We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful 'family' hotel in one of the few villages in the area to keep its character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Mustafapasa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A delightful 'family' hotel in one of the few villages in the area to keep its character”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed four nights in The Old Greek House during a touring holiday in Anatolia. It was a definite highlight of our holiday. The house has been sensitively restored and has a 'family' atmosphere; the staff were all extremely efficient, welcoming and keen to be of service and the food was, as billed, excellent Turkish home cooking. While the hotel does a lot of group business at lunch and dinner this did not spoil the homely atmosphere or affect the service we enjoyed. The place is a jewel in an area which is almost spoilt by mass tourism.

My only slight criticism is that access to the first floor is by a steep staircase with a less than robust bannister, which is a hazard for even the fittest guests.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Stone Room' which was fine, but another time we would opt for a suite at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    22
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
37
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We spent three nights at the Old Greek House and were treated like royalty by Niyazi Ozturk and his family who have operated this establishment for many years. The house is old and the hospitality is genuine. More importantly their food is outstanding and we found that one four course dinner would feed two of us! All tours can be arranged by Niyazi and pick you up at their door so no issue staying in this quiet town just outside of Urgup. Rooms were clean and had good wi-fi. The place has a lot of history and would be a great change from a modern hotel. Prices for accommodation and food are reasonable and Niyazi is an excellent resource for the new traveller.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patti183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Norway, Norway
Level Contributor
561 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have visited this Old Greek House in the village of Mustafapasa south of Goreme/Urgup a few times for lunch or coffee/tea

The house was built in the 1800's and the first owner was a Greek artist (Yorha Vasil).

Later the house was bought by the turkish family Ozturk who after some time converted it into the "Old Greek House Restaurant".
It is a nice place to make a stop when driving/travelling through the areas near Mustafpasa.

They also have rooms for people staying overnight.

The house is almost like a museum with original wallpainting a lots of old things in the various rooms.
Dining area inside and also an outside terrace.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T3T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Service was good, wine was great and the environment is perfecto of the weather is not cold.

This is a perfect place if the day's weather is just right. If not, you must be wearing comfortable clothes for the outside environment.

We visited in a cold day and all first were slowly dragging their chairs towards sunlight. Once the day got warm we all started to look for some shade.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NoSoyDeAquiNiSoyDeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at the Old greek house hotel for 3 nights. The hotel was really pretty, old charm. Staff is friendly, the room was spacious and clean and it had good wifi. The fact it is also a restaurant is convenient. On the other hand, our room was next to a dining room, so we heard some noise until 10 or so one night that there was customers.
They didn't clean the room while we were there.
Unlike other hotels, breakfast wasn't a buffet, but they brought so much food it felt like the buffet was at our table!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at the Old Greek House for one night on a cycling trip. The building is charming and our room on the terrace was very comfortable, quiet and clean. The evening meal was good and very large although a little more expensive. The delicious breakfast was also so big that I didn't think there was going to be enough room on the table for all the plates that the staff brought! The staff were friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the downstairs rooms which open off the restaurant area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jg6343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel is very nice! On a biking trip in August, I stayed at this beautiful old Greek house in Mustafapasa and found it to be charming. The rooms are nice, well maintained without having lost its old charm. The staff was overly accommodating, professional and very nice!

The breakfast and supper was the best I've had in Cappadocia! This hotel takes you back in time without loosing the comfort and modern amenities. Have a glass of wine on the front balcony or on the side patio and you’ll agree!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mustafapasa
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Estates Hotel
Cappadocia Estates Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mustafapasa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kemerhan Cave Suites
Kemerhan Cave Suites
#1 of 65 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel
3.6 mi away
Yusuf Yigitoglu Konagi
Yusuf Yigitoglu Konagi
#34 of 65 in Urgup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel

Property: Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel
Address: Sinasos Village, Mustafapasa, Urgup 50420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Mustafapasa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mustafapasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion known as "Asmali Konak" for years is one of the traditional old Greek Houses in fact. Now, it is in service as a hotel named "Old Greek House". The house has built in 1887, then in 1924; it was given to a family of Salonica as a result of the agreement of the commission for the settlement of the exchange immigrants. In 1938, the house was bought for 10 Turkish Liras by ancestor of Ozturks family, who came to the city as a teacher at that time. Ozturks Family has been lived here until 1992. As of 1992, the house has been designed as a hotel. Now, the hotel attracts attention of customers and visitors by its old traditional style and furniture. In addition, an Italian film "Dervish and his Death" (Dervis ve Olumu) was filmed in that place. Also, Turkey's most popular TV channel is still taking one of its films, "Asmali Konak" in this mansion. OLD GREEK HOUSE (OZTURK HOTEL). Hotel Capacity: 13 Rooms, 32 Beds. Rooms with pleasent view. Ruin and historical views are available. Facilities: Central heating, safe box at reception, 24 hrs room service, outdoor parking, turkish bath, laundry, dry cleaning, baby sitter, tv room, game room, garden, power generator and pets are allowed. Sports and Recreation: Jogging and trekking. Dining: Full board, half board, bed & breakfast, cafeteria and breakfast lounge, 6 open buffet restaurants, 50 pax indoor, 100 pax outdoor total capacity, international and Turkish cuisine. Please visit "Turkish Cuisine" page to get more information about our menu and foods. Meeting: 1 meeting room, (50 max. capacity), video player, television and facsimile. Location: Urgup 5 Km., Nevsehir airport 55 km. Kayseri airport 75 Km. in old city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Greek House Restaurant Hotel Mustafapasa
Old Greek House Restaurant And Hotel Turkey/Mustafapasa, Cappadocia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing