We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Memories”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Splendid Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Buyukada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I recently spent 1 night here and already miss the quirkiness of it all. The fact is that if it was refurbished back to it's former glory the prices would probably triple so you have to be forgiving of the slightly tired look. The room was very spacious with a separate room with a single bed overlooking the pool. TV had lots of international stations and the breakfast terrace overlooked the sea. Pool area was spotless and empty apart from us. Reception gentleman was very helpful providing us with island information and boat schedules. It's hard not to drift off in thought about the grandeur of this hotel and what it must have been like in it's prime but just enjoy it for what it is and lay back and relax....

Room Tip: Some rooms have been refurbished, some have not so ask to look at the rooms upon check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hardbutfairLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

It feels a little like a big old hospital, but for some reason I found myself charmed by this place. We waited longer than you'd expect to be sorted out. The staff was courteous but not polished. The food was fine. But the place has a lazy feel and we found it perfect for a short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ditzyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

So it's true there is nothing modern about the Splendid Palace hotel so this will not appeal if you like your hotels flash and minimalistic but if you have a fascination for the old world and a love of all things shabby chic then The Splendid Palace is your place. Personally I had no issues with old beds/ carpets etc as overall this hotel just worked, it's a wonderful unique experience to stay here and I would fear that a major refurb would take away some of her charm. Please don't be put off by a few negative reviews as I almost was. If you are attracted to this hotel for her aged beauty and her original features you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RussellMasterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel has a lot going for it. You feel like you travel back in time when you walk in through the door and see the beautiful aged floors and inventory. There is a weight and height to everything that you will not get in a new hotel. Unfortunately some of the less rigid materials (like the beds, carpets and door handles in the rooms) hasn't aged that well and is in dire need of restoration and renewal. Stained carpets and rock hard beds takes away much from the overall impression. But for us the pros overtook the cons and we enjoyed our stay. But that is very much thanks to the overall charm and feel of the place. And the friendly staff who makes you feel very welcome. We hope they soon start renovation so the state of the rooms doesn't deteriorate even further.

Please note!
The bathrooms are renovated (but not the rest of the room).
There is no AC. We had a corner suite so we could have the two balcony doors opened. But for other rooms this could be a problem.
There is very good Wifi even though they don't mention having wifi when you book.
The hotel seem to appeal to an older crowd (and with older I mean 80+) so if you don't like old people for some reason maybe this is not your place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This is a wonderful hotel to escape the hustle and bustle of Istanbul for a few nights. If you are looking for air con, double glazing and all mod cons its not the hotel for you. The rooms are light, airy and well furnished with high ceilings. Our room was on the top floor and it had an amazing view of the sea with Istanbul in the distance, it was just beautiful. The breakfast was served in the beautiful dining room and the choice offered was excellent. We used the pool and found it to be very clean and well looked after. All staff were very helpful and friendly. My husband, teenage daughter and I were delighted with our stay in this unique hotel and we will definitely stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanzeno0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is no ordinary hotel and how you feel about it will depend on a number of factors. If you're looking for swish, luxurious, smooth and predictable, with a spa, a shop and soft, fluffy bathrobes, then you should probably look elsewhere. If, however, you're prepared to be seduced by a gently faded, anachronistic charm, with a quiet but quirky dignity and (as someone previously noted) a slight air of melancholy, you should definitely give the Splendid a go. It is, in its very own delightful way, splendid indeed. Think the E&O before its renovation, or the Grand in Rangoon.

The public rooms are wonderful - vast, high-ceilinged spaces with period furniture and a pervasive air of calm. The sort of calm, one imagines, that comes from having seen it all. There is a palm court (with palms, even) at the back, an original wooden lift complete with fold-down seat, and a cashier's wooden cubicle plunked down in reception like a tardis. Without straining your imagination you could imagine Hercule Poirot come twirling his moustaches down the staircase, or popping out at you from within the lift. It's a place you want to explore - like a destination in its own right. The staff seems to comprise several middle-aged gentlemen who fit seamlessly with the hotel - dignified, unflappable, and very slightly inscrutable. We liked them enormously. As a for instance, we ordered a beer and a gin and tonic to be had on the front terrace, overlooking the water. Some minutes later we saw the gentleman on reception slip down the stairs, returning some minutes later with a bottle of tonic in a plastic bag. He brought my G&T with consummate graciousness, not a hair out of place, and had we not seen him we would never have guessed. I have to say, as well, that the gin was extremely generous.

Breakfast was immaculate and delicious - an array of cheeses, fruits, baked goods, juices and cereals laid out impeccably in the dining room. Cheese omelettes could be whipped up in instant on a small stove by the window and were far better than something left standing in a bain marie for an hour or two.

Internet was fast and free.

The pool was out of action when we stayed - April 2013.

The rooms vary, so it's worth asking to see a few before deciding. Our first was a small, cramped affair at the front with a pre-formed plastic bathroom dropped clumsily into it. We asked to see another and were given a corner room at the front. This had a proper bathroom, was twice the size and had dual-aspect windows. The view of the glittering sea was lovely. It's in the bathrooms that the fadedness of the hotel is most apparent - there was metal conduit running around the walls to all the electrical outlets. The furniture was a little tired and the mattress maybe a bit firmer than some would like. But the sheer dimensions of the room and that old graciousness prevented any hints of squalor and we were very content.

If you're noise sensitive (which I am) it's worth noting that the sea-view comes at the price of having to listen to the man on the pier incessantly bellowing into his megaphone at (we assumed) embarking or disembarking boat passengers. There is a LOT of ferry traffic to and from the island on a Sunday. The rooms at the back are probably a lot quieter, but minus the view. Also on the noise front, we were nicely asleep one night when the inhabitants of the room above us came back late. They were either a pair of drunken elephants wearing deep sea diving boots and speaking with in-built foghorns, or there was little sound-proofing between floors. It was annoying at the time but the charms of the hotel, the staff and breakfast the next morning soothed all that away in a trice. It would be a shame not to stay here for that reason.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a wonderful view of the sea, though there is quite a bit of noise coming from the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rosemalmaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

While staying at Splendid Hotel one can feel the old charming days of Buyukada. The old saloons and ballroom which hosted the events of high society or balls of M. Kemal Ataturk are worthy to see.One should not expect an extraordinary comfort or service but it's great for the ones interested in history and people in search of melancholy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MrtChavez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buyukada hotels
0.2 mi away
Ada Palas Buyukada Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Serguzest Otel
Serguzest Otel
#2 of 20 in Buyukada
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buyukada Princess Hotel
Buyukada Princess Hotel
#10 of 20 in Buyukada
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#5 of 20 in Buyukada
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buyukada Comfort Hotel
Buyukada Comfort Hotel
#8 of 20 in Buyukada
120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nizam Butik Otel Buyukada
Nizam Butik Otel Buyukada
#3 of 20 in Buyukada
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Palace Hotel

Address: 23 Nisan Caddesi | 23 Nisan Cad. No:53 Buyuk Ada 81330 Istanbul - Turkey, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Princes' Islands > Buyukada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Buyukada
Price Range: £82 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splendid Palace Hotel…. A magnificent building with silvery domes and red shutters, facing the Marmara one side and the city of Istanbul on the other… a hotel in historical symbiosis with nature, retaining the nostalgic ecstasy of the past in Büyükada,s unique, peaceful and relaxing island atmosphere far removed from the stress creating nature of the city. In Büyükada as well as the other Princes Islands, horse drawn carriages are still the only means of public transportation.. Splendid Palace Hotel was inaugurated in 1908. Though inspired to some extent by ‘Art Nouveau’ the hotel clearly displays an east /west synthesis in architectural design with its bright inner couryard encircled with rooms, and the pillars on floors around the couryard.There are 70 rooms and 4 suites to accommodate 134 guests. Central heating is available for most rooms, and all are equipped with shower toilet and telephone. A restaurant, seating 90 people indoors and outdoors, offers to guests select dishes of Turkish as well as global cuisine. The swimming pool in a verdant surrounding of tress is the outcome of a building design which is in harmony wich nature. The Splendid Palace Hotel is one of Turkiye's few hotels which have been assigned special status by the Tourism Ministry , due to its being an unforgetable historical and cultural heritage… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Splendid Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing