We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful small hotel”
Review of Upper Greek House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Upper Greek House
Ranked #4 of 11 Mustafapasa B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful small hotel”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This small hotel is charming and full of character.
Our room was clean and bright with a great view over the small town of Mustafapasa.
The bathroom was modern,there was TV, and the bed was comfortable.
The breakfasts were excellent, and the staff (Mehmet and Safiye) were helpful and friendly.
We had two evening meals in the Old Greek House down in the town - the food and wine was very good.

Room Tip: We saw all the rooms and they all looked good - ours was on the first floor with a view over the tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy22707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
20
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Again stayed there for two nights in one of the four suites and unbelievable place to spend a few days In the area....we wished that more time should be spend at this hotel...Mehmet was excellent and always there for your needs....but he was well,tipped for his service and deserve it as we'll...we were told that around 22 miles of tunnels in the area but not enough time to see or explore..the food at the lower Greek house was also excellent...very well recommended...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bustermania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Upper Greek House is a delightful place to stay as a base of operations while you explore Cappadocia. Mustafapasa is a quieter alternative to some of the more touristy towns in the region and a good jumping off point to hike or vist the Open Air Museum at Goreme. The rooms are comfortable and Mehmet and Safia attend to your every need. Great meals are available at the Lower Greek House down in the village. If you crave night life you might find the location a bit somnolent and if you have trouble walking this might not be your ideal location, but for those who seek a bit of tranquility and a chance to relax and enjoy the outdoors it is a little slice of heaven.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 69catamount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This little boutique hotel is beautiful and overlooks the amazing landscape of Cappadocia. The place is owned and operated by a man who was born in a 200 year old house down the street. The little town where this is located Mustafapasa is about a 20 minute drive from Ürgup which is sort of the center of Cappadocia. Do not miss out on dinner at the Lower Greek House, owned and operated by the same people, all food is homemade from old family recipes and is the most authentic Turkish food you will fond anywhere in Cappadocia. The only down side is the shower takes a very long time to heat up, and sometimes does not get hot at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJshohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
232 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

What a gorgeous place lost at the end of a street, up in a village in Cappadoce. This is a 250 years old Greek house with a beautiful courtyard overlooking the village, the valley and the mountains. The rooms are spread around and beyond the courtyard. The owners and the family are present and always ready to help.

Our room was a dream Turkish Cappadoce room: stone walls, old cupboards and closets in the walls with the original doors, a sitting area with old style refurbished sofas and sittees. So much character, just perfect for this environment.

The sevice was impeccable. For breakfast, a charming set up on the terrace, fresh and typical Turkish breakfast with olives, feta, good bread, honey and rose petals jam.

Everything about this place feels more like a super B&B, is charming, totally customer oriented and you really feel welcomed. The family also owns a restaurant with the same name in an old house down in the village that I will cover separately.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JPGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed for two weeks at our favorite place in Cappadocia in May. This restored boutique cave hotel is beautifully situated and very charming. Mehmet and Safia took such good care of us, meeting all our needs with luggage, our rooms, breakfast --- everything. We felt so welcome and special. Met lots of interesting people from all over the world, took early morning hikes through the hills surrounding the hotel, drank chai on the large terrace overlooking the village and hills, and loved happy hour on another secluded terrace shaded by grape vines. You will discover underground churches in the area to explore, as well as fun shopping. But the food, oh, the food, it's the best anywhere! A wonderful vacation with lots of options. Just go! We will, definitely!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hapytraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Lovely hotel. Loved our stay. Amazing rooms and great views overlooking the town.
The owner and staff were attentive to every detail. Breakfast was great. They take you to the Old Greek House for dinner...which was amazing! Food was delicious!!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank MarilynC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mustafapasa hotels
0.3 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Estates Hotel
Cappadocia Estates Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mustafapasa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pacha Hotel
Pacha Hotel
#2 of 11 in Mustafapasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Konak Bezirhane Cave Otel
Konak Bezirhane Cave Otel
#5 of 11 in Mustafapasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sinasos Palace Cave Hotel
Sinasos Palace Cave Hotel
#3 of 11 in Mustafapasa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Greek House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Greek House

Property: Upper Greek House
Address: Yukari Mahalle Gazi Sokak No 56 | Ürgüp/Nevsehir, Mustafapasa, Urgup, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Mustafapasa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mustafapasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored Greek House at the top of the Village of Mustafapasa, Turkey. Drink tea or famous locally grown wine while sitting on one of the lovely high terraces overlooking the village and surrounding hillsides. Eat and be entertained at the Old Greek House, famous for its authentic Turkish food, served in the same setting for over 300 years. All rooms furnished in the ancient Greek/Turkish style include private, modern bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Upper Greek House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upper Greek House Turkey/Mustafapasa, Cappadocia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing