minutes walk away from the city centre with lots of shops, cafés, and restaurants. Unfortunately, our room - Jardin suite - had no view to the see, but instead it had a lovely private patio area (ca. 25m2) with high quality outdoor furniture and a big sunshade (just for us!). This was just perfect! Without any doubts one of the best hotels in Domburg.

Room
This lovely little hotel has ten rooms/suites; however, the standard of our room/suite was outstanding for a 3-star hotel (which actually offers a 4-star standard). The spacious but cosy room had a wonderful “winter garden” with a table and chairs where we enjoyed our daily breakfast (the breakfast will be delivered to the room since the hotel lacks a breakfast room), a nice but small indoor “lounge” area, a flat screen TV, and a functional kitchen including a nespresso machine with different types of coffee and tea. There is no extra cost for Internet.

Bathroom
The size of the bathroom is OK and the standard is fine; the floor was heated, which is always a nice feature. The shower is spacious, but after taking a shower parts of the floor were always wet (no matter how cautious one is). Furthermore, the bathroom door is not “sound protected” and you should take this into account if you travel together (and are not used to some particular “noises”). This is a slight disappointment, but we would always book this suite again (maybe, the owners will replace the door at some point…).

Cleanliness
The room/suite was all in all cleaned properly, except one corner in the winter garden that had a couple of dead flies in a spider web. Needless to say, that this could be improved. However, the cleaning staff also washed the dishes on a daily basis which was just great.

Hotel Staff
The very friendly, English and German-speaking hotel owners Andrea and Rik are perfect hosts. We were even guided to our room/suite which is always more thoughtful. The hotel owners take care of everything in a very friendly and nice way; for example, guests receive a phone call in advance in order to arrange parking, arrival time etc. The owners provide guests with very useful tips.

Breakfast
There is no breakfast room but the breakfast will be delivered to your room between 8.45-9.00 AM. The standard of the breakfast was good and slightly changed from day to day which was nice.

Special Features
I guess one of the best features is that the cosy hotel lies right at the beach. Simply perfect! In addition, our room had its own little patio area where one can relax, hang out, and simply enjoy the stay.

Spa
Unfortunately, this hotel has no Sauna.

Price-Quality Ratio
This hotel is a bit too pricy for a 3-star hotel but we were very pleased with our stay and do not complain at all since the standard was definitely higher.

Final Conclusions
If one wants to enjoy a lovely hotel which offers a cosy atmosphere with an outstanding location right at the beach and a great service, then I highly recommend this gorgeous little spot; you will not be disappointed. Andrea and Rik made us feel welcome and “being at home”.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnSG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Wonderful two night stay. Perfect location on a very short walking distance to the beach. Absolutely nice appointed and immaculate clean room, a spacious bathroom with walk in shower. All comforts you need, wi-fi, tv, sitting area, small kitchen. Best of all the nespresso coffee maker in the room with excellent coffee. Well presented and tasty breakfast in the morning is served on a trolley in front of your room...awesome. Very quiet, no distburing noises, and lots of privacy. There is no lounge or breakfast area but that is no disadvantage if you value your privacy and peace. Very hospitable and service oriented hosts.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aksiram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The suite was excellent, a good size, clean and modern with a sitting area and kitchenette including an expresso machine, and good views all around. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The location is great, just cross the road, go up the dune and you're on the lovely sandy beach, and just two minutes walk into the centre of the lovely village of Domburg where there are all the facilities you need and some nice restaurants. The only thing we found strange for a hotel of this standard was that no shower gel or shampoo was provided.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luxtraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuttlingen
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I found this place on Tripadvisor, and found the description promising. We were really amazed how nice it was, starting with a call from Andrea who owns the place to ask us about our arrival, to have the room ready when we arrive. The was a little bottle of champaign for us when we arrived. The hotel has just 10 rooms, and the service is very personal, every detail is well thought about, and there is really nothing left to ask for. When my mother had a bike accident, Andrea came to the room immediately and helped us with everthing she could. She even took us to her doctor, passed by with ice packs, and some pain killers! The breakfast, every morning served in the room was really excellent and "made with love". We will definitlely come back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room no 2, a corner room which was excellent, with a small kitchen Nespresso machine an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drandrea60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alken, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Great hotel with 8 rooms only. Perfectly situated near the dunes and the beach. Spatious and well equipped rooms. Location could not have been better. Nice old house, completely renovated to high standards.
We had a lovely room with 3 large windows and a great view of the dunes, a bit of the sea and a beautiful old villa (where the Rumenian queen Elisabeth used to come, long ago).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Very nice hotel in a completely renovated villa. Good room with kitchenette, Nespresso machine with unlimited coffee capsules, and south-facing balcony. No noisy breakfast buffet, but a gentle knock on the door announcing your breakfast waiting on a trolley just outside your door.
The location of the hotel is great. Just behind the beach and close to the city centre.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chiel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Domburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Badhotel Domburg
Badhotel Domburg
#1 of 13 in Domburg
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strandhotel Duinheuvel
Strandhotel Duinheuvel
#2 of 13 in Domburg
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#3 of 13 in Domburg
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zonneduin
Hotel Zonneduin
#9 of 13 in Domburg
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Noordzee
Hotel Noordzee
#5 of 13 in Domburg
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel the Wigwam
Hotel the Wigwam
#4 of 13 in Domburg
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ter Duyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ter Duyn

Property: Hotel ter Duyn
Address: PJ Eloutstraat 1, 4357 AH Domburg, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Zeeland Province > Domburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Domburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ter Duyn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel ter Duyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing