We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent location”
Review of Beacon Crag B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthleven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beacon Crag B&B
Ranked #3 of 8 Porthleven B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Magnificent location”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This has to be one of the best sea view locations on the Cornish Coast. The house is perched high on cliff with glorious views up and down the coast. It has a slightly isolated position away from the town, but it is an easy walk via the footpath to find an array of pubs and restaurants. Our room was large and comfortable with two leather chairs placed in our bay window to take in the view. The bathroom is small, but perfectly adequate and our breakfast was tasty with plenty of choice including eggs Benedict. Our hosts were very friendly and I would love to return for another visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank calexandraI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
46
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leschenault Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Magnificent views from every aspect, and friendly, helpful owners. Samantha's husband was a godsend when we found something amiss with our laptop, which we thought would require seeing to by a computer techie, but the two men nutted it out together - many thanks! :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaniCat52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Lovely room, perfect location and a swift and easy walk into Porthleven. Brilliant coastal and inland walks (NT Penrose estate) on the doorstep. Really good breakfast and very friendly owner. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mh1488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We discovered this little piece of Heaven a few years ago, and have stayed several times now. Beacon Crag is a splendidly restored and updated 19th century artist's house, built high on the cliffs above Porthleven, near Helston. There are only 4 (maybe 5?) rooms, the three I have experienced all have spectacular views of the coastline. I believe there is a separate cottage, now, but I have no experience of that so can't comment. This is a really friendly B&B, run by a lovely young couple who are really involved in the life of the village - for example as volunteer coastguards. They welcome us as old friends, and we really feel as if they are pleased to share their home with us. Nothing is too much trouble. We love Room 2 - it has a splendid en suite, with a huge shower, and a bath big enough for two with a splendid view of the waves crashing up the cliffs beyond! The room is huge, with a day bed as well as a large double, SKY TV, tea and coffee (with top notch biscuits!) and two arm chairs in the large window. We have sat for hours just watching and listening to the sea. Room 1 is slightly smaller, and only has a shower, but it does has a slightly better view as it has a bay window, so you can see the coast in each direction. The breakfasts are extremely generous, varied and well cooked. Eggs benedict was a new addition last time we stayed. Provision for special diets as a matter of course. It is a 20 minute walk along the cliff path to the village (take a torch for the return trek), but as I have mobility problems we used a local taxi, it cost less than £3. There are lots of places to eat in the village, from good pub grub to fine dining (with fine prices to match), but sometimes we shop in the Costcutter supermarket and have a picnic in the room, no-one seems to mind! And the Costcutter is surprisingly well stocked with cold cuts, olives, humous, bread etc. The whole Beacon Crag thing is a totally laid back experience, with sea acoustics to die for, a wonderful welcome, and a fabulous breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 1 has the best overall view, Room 2 has the Best Bath with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerbieW
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

If I were to review this B&B solely on the premises and service it would be a three star review but still a B&B I would recommend. However, the beautiful setting and truly wonderful view we had from the rooms make this a four.

The B&B itself is relatively modest, the rooms are smart and tidy but in no way luxurious and the bathrooms are a little on the small side. The breakfast was good, well good and a reasonable selection to choose from. In terms of service, we didn't need much from the owner but she was very nice and offered a few tips for what we needed in Porthleven.

As I say, the views from the room and outside the B&B are truly stunning and a real highlight. It's probably some of the best I've ever had from any hotel/B&B. The B&B is very fairly priced and therefore I would strongly recommend. We did part of the coastal walk from Porthleven to Kennack the next day (taking in the Lizard) and would strongly recommend walking along the coast down here if you can manage it with transport.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerbieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Location was stunning!!!! What a view!!! We stayed here for two nights and loved every minute of it. The room was great,very clean and comfortable with great sea view. Breakfast was great. It's only few minutes walk to city centre by costal path(would recommend a fleshlight when returning back to your room if it's night time). We would highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanaY713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Overlooking nothing but the ocean this is an unusual looking house with history. I loved everything about it. I stayed one night in the winter and would recommend it to anyone seeking a unique place to stay. A very nice walk to Porthleven via a costal path. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthleven
5.6 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
594 reviews
5.4 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
803 reviews
2.5 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Helston
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
805 reviews
16.6 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Crag B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Crag B&B

Property: Beacon Crag B&B
Address: Beacon Crag, Porthleven, Helston TR13 9LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston > Porthleven
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Porthleven
Also Known As:
Beacon Crag B&B Porthleven, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing