We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Feather Down Farms at Boswarthen Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Madron B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed with our three children and thought the stay was good and bad. On the plus side, the setting was good, the fresh air helped us get 10-12 hours sleep per night (a record), we were close to Land's End (worth a visit), the wonderful hotel 'Old Coastguard' in Mousehole (worth a long lunch!) and St. Michael's mount (pretty but a bit crowded).
It was fascinating seeing calves being fed and the kids liked having their own chickens to look after. The tent/hut was good and comfortable.
On the negative side, there are lots of other tents in the fields, a little too close if you want privacy...and far too close if you have noisey neighbours (as we did). Also it was a relatively long hike to our tent (200 yards) and we were given wheelbarrows to get our stuff to the tent..we were fine but I don't think eldery people would have found this amusing. The tractor was out of use when we got there and we had no help from the owners, which was odd to say the least...we tentatively booked the 'spa' but couldn't use it in the end, but we were still charged, even though no-one else used it and it wasn't even turned on! The in house shop was expensive but there's a Tesco nearby, so I'd recommend going there to stock up.We came away thinking the camping side was regarded as a good money spinner for the farm, rather than being a well loved business.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScottLondon77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Feather Down Farms at Boswarthen Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

I was with four teenage children when we went to Boswarthen Farm – the most difficult to please at the best of times.
The owners, Adrian and Madeleine, were very friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble.
It wasn’t just the Feather Down concept that was so good for us but also the Farm and the location. We travelled from near London and while Cornwall is a way to go, it was worth it – you could see Marazion and St. Michael's Mount from our holiday home.
All the mattress were just right and firm, the pillows were plump and the sheets lovely and soft – I had some of the best night’s sleep than I have had for some time. All of us got at least 12 hours sleep a night!
We had grown up chairs with a proper dining table and a solid floor underneath your feet. The stove worked well and gave out quite a lot of heat. It does take longer to cook everything on a small stove but we were not in a hurry.
If I ever ran out of any supplies – it was a just a small walk to a wonderfully well stocked Farm shop that was reasonably priced. The Farm’s sausages were delicious and there is plenty of meat from the Farm itself.
On the last night, the kids cooked a stew and washed up everything and they really enjoyed it. They weren’t worrying about computer games, going out or shopping the whole holiday - they got into the spirit of Feather Down and loved it. To add to the experience, ITV 1 was filming at the Farm and the kids loved this. They all want to come back.
Well done Boswarthen Farm.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My wife and I are big fans of feather down and have been to several sites around the south of England, but this one is definitely our favourite. Maddie and Adrian could not have made us feel more welcome and really went out of their way to make the stay special – it’s surprising that they manage to get any actual farming done with the time and effort they seem to put into making sure we are having a good time!

The accommodation is very plush for camping (more “glamping” really) with wood flooring throughout, a wood burning stove, cool box, running water and a proper flushing toilet. The beds all have extra thick duvets and pillows, and are really comfy and cosy – especially the sweet little cupboard bed that I’m sure kids will love. Showers are in block in the main farm and are reliably warm and powerful with a hair dryer for the ladies. A set amount of wood for cooking/heating in the stove is provided for your stay and we had yet to get though it all by the time we left.

The farm runs an honesty shop for campers which stock all manner of basic goods for your stay (see youtube for a video tour), as well as an excellent selection of local produce, including meat from Boswarthen Farm itself. The minted lamb steaks and the beef burgers were particularly good, and I can highly recommend Cornish Rattler Cyder. There’s also local ice cream, veg and tasty farm fresh eggs.

On the first few morning we woke up feeling like we’d slept for days, but were very glad of some extra blankets as it got very cold at night, especially when the wind gets up. Creeping out of bed in the morning to get the fire going before diving back in is an art that requires practice!

We usually look for a bit of peace and quiet on holiday and spent most of our time in the deck chairs enjoying the view of St Micheal’s mount (Adrian can get the lights switched on for a spectacular view if you ask nicely) and reading by the fire, however for those who are more active or have kids, there are lots of things to do and see on the farm. In addition to watching the milking of the dairy cows that makes up the main business of the farm there are chickens, calves, ducks, pigs and cats to see and feed your kitchen scraps to. Adrian and the farm staff were very patient with us townies wandering around the farm asking questions and generally getting in the way. There is also a Celtic cross, well and chapel on the farm site which is also worth a visit.

Of feather down’s pre bookable extra’s, we only went for the veg box in the end, but depending on how many of you there are and if you have kids, some of the bed making/fire laying/hot jacket potato and drink on arrival could be worth considering. The box contained potatoes, onions, garlic, peppers, apples, oranges, bananas, cucumber, tomatoes, lettuce, courgettes and an aubergine. It kept us going all week and gave a bit of a “ready steady cook” style challenge to our meals. In the end we still ended up taking some of it home with us as we just could not get though it all.

Finally, recognition is owed to Maddie, who makes the best lasagne I’ve ever tasted and brings all the guests together during the week for an informal supper. Another lovely touch from our wonderful hosts.

Top Tips

Although this is very classy camping, it is still on a working farm and you will need a good pair of wellies to get back and forth to the car/shop/shower block.

Wrap up warm, even in sub tropical Cornwall it gets cold at night out in the fields. I highly recommend a big jumper and slippers for curling up by the fire with a hot chocolate!

Be patient with the wood burning stove, it will take at least 30 minutes from when you light it to it being ready to cook on. Plan your time and always keep a kettle on the hob.

Take a trip down to the hen house for this morning’s eggs to go with local bacon and sausages from the honesty shop. Serve with stove top toast and butter, and piping hot tea. Best breakfast ever.

Room Tip: Ask for a tent at the south end of the top field where there are the best views of St Michael's...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank staffjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed as a family of two adults, two teens and a ten year old in May for a week and although the rainy weather didn't help, the experience wasn't really as glam as we'd hoped. Although as the 'fridge' is a wooden chest with frozen water bottles in, perhaps it was good that it was cold. We've been traditional camping before and could have coped with that. However, personally, I think that as it's sold as 'glamping' - something which the price certainly suggests - over £800 for a week! it could have had that little extra. But it is just camping in a tent with a hard floor and duvets. Everything is 'extra' to the cost too so it soon adds up; logs, lamp oil, chicken coop...
Adrian and Maddie are without doubt very welcoming and the fresh morning croissants are second to none.
However, the pizzas we ordered were mainly garlic and could have been bought much cheaper from the supermarket down the road (as could most of the 'farm shop' items). Also, as they are done in a traditional pizza oven on 'Pizza night' and can only be done a few at a time, it does take ages to get them, which is not good with hungry children waiting, especially when they are burnt on arrival. The pictures in the brochure make it all very appealing especially the white duvets (who chose white for farms?!?) but, with no hot water other than if you lit the stove to boil the kettle we just found it a little tedious. Equally I guess, even if it was hot, you'd have to light the woodburning stove to get a cuppa anyway, which with the price of the logs you can do without. We just felt that access to some hot water (other than at the muddy shower block right next to the cow barn) may have made life a little more bearable. Days out are advised too as there is nothing else really to speak of, to do on site.
If you live in the town and never get to see the countryside, I can see the appeal but other than that we sadly didn't feel it was worth the money and was a bit oversold.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We recently stayed at Boswarthen Farm for a week and had an amazing time. Mad and Adrian are amazing hosts, who really do make sure that you have all that you need as you adjust to staying in a tent in a cow paddock. It was cold and wet, but our kids totally loved it, with other friendly families around and a farm for the kids to explore. We totally recommend this experience to anyone and with such great hosts - this farm is well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We just spent a week at Boswarthen farm and we had a fab time. Maddie and Adrian are fantastic hosts, they really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. The concept of featherdown farms is great however, it was cold last week of a night! Although have to say the extra quilts came in very very handy. The kids loved it and I would definately recommend a long long walk through the fields of the farm, getting to know the animals, it's fantastic. also try the clay pigeon shooting -Adrain came along in the morning, after he'd been up since 5am, and set it up for the guys, really really good and ll worth it. Consider taking games etc. for the children if (like us) you get a rainy rainy wet day. We did find an indoor play centre for them though but it can be hard work with limited things for them to do, when you're on a farm. We were also lucky enough to see a calf just as it had been born, the children loved it. Maddie and Adrian were happy to tell my husband all about the farm as he interviewed them! Just gotta do it, it's well worth the experience and we'll definately go back to Boswarthen - great farm with fantastic hosts, thanks for making our holiday so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We spent three nights at Boswarthern Farm. The tents were great, really well equipped with very comfy beds and really cosy ....once we'd managed to keep the stove lit ! The hosts Madeline & Adrian were great as were their boys - very helpful and indeed tolerant of us 'townies'. It is expensive but a great alternative to a hotel , much more fun for both the adults and children. The location, near Penzance was ideal but there are farms in the 'Featherdown Farm' scheme across the UK. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ethan1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Feather Down Farms at Boswarthen Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feather Down Farms at Boswarthen Farm

Address: Madron, Penzance TR20 8PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Madron
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Madron
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Views from the tents of St Michaels Mount, beautiful beaches to the north and south and an outstanding reputation for hospitality, make this Feather Down Farm one of the best bases for Cornwall you can imagine. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing