We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Cappadocia”
Review of Upper Greek House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Upper Greek House
Ranked #5 of 11 Mustafapasa B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Cappadocia”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

When visiting Cappaocia,Turkey, most people stay in Goreme or Urgup. My wife and I chose to stay in the much more authentic and interesting village of Mustafapasa. Without the crowds and noise of those heavily touristed towns, Mustafapasa offered us an ideal get away, while only minutes from all sights.

Within Mustafapasa, we were thrilled to discover the Upper Greek House, which was wonderfully charming, impeccably clean, and a great staff that helps with everything (including airport transfers). A wonderful breakfast is included each morning.

My wife and I highly recommend you choose Mustafapsa and, more imortanly, the Upper Greek House as your gateway to Cappadocia.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
20
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This delightful hotel was a highlight of our trip to Turkey. The rooms were beautifully appointed, meticulously cleaned and the staff was always friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this for any visitor to the area. My story, though, speaks to the outstanding service provided. I found, after leaving the hotel and being hours away with my tour group, that I had lost my diamond ring. A call to the hotel by the tour guide led a few hours later to the discovery of my ring in the room we had occupied. Not knowing how to get the ring back, the owners graciously agreed to bring the ring with them on their flight to California a couple of days later. Today my son, who lives an hour from the hotel owners, picked up my ring so it is in safe hands until we get up to the Bay Area from San Diego. I have never had such personal service and am thankful for all the help I was given.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Bay, California
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Loved staying at this lovely new property. Owners were on site, and very welcoming, when we stayed. Rooms are big and comfortable. Laundry is available on site. Climb the stairs to the rooftop and see the wonderful view. Only small downside was we heard the dogs barking all night. Ear plugs took care of that. Nice breakfast on patio each morning. Rooms with one, two or three beds available. Wonderful area and town!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theheatonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We spent four nights at the hotel in Mustafapasha. It was a wonderful stay. The place was charming with a comfortable yet elegant feel. The staff was amazingly helpful and it felt as if they just wanted to do more! The breakfast was served fresh when we ordered it, with lots of great Turkish tea. The room was more than comfortable - warm and spacious. The views and grounds of the hotel were spectacular. We left after breakfast and did not return till late evening and it was wonderful to be greeted like family! A very charming place to stay!

Room Tip: All room are great but have different features so say what is important when you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim1122334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salviac, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

In March, we stayed 4 nights at the Upper Greek House in Mustafapasa. This village is less visited than some of the others in Cappadocia and it was very quiet, pleasurable stay. Two of the 4 nights, we were the only clients. The staff was accommodating and always available when needed. The room was large, beautiful, and well-heated. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. The Upper Greek House is located up a hill and the manager offered to drive us to and from the Old Greek House whenever we wanted to eat there. We like to walk so the walk between the village and the hotel was pleasurable. However, if you have difficulties walking or prefer not to, you would need transportation or to arrange with the staff for transportation to restaurants, etc. In warm weather, the hotel has lots of places to enjoy the sun and relax.

March can be cold in Cappadocia and we found the room very comfortable; snow and all. The village has a frequent shuttle to Urgup. We did arrange with the manager to drive us to Ihlara Valley to hike.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Three nights in Upper Greek House were a blissful experience. Appointed with modern updates, this French style boutique cave hotel has an ambiance that has left indelible memories of Cappadocia: charming professional staff served, fantastic evening wines and nibbles in the cave salon;. Freshly cooked breakfast greeted the sunny autumn mornings after a hot shower;;and after a full day of exploring exotic historic sites in the vicinity, warm hosts greeted with an outstanding home cooked Turkish cuisine for a dinner at the Old Greek House (sister hotel) nearby. Upon return, courteous yet discreet staff ensures all your needs are taken care of before you retire. Free Wi Fi in the room updates you with the world and a peaceful rest for the night prepares you well for the next day's adventure.

Lois, Carmel, California

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Bend, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed the atmosphere in this small village in the Goreme valley area. The hotel is situated above the village but it is an easy walk into the village. The room we had was just off the courtyard and it was very spacious with a high vaulted ceilng and a very comfortable sitting area. The bathroom was a bit dark for our purposes,and the shower must have taken at least 15 minutes with the water running full blast to get it up to temperature. The fixtures were good quality but not enough to redeem the bathroom for these issues. Wi-Fi was free but not very strong in the room,however Mahmet took care of this and loaned me the use of the office computer so we could catch up with our family in Dubai on Skype. In fact Mahmet could not do enough for us and gave us a tour of the buildings and took us up to the roof top terrace and we had a commanding view of the countryside and the small town. He and Safia were most hospitable as is so typical of small well run establishments in Turkey. Our breakfasts were served in a large hall off the courtyard as it was a bit cool and rainy. There was a good choice of cold food and also some hot dish as well all accompanied by lots of hot water for coffee crystals or tea. We also had dinner at the owners restaurant down town and were driven there each night. The food there was homemade and especially Turkish as it was created by the owner'swife an accomplished cook. Service was fast,friendly, and efficient and we were allowed to see the upstairs of the house where the owner and his family lived after dining. Be sure to tip Safia and Mahmet well as they deserved to be treated as well as they treated us! The only negative was the lack of hot water in our room and the dark bathroom, which no one else seemed to experience.It was from a solar heater which might be the issue.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balls99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trekking4Adventure, Owner at Upper Greek House, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your review. Had you told Mehmet that your light bulb in the bathroom was burnt out, he would have gladly replaced it immediately. We pride ourselves in maintaining the property in the finest condition possible.
In each room an instruction sheet states, "Because we use a solar system for our water it sometimes takes a few minutes for the hot water to come on. Please be patient. It will get hot."
Since your comment we have measured the time for the hot water to arrive. Each time it has been under three minutes.
Based on our staff's performance, your comment about them was well deserved.
Thank you again for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mustafapasa
0.3 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Estates Hotel
Cappadocia Estates Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mustafapasa
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tulpar Cave Hotel
Tulpar Cave Hotel
#4 of 18 in Ortahisar
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pacha Hotel
Pacha Hotel
#2 of 11 in Mustafapasa
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sinasos Palace Cave Hotel
Sinasos Palace Cave Hotel
#3 of 11 in Mustafapasa
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Greek House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Greek House

Property: Upper Greek House
Address: Yukari Mahalle Gazi Sokak No 56 | Ürgüp/Nevsehir, Mustafapasa, Urgup, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Mustafapasa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mustafapasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored Greek House at the top of the Village of Mustafapasa, Turkey. Drink tea or famous locally grown wine while sitting on one of the lovely high terraces overlooking the village and surrounding hillsides. Eat and be entertained at the Old Greek House, famous for its authentic Turkish food, served in the same setting for over 300 years. All rooms furnished in the ancient Greek/Turkish style include private, modern bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Upper Greek House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upper Greek House Turkey/Mustafapasa, Cappadocia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing