We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
257
122
42
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
122
42
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomfortable hotellunch serviceferry terminaltwo nightsbreakfast is servedterraceistanbulislandpoolsideescape
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel in a great place. We walked here from the ferry terminal, which only took about 10 minutes. The other option is to take a horse and cart. The hotel looked great as soon as we saw it, and the decor is lovely from reception to the rooms. As has been previously mentioned, the rooms are perhaps a little small but we didn't find this a problem. We stayed in an ensuite room with a balcony overlooking the street (great for watching the world - and the horse and carts - go by). We stayed here for three nights, having spent a few nights previously in Istanbul itself. The Ascot hotel provided a welcome relaxing atmosphere.

My parents also stayed in a room of the same standard ('balcony room'?), which was of similar size and quality. Rooms were serviced to a good standard each day, and breakfast was good too. There are some nice fresh continental options, and each morning a few hot options too which is a nice touch, and it's lovely to be able to enjoy it on the outdoor terrace. The outdoor pool is also fantastic, and needs to be mentioned - we spent a few afternoons relaxing here! Lovely sunloungers in a quiet courtyard type setting - beautiful!

The staff at the Ascot were really helpful, and willing to help with anything they could. They organised us a taxi pickup on the Istanbul side to take us back to the airport. All in all, a relaxing, comfortable stay - I would certainly go back, and recommend the Ascot Hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Jen R.

On behalf of my team thank you very much for your nice comment on Ascot Hotel. We hope to see you again here in Buyukada.

Kind regards

Derya Tufan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

stayed at the Ascot for two nights as part of a side trip on our tour of Istanbul. The visit to the islands was a nice and necessary break and the Ascot provided everything we needed to feel like we were having an escape.
GOOD:
The staff- welcoming and warm and very willing and able to handle all requests and questions. All of them were very friendly and spoke english well. Willing to answer any questions we had and seemed honest in giving us opinions about where to eat and what to do

The food - breakfast served daily and options available for lunch and dinner. While we ate most of our meals (other than breakfast) outside of the hotel, everything we ate was delicious. Food appeared made to order and chef was willing to accommodate some dietary restrictions we had.

Lodging - The rooms were good sized, clean and comfortable. Exceeded our expectations and a perk (although not necessary for many) was the air conditioning.

Pool - The pool area was by far one of the best parts of the hotel. Amazing after a day of touring the island to be able to relax poolside. Comfortable and quiet and there was even service for any food or drink we wanted (we ordered a chicken wrap and two sodas).

BAD:
There really wasn't anything bad about this hotel at all. However, for those looking for the negatives here they are in my opinion. The hotel is located a very short walk from the port. While this wasn't bad for us at all (maybe 10 minute) walk, I suppose if you had issues with mobility it could be an issue. However the island offers horse and buggy rides directly in front of hotel

View - when sitting on the terrace there is actually quite a lovely view of the water but at the street level and at the pool there is no view. In our opinion this was a plus as some of the waterfront hotels had the issues of lots of street traffic. In comparison this felt like a resort within a resort.

Overall i would Highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the islands. Well worth the money and we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Joshua R,

On behalf of my team I would like to thank you for giving your time to write this wonderful comment.

We hope to see you again here in Ascot Hotel

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our stay was simply wonderful. The island is a great place to go and the hotel is even better. We arrived before check-in time and checking in early was no problem.
The breakfast (once a buffet, other two mornings served at the table) was nice. Swiming pool was clean and enough free beds (we were here in june).

The staff, including the (new) manager are very friendly and are all willing to help. Got some complimentary tea as well.
They don't serve cocktails at the pool, this could be an nice improvement.

Room Tip: We got a room at the pool side which had a small balcony (fits two with a small table)
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyTraveler623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear happyTraveler623,

On behalf of my team I would like to thank you for your kind review.

Regarding your comment on cocktails I am happy to inform you that we recently introduce our new cocktail menu.

We hope to see you again here in Ascot.

Kind regards
Derya Tufan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We went there for 2 days on our honeymoon. A warm hotel with friendly and hospitable staff. No matter when you go, they are always caring. Rooms were a bit small but it looks definitely huge considering the money you pay. Breakfast was so full filling. It's in the heart of the island, a few minutes walk from the ferry. We will definitely go back. Thank you :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Armagan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We chose this hotell because of earlier reviews and since The Splendid Palace hotell charged nearly double the price.
Ascot is I would guess a fairly new hotell and even if the esthetics is not my taste everything was fresh and clean as far as we could tell. The rooms was of an ok size and our had a nicely sized balcony with a decent view of the street outside and some sea view.
The staff was very helpful before and during stay so no complaining there. Would maybe skip asking the staff for good restaurants since the tip a got was for one of the pricey and touristy fish restaurants by the sea. And also one with the worst reviews on TA. But most of the restaurants on the Island seem to be tourist traps so I don't blame them to much for that.
Breakfast was quite dull in Turkish standards but it was ok if you only stay one night. Had we stayed longer I would probably gone out for breakfast.
Didn't use the pool so no comment on that.
For the price I think this hotell is a good deal but if you want a lot more charm a would go for the Splendid Palace.

Room Tip: Room with sea view and on top floor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews