We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous family fun”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Feather Down Farms at Boswarthen Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Madron B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We absolutely loved our family weekend at Boswarthen Farm! The tents are very comfortable and well appointed. Whilst the weather was cold and windy outside, we were nice and toasty playing board games, drinking tea in front of the log burning stove and warm at night under the thick duvets provided. Then when the wind dropped the children loved the sandpit and checking for eggs in the chicken coup. Madeleine and Adrian were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The honesty shop is so well appointed, the beef burgers, sausages and Cornish tea all being superb! Super views from the tents. If there wasn't such a lot to see and do in the area, I think we would have been quite happy not to left the farm all weekend. Strongly recommended to families with young children. Definitely have the private chicken coop, we didn't, but wished we had. Oh and do take thermals and thick fleeces because you might just need them.....

Room Tip: Ask for a tent on the top field if you want to be closer to the car park and showers, they also have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twoplustwoSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

Amazing! That's my review!

I have done nothing but rave about my holiday to Boswarthen since my return. My partner and I spent a week in Penzance at the start of September and had the most fantastic time. Featherdown provides the basic charm of camping with the luxury of running water, a loo and proper beds.

This was our first trip to a Featherdown Farm and we can't wait to go again. Having read reviews prior to our trip our only concern was that the tents would be too close together. This fear was unfounded - the fields were large and there was plenty of room.

The holiday can be as private or sociable as you would like it to be. Madeline and Adrian were wonderful hosts and arranged several group nights for the guests which you can choose to attend or not. They were always on hand and checked in on us to make sure that our holiday was as enjoyable as it could be.

The location is perfect for trips to Mousehole, St Michael's Mount, St Ives and the Minack Theatre - we had a view over St Michael's Mount from our tent.

Each night, relaxing in front of the wood burning stove, under the glimmering light of candles and hurricane lamps, I felt that the stresses of home life were a million miles away.

I have been encouraging all of my friends to book Featherdown as a holiday and I'd like to encourage you too! Have a fabulous time!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ourhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed at Boswarthen Farm at the beginning of July and had a great time, despite fairly patchy weather. This farm's location, close to some sensational beaches, was a big hit with our four-year-old daughter who was in the sea (albeit in a wetsuit) almost every day. As ever with Featherdown, the tents were great - we could even see St Michael's Mount from ours. Beaches aside, there's plenty to do here. We went to see a great puppet show at the Minnack Theatre, pigged out on cream teas, saw newborn calves being fed on the farm and watched the cows being milked. We also hired a chicken coop for the week, which our daughter loved - taking the hens for little walks and collecting the eggs. A big thank you to the astonishingly hard-working and incredibly helpful hosts Maddie and Adrian. (Maddie – your veggie lasagne is the best I’ve ever tasted!)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bristolrichard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed at Boswarthan for 4 nights at the beginning of September 2012. Madi and Adrian were fantastic hosts, they couldn't have done more for us. They came round to our tent each day to inform us of any events happening on the farm, such as calves being born, bonfire night, fresh products in the shop and general information on the area and paces to visit as well as just to say 'hi'.
We had a great tent with amazing views over St Michaels's Mount. The tents were well spaced and private. The bed was incredibly comfy and cosy and our son had a great bed in a little nook with a cupboard like door which opened into our bedroom and also onto the living area. Great fun!
The weather was glorious, we were so lucky. This made for an even more enjoyable stay as we visited many of the beautiful places nearby such as, The Minnack theatre and Porth Kernow beach, Mousehole and St Ives.
Our tent had everything we needed and the wood burning stove was great. It took about half an hour to heat up but once it was roaring away it provided heat for the whole tent. Very cosy! Loved dining and sipping wine by candlelight too! Very peaceful.
Our 2 year old loved collecting fresh eggs in the morning from the chicken house and the highlight for him was riding around in the wheelbarrow provided for transportation of bags to and from our car!
We were filmed a little for a 'two-four' itv programme about holidaying in GB whilst we were there which was great fun. Looking forward to watching it when ithe series starts at the beginning of October!
Huge thanks to a lovely couple (Madeline and Adrian) for making our stay so much fun. We will be back!

Room Tip: Our tent had great views and wasn't too far to get from the car park with our bags in the wheelb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel-8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed at Boswarthen Farm this July, the weather was fab, the hosts amazing and went out of their way to make our stay more than enjoyable. We recommend Maddies delicious home made food on arrival, we opted for the beef stew which was mouthwatering and took away the stress of 'what to have for dinner' on our first night. The safari style tents were warm, snug with great sea views. The location is just perfect for exploring the best parts of Cornwall, Sennen Cove, St Ives, Lizard, Lands End are all close by. We arrived on the eve of the Olympic Ceremony and were keen to find somewhere that we could watch it. Adrian telephoned the local pub who were more than happy for us to come down with the kids, what service! The pub itself 'The Sportsman' was great the owner and locals were so friendly. The children really enjoyed looking after the chickens especially when they had laid fresh eggs for us to eat for breakfast. Maddie and Adrian really make an effort with all the little extras like the pizza night where home made pizzas are cooked in the outside stone oven followed by toasted marshmallows round the campfire washed down with a glass of wine under the stars...lovely! We will be back next year.

Room Tip: Recommend a tent in the upper field
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This July, Boswarthen Farm provided us with yet another award-winning and welcoming Featherdown Farm holiday. Having been to several Featherdowns over the last few years we felt the set up of both the farm and the layout of the tents really allowed our children (and dog) to maximise their outdoor holiday in a safe and scure environment. The tents are well spaced with each tent allowed the vista of St Michael's Mount and the sea in the distance. Truly stunning.

In not having to worry about the usual question of `where are the kids` whilst on holiday, the secure and safe environment really allowed us as a busy couple to concentrate on, well, us! The little monkeys tired themselves out playing football or rugby with the other glamping children, feeding the chickens, searching for sweet things up at the farm shop or roaming down to and exploring the ruins of a Chapel, only coming back to the tent for food and bed. Eventually!!

With their local knowledge and passion to extol the virtues of farming, many thanks to Maddie and Adrian who really went out of their way to engage the children and helped us find those nooks and crannies of Cornwall that other tourists would struggle to find along the coastline in the height of the season. Madron Moor, within walking distance of the farm was a sheer delight as was Maddie's cooking. We shall definitely be returning next year to explore further and take in their hospitality again.

Well done FDF, Maddie and Adrian, a fantastic holiday shared by all, including Bubble the dog.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dean r r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We had such a lovely time at Boswarthen Farm. Maddie and Adrian are fantastic hosts, very attentive and helpful. The view from our tent was amazing and we really enjoyed the pizza night and lasagne supper night. The lasagne was so delicious my husband had four servings! The farm is in a great location for days out and lovely beaches. The farm shop is well stocked and I recommend the meat, especially the minted lamb steaks! We will certainly be going back again!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Rachael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Feather Down Farms at Boswarthen Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feather Down Farms at Boswarthen Farm

Address: Madron, Penzance TR20 8PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Madron
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Madron
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Views from the tents of St Michaels Mount, beautiful beaches to the north and south and an outstanding reputation for hospitality, make this Feather Down Farm one of the best bases for Cornwall you can imagine. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing