We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beacon Crag B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthleven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beacon Crag B&B
Ranked #2 of 8 Porthleven B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Beacon Crag is a ten minute walk down the Cliff Path to Porthleven which we used, we were told that a Taxi back would cost £5 but we never tried the service?
Samanthia the Landlady is friendly and welcoming and responsible for the excellent breakfast that is served between 9 and 10am.
We had Room 4 which was more than adequate with sea views and on-suite bathroom.
The position of the house is spectacular and lives up to its name! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are larger and have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trickytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is worth every penny just for the spectacular location. The views are magnificent, the walk to the town and pubs and restaurants is convenenient and eliminates drinking and driving and Portleven parking problems. As we were staying in June, the need for a torch was not required but I agree with previous review, one would be needed when it gets dark earlier. Breakfasts are excellent and Sam is a terrific hostess. Porthleven is away from most of the hurly-burly but so close to many other delightful villages and towns so an ideal base for exploring. Sad to say we missed out on the Chough! Sam couldn't fix everything!!!!

Room Tip: Take room 1, it has a view 'to die for'!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lloyd055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockenhurst
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Sam is a great hostess and runs the Beacon Crag with great care and consideration.
The location is great. The rooms are well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. Well pressed linen and great big towels were much appreciated. We had lots of hot water for showers at all times of day. Breakfast options are generous.
The house sits on the cliff just outside Porthleven just 10 minutes walk along the cliff path. Porthleven offers excellent opportunities to sample Cornish produce. The restaurants are staffed by local people who obviously enjoy living in Porthleven and will engage in conversation with very little encouragement. We arrived on Sunday afternoon and enjoyed the town band playing by the harbour before going for dinner.
As the weather was so good we decided to abandon our plans to visit different parts of the peninsula and stay around Porthleven. Good walking along the coast in both directions and time spent investigating the rock pools between tides and swimming in the sea completed the ideal short break. I would recommend Beacon Crag and Porthleven to anyone looking to getaway from a busy life. The drive from the New Forest was easy on a Sunday afternoon.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blacksmithshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Room exactly as promised. Large double-bed, and splendid view from window. Brilliant cooked breakfasts. Everything very clean. As long as you are reasonably mobile, and do the walks in daylight, the 10 min stroll into the village pubs is a great way to end each day.

Room Tip: Go for front sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This has to be one of the best sea view locations on the Cornish Coast. The house is perched high on cliff with glorious views up and down the coast. It has a slightly isolated position away from the town, but it is an easy walk via the footpath to find an array of pubs and restaurants. Our room was large and comfortable with two leather chairs placed in our bay window to take in the view. The bathroom is small, but perfectly adequate and our breakfast was tasty with plenty of choice including eggs Benedict. Our hosts were very friendly and I would love to return for another visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank calexandraI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leschenault Western Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Magnificent views from every aspect, and friendly, helpful owners. Samantha's husband was a godsend when we found something amiss with our laptop, which we thought would require seeing to by a computer techie, but the two men nutted it out together - many thanks! :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaniCat52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Lovely room, perfect location and a swift and easy walk into Porthleven. Brilliant coastal and inland walks (NT Penrose estate) on the doorstep. Really good breakfast and very friendly owner. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mh1488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthleven
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
5.4 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
10.9 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Crag B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Crag B&B

Property: Beacon Crag B&B
Address: Beacon Crag, Porthleven, Helston TR13 9LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston > Porthleven
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Porthleven
Also Known As:
Beacon Crag B&B Porthleven, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing