We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bird posts everywhere - Room maintenance could better - Very friendly staff”
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Buyukada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We were at this moment in ascot hotel on Büyükada our last days of our holiday in Turkey. Nice hotel decoration if not that the terraces are full of bird posts. It impossible to walk to our room without walking into the white and black stuff. Also around the pool, besides and under the sun beds, bird dirt is there.

Be aware that our room was beside the pool. The narrow side of he terrace along the pool did not have any color of the light beige natural stone anymore as yesterday it was fully covered with the bird stuff. Let's not think about the impact on the pool water...

After asking 3-4 times, every time hotel staff confirmed they had cleaned, only after the 4 th time, we could see some removal. Not sure why we need to ask over again before seeing results. Apparently, hotel management is in the believe that if they ASK to remove it IS removed. From my experience with lower educated staff like cleaning personnel could be, this is a naive thinking. However in the little hall (yes inside) in front of our room 501 is still a bird house and for sure was not cleaned for a very long time (there is a door to keep birds out and we do keep it closed).

The poolside and around our room (poolside room) are the worst, however all around is bird decorated with bird posts (excreta). No wonder as the place is full of birds. Apparently it is the season that the babies start to learn fly. To be honest I don't care so much about the animals around, but I do care about the dirt and even more the hotel management be so ignoring their follow up on keeping the place "a bit" clean.

There were no sheets on the double bed (we found material that could serve as sheets in the cupboard and we arranged ourselves), the bathroom smells mushrooms due to lack of ventilation (we can't fix that), the airco unit is a dust house and also lacks basic maintenance. I don't know if well leave the place without any infection.

I have been in places of 10us dollar a night where the basic hygiene was better.

The grilled seabas in the ascot restaurant was delicious. However waiting time to get it very long (about one hour). After two corrections of the water order, we still got the small and not large bottle. We were first served tap water at 6TL?

Hotel management stayed extremely friendly and offered us a different room 203 with street balcony and one more window as the previous room. No bird posts in form of the door, so we were less confronted with the issue at hand. Also in the room issues of humidity showing on the wall paper, leaking shower, loose toilet paper holder, AC that blew straight on the bed with no option to change blowing direction.

Staff kept on cleaning, but not on all places and even where cleaned, not with satisfying results. At the breakfast terrace, the bird posts were there for all 3 days of our stay.

The hotel staff offered us some free drink of good quality. This was really very nice. The rooms have a very nice and original decoration. However, a but more endurance on cleaning results and room maintenance would be a great improvement. Some ideas to reduce the number of birds should not be difficult. In the hot season, the birds came drinking from the pool. Why not placing drinking places on the roof of the hotel, use nets between the buildings, ...?

The overall experience was kind of poor because the results stayed out. It gives you a kind of feeling that they have already so many positive comments on the web so why should we care about improvements? Hope this helps both customers as management.

Room Tip: Pool rooms are convenient if you like swimming, although tend to get more sun and get warmer. Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasEliasLupus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Favourite2-1, Owner at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Thanks for your detailed response and I was pleased to read your compliments about the food in our restaurant, our friendly and supportive staff and about our hotel design.

I am sorry that you had a bad experience with birds. We did have issues with this at the time when you were staying which we never had previously, but I believe the problem is now resolved. We have also tackled the cleaning and other issues which you identified.

Thank you for staying at Ascot Hotel and I hope if you return you will find everything of the standard that you rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

It was one of the best hotels i stayed in in turkey, the hospitality, the cleanness of the room, the design, even the breakfast buffet, everything in the hotel was first class, would love to go back again and for sure it will be my first choice. Special thanks to the manager and the front disk people.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nooraqtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Favourite2-1, Owner at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Thank you for your review and for your compliments, we hope to see you again when you next return to Turkey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The Ascot is a very comfortable hotel, in a nice neighborhood that is away from the busiest part of the Buyukada. The staff was very courteous and helpful and the food was excellent. We will visit again! It was definitely a nice escape from the busy city of Istanbul.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMFletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Favourite2-1, Owner at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Thank you for your review and for your compliments, we look forward to welcoming you again to Ascot Hotel Buyukada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We spent four nights here: the reception staff were helpful and spoke English. The hotel is only two years old, so everything was clean and in good order. The swimming pool was very good, although surrounded by neighbouring buildings, but the "music" from the poolside bar was intrusive and unnecessry. The bedroom was small, but this was compensated for by the lovely balcony with table & chairs. En-suite was very modern & clean.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wjohnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Favourite2-1, Owner at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Thank you for your review and for your compliments. We hope you will return soon to Ascot Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The room was small but nice and clean. The breakfast was a nice size and quality and the pool was very nice.

Hotel is in a good location on a quiet street. It is about a 5 minute walk from the center or from the water.

The hotel's shuttle pick up from the airport was too expensive and it is probably better to do it yourself (for about 1/7th the cost.

Overall a very nice stay though.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We booked this hotel for 2 nights in April for the last 2 nights of our honeymoon based on the recommendations we saw here on TA. Unfortunately we did not experience what others seem to have done. I'm not sure if we were simply unlucky or whether the other reviewers are easily impressed. Firstly having been in email communication with the hotel prior to arriving we had arranged for someone to meet us from the ferry to help find the hotel. After 15 minutes of waiting we decided to go it alone and try finding the hotel - it's actually only around a 5 minute walk and after asking various people we managed to locate it. (If you have heavy suitcases though beware - there's a lot of uphill walking!).

On our arrival we were checked in by a gentleman who didn't speak a word of English which caused some difficulty (we later found out he was a waiter) and who, of course, knew nothing about why we weren't met at the harbour. he took us up to our room which to put it politely smelt like a sewer! He indicated this was temporary and now he had turned the AC on and opened the windows it would vanish - it didn't. The room was tiny, there was barely room to edge around the bed and nowhere to open even a small suitcase - we ended up having to open them on the bed and then keep closing them and standing them upright in front of the door.

The room was not clean, we found stains on the bedding and dust everywhere in addition to the smell from the bathroom. The television had only Turkish and German channels. The hotel decor also leaves something to be desired, although they have tried to achieve a quirky boutique-y feel there is just too much going on, the decor comes off as fussy and overbearing.

At breakfast the next morning we were disappointed to find a very limited selection and lukewarm, soggy sausages and cheese cigars. Having asked for coffee with no milk my husband received milk and I did not receive my tea at all.

Overall we did not find the staff talkative at all, no one spoke with us during the entire stay and when we spoke to them we found them quite unresponsive to even the most basic enquiries.

We wouldn't go back, nor would we recommend this hotel to others. I think there are probably more quaint hotels for a better price on the island.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoocoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet Sait Y, Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

As Ascot Team we would like to thank to our guest for such a constractive feedback and we would like all our guests to be sure that we are taking all necessary actions for our future guests not to experience such a problems.

Ascot team is dedicated to uncomprimised service quality and guest satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

we stayed at the Ascot hotel for a long weekend with our 1 year old daughter. The hotel is very nice and modern, the room very confortable.
The greatest thing about our stay were the people working there! Everybody was so nice, helpful and child freindly! The cleaning lady always gave us a nice welcome, the reception staff was always happy and friendly and the restaurant staff was just outsatnding. Especially for our daughter they gave us all the support which is imaginable.
The restaurant derves international cuisine which was also very nice.
We would recommend this hotel to anybody who would like to saty overnight on Büyükada!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisAndiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet Sait Y, Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Ascot team would like to thank you for such a nice comment and we would like to welcome you again at our property.

Ascot Team is dedicated uncomprimised service quality and guest satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buyukada hotels
0.1 mi away
Ada Palas Buyukada Boutique Hotel
1 mi away
Nizam Butik Otel Buyukada
Nizam Butik Otel Buyukada
#3 of 20 in Buyukada
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buyukada Comfort Hotel
Buyukada Comfort Hotel
#8 of 20 in Buyukada
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Serguzest Otel
Serguzest Otel
#2 of 20 in Buyukada
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buyukada Princess Hotel
Buyukada Princess Hotel
#10 of 20 in Buyukada
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eskibag Butik Hotel
Eskibag Butik Hotel
#12 of 20 in Buyukada
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Address: Madenler Mahallesi Cinar Caddesi No:6, 34970, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Princes' Islands > Buyukada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Buyukada
Price Range: £30 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ascot Hotel is the new landmark boutique hotel on the island of Buyukada, 30 minutes by ferry from the city of Istanbul, and just a few minutes walk from the harbour. It has its own restaurant and bar, private pool and 22 stylishly-furnished en-suite guestrooms with balconies and best of all, comfortable beds for a perfect night's rest. It’s the ideal place to stay to explore the beauty and history of this wonderful island - and of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing